• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.

Pr3tender

Corporal
Nov 24, 2016
Several times now, I saw opportunities for strategic marriages in the Younger Realms. I'm deep into the roleplay, going so far as to order the book Dictator's Handbook to get into the role.

However, I'm finding more and more that, perhaps, this game tries to avoid the subject of even tangential romance to it's own detriment. Now, I'm a game designer. I understand that, giving the players the option to marry strategically also makes it feel like a dick move by the developers if the players cannot in some way turn the marriage around and make it a more genuine relationship.

But I'm a dictator in this game. My whole goal was to get into positions of power, by eliminating anyone that is redundant, even if they helped me get where I am now, while trying to keep the old guard of my enemy alive, since they are more intimately familiar with the domains that I have conquered.

Yet, marriage has not even been mentioned in the game thus far. In a medieval setting like this one, being a Fatebinder or not, I had expected someone to come forward and try to seduce me for power. Hell, I'm disappointed that nobody has attempted to take advantage of my emotions yet.

Am I wrong? Have I just not come across any yet? I'm currently in the Second Act, on route from Lethian's Crossing to recruiting the Unbroken. I know that this may sound entitled, but neither Tarkis Arri, nor Deya considered marriage as a means to secure my vicarious authority.

It kind of bothers me. Not even in the way that games have been allowing me to bone things. In fact, that part of Bioware games has always been hopelessly dull to me. In fact, that was why I had hoped that this game would show political marriage in more plastic terms.