• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.
right, my first game as a complete newbie to Victoria type gameplay, the story....

First act was to help out Texas against the Mexicans, for some reason i couldnt join the war from the war screen, so i allied with Texas, and they then asked me for help to which i said yes.

The war started OK, however eventually i was pushed out of Texas back to my US homeland. After figureing out how to build military units, reinforcements poored into Texas, freeing them from Mexican occupation. Mexico then asked for white peace to which i accepted.

Soon after this Texas wanted to become part of the US to which of course i accepted.

Built a few factories here and there, a Lumber and Furniture factory in New England (resource overview showed it had a load of wood, so why not?). Noticed that some states wont allow you to build any factories (Florida was one that i rememmber)

Tried the influence/sphere bit with Hawaii, manager to get to 200 relations and 100 influence but wouldnt get to friendly status so gave up on that.

An event came along which allowed me to gain cores on Cuba, to which i said yes and prepared an invasion fleet, with 15 transport ships and 30k+ infantry and cannons the invasion of Cuba was a breeze with only 20k Spanish infantry and a few cannons. Took that fleet over to Puerto Rico before discovering that i couldnt anex it. During this time Spain has sent troops from thre mainland to my north east coast, this were easy to repel (when i figured out they were doing it). Eventually i did anex Cuba in the name of the United States.