• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.

tmorrow911

Major
14 Badges
Mar 9, 2010
  • Hearts of Iron III
  • Semper Fi
  • 500k Club
  • Stellaris Sign-up
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Cadet
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Together for Victory
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Death or Dishonor
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Expansion Pass
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Expansion Pass
  • Hearts of Iron IV: La Resistance
  • Battle for Bosporus
  • Hearts of Iron IV: By Blood Alone
  • Hearts of Iron IV: No Step Back
  • Hearts of Iron 4: Arms Against Tyranny
I have been playing HOI both 3 and 4 for about 16 years now, on and off. Total of about 3,500 hours. Along the way, certain problems have been fixed, others ignored, some fixes caused new problems. Throughout, however, there have been a number of concerns that seem relatively easy to address, such that the explanation that there is a shortage of development resources doesn't really wash.

1. Supply
Those of you who remember HOI 3 remember the Great Supply Uprising. Users got so fed up with the supply screw ups that Paradox finally addressed them. Actually did a pretty credible job. For those of you too new to know of them, it used to be that all the supply ran to the end of the supply line.....and then just dropped in place. So that units on the front line would be getting supplies while units further back were literally withering away (units used to really suffer when they were out of supply) non-sensically. So, if you were doing Operation Sealion, for example, the units landing in Britain would be in supply, but all of the units behind still in France would be dying. Contrariwise, when you did D-Day, the units still behind in Britain would be withering for lack of supply.