• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.

Thegreatgeneral

Major
3 Badges
Sep 10, 2014
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Cadet
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Death or Dishonor
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Expansion Pass
Hello everyone, this is my first AAR, my first serious gaming at Darkest Hour and I'm playing it on "The grand campaing" mod.

So, I decided to choose Russia. I started playing in the end of June, and I gave a look.
My first preoccupation was the high dissent, as I rely a lot above IC and I perfectly know that dissent harms my capacity.
So, I decided to invest in sanitation and public instruction, and I decided for low taxes.
As I studied well history, I thought that WW1 was going to happen, this led me focusing about bellic research (to make me understand easier, not industrial, I'll make a screen as soon as possibile).
Serbia asked my active support, but I perfectly remembered that what led Tzarist Russia to defeat and Brest-Litovsk treat was the high dissent even among military forces. So I decided not to help them (-10% dissent) but I looked immediately for an alliance with France. Serbia, without Russian help, accepted the Austrian inspectors, and this led to my protests and to the secret support to partisans and riots. I got the alliance with Serbia, and now I also have military control on them. So now I'm placing troops on the borders.
I also looked for a military alliance with Britain, but they refused.

So now I'm in october 11, 1914. My IC is as much as possible stored for upgrading. I have massive army, but not so modern, and, after trying a game with germany I saw how 9 1939-inf divisions could keep 26 not so modern french infantry divisions in Saarbucken, I give priority to modernization.