• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.
Me. too! Please come back. This is an amazing AAR!

The strong Ottomans could be an opportunity... if you could get Austria to fight them in a series of wars it would deal with two annoyances with one stone :)

I hope you are just temporarily busy, I imagine putting together the next update for a 20 year Pope will not be very straightforward. Looking forward to it, once it's ready.

This AAR is well worth reading! I'm only beginning it now, but it looks very promising.

So I know I'm quite late here, but I just wanted to point out something significant: I wrote in a decision for the Papal States that allows a human player to automatically seize control of the Papacy. You have to re-enact the decision every time a new pope is elected, but doing this will allow you to see the decisions that go into the Catholic Church - you will get to decide church policy, judge ecclesiastical law, call crusades, and more. It's a bit game-breaking in some ways, though - it lets you decide the fate of the church in a way that historically would have been impossible.

Also, since you asked, the difference between the pious, secular and corrupt popes is mostly trivial to the Papal States, but critical to events in Christian Europe. Other than the modifiers you get and some relations bonuses/penalties with other countries, you won't notice anything. However, behind the scenes, pious popes make church corruption events rarer and the AI Papal Controller is more likely to make decisions that are based on faith, not greed. Reverse this trend for corrupt popes. Which kinds of popes dominate the 15th century will affect how far and how fast the Reformation spreads, and what kinds of popes dominate the 16th century will affect the church's response to the Reformation.

Willum: