• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.
Showing developer posts only. Show all posts in this thread.
Just sneaked into this great AAR to throw in a few comments:

(1) I think the Soviet player(s) made some critical mistakes with their OOB and strategic setup.

I am amazed by the lack of defence-in-depth. I am by no means an expert player, since I have only played two MP games in HoI3 (one Hungary, one SU - but that was with ICE mod where the Germans hit even harder), and the first thing I realized when I was attacked is that I shouldn't stack all troops on the front line. And that you should always leave an initial buffer against the axis to have room for maneuver. Looking at the screenshots, the SU has done neither of that and payed for it.

I think it should have been clear that there is no way of stopping an initial German advance with so many units at the eastern front. Instead with delaying the German spearheads with forward defenders that disengage after the initial skirmishes, the SU would have been able to delay the advance and steadily pull back in good order. Once the Germans overstretch their supply lines (and with so many panzer divisions that WILL happen!) and the initial shock bonus runs out, the SU could have stalled the war and waited for the English counterattacks in France. Granted, that strategy requires the SU to give up territory - and in my game, I ended up all the way back in Moscow until I was able to stabilize the front line, but better lose territory than the war.

(2) The Germans (and Italians) absolutely deserve the defeat in Spain and the losses in France.