• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.

The Confused Knight

Recruit
16 Badges
Jan 17, 2019
  • Cities in Motion 2
  • Crusader Kings II
  • Crusader Kings II: Legacy of Rome
  • Crusader Kings II: The Old Gods
  • Crusader Kings II: Sons of Abraham
  • Crusader Kings II: Sword of Islam
  • Europa Universalis IV
  • Europa Universalis IV: Conquest of Paradise
  • Europa Universalis IV: Wealth of Nations
  • Europa Universalis IV: Call to arms event
  • Europa Universalis IV: Res Publica
  • Cities: Skylines
  • Crusader Kings II: Way of Life
  • Crusader Kings II: Conclave
  • Steel Division: Normandy 44
  • Prison Architect
Hello all!

I'm new to CK2 and would like some help with inheritance. Because I haven't got A CLUE what's happening with my dynasty. Normally I would just have my children become my heirs and continue slowly expanding my land. However this time I can't do that and I don't know why.

Background...

I am an independent Duke with about 7 Duchies, I have elective Monarchy
My wife is Queen of Italy (don't know how that happened)

I can't make any of my children my elected heir - only my half-sisters of which I have many. (First marriage wasn't doing great so I went the seduction route...)

Why can't I elect one of my 3 sons to inherit my titles? Only my half sisters? One of my sons will inherit the Kingdom of Italy but why can't I elect another for my independent Dutchy?

My current plan is I've selected my youngest half-sister to inherit (she's now my heir). I've betrothed her matrilineally to my son who will inherit the Kingdom of Italy. Will this join the two?

Or is there a way to elect on of my children for my land?

Many thanks!

Your current plan sounds like it would work... to an extent.