• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.

Mercisv11

Corporal
Dec 28, 2023
Good morning to all Byzantium lovers. Not my first game, but my second will certainly try to rebuild rome as best as possible. After seeing how the estates will work, or at least the idea, what do you think would be the right representation for Byzantium?
What do you think would be interesting mechanics to represent the decadence of Eastern Rome. And any content you hope to see for Byzantium (and perhaps for any country if it goes into a decadent spiral which I sincerely hope to see).
I am no expert on Byzantine history but I think we have a civil war coming up. Is it avoidable?
I would expect to see a slight glimpse of the intrigues and infighting that brought the empire to the point it is at now. As well as a general mechanism of decay that represents the corruption, technological backwardness and instability of the empires.

The historical inciting incident of the upcoming civil war was the unexpected death of the Emperor leaving an uncodified regency and power vacuum. I doubt the starting emperor will be scripted to die in 1341, but I suspect there will be mechanics to model how there hadn't really been an institutional basis for transferring political legitimacy from ruler to heir since around the time of Sulla. The starting laws/estate privileges/whatever will probably make civil wars difficult to avoid, especially for an AI, and is probably part of how they pseudo-railroad the Byzantine collapse and the Ottoman rise if nobody is playing in the area.

• 9Like
Reactions:
With larger Roman Empire with a better perspective of surviving and with so many people who want to play it I hope devs will prepare a proper amount of Roman flavor. No matter what - Roman Empire will be restored!

• 5Haha
  • 3Like
Reactions:
Phobia?