Windows 8.1 cannot launch the game after updating patch 1.30

  • Crusader Kings II Expansion Subscription

    Subscribe to the CK II Expansion and enjoy unlimited access to 13 major expansions and more!


  • Crusader Kings III Available Now!

    The realm rejoices as Paradox Interactive announces the launch of Crusader Kings III, the latest entry in the publisher’s grand strategy role-playing game franchise. Advisors may now jockey for positions of influence and adversaries should save their schemes for another day, because on this day Crusader Kings III can be purchased on Steam, the Paradox Store, and other major online retailers.


    Real Strategy Requires Cunning

boazcschan

Recruit
Mar 18, 2021
1
0
I have updated the Nvidia Driver and windows os and closed the windows defender, but the game still cannot launch (with a red caution near the play button). Does anyone face the same problem? I think it is a particular problem faced by 8.1 users. The problem is failed creating render backend.
 

Attachments

  • DxDiag.txt
    69,7 KB · Views: 0
Last edited:

AndrewT

The Full Monty Python
Paradox Support Rep
Super Moderator
Moderator
114 Badges
Jun 29, 2001
74.873
2.810
  • Leviathan: Warships
  • Europa Universalis IV: Wealth of Nations
  • Europa Universalis IV: Call to arms event
  • For The Glory
  • Gettysburg
  • Hearts of Iron III
  • Heir to the Throne
  • Impire
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • King Arthur II
  • Knights of Pen and Paper +1 Edition
  • Lead and Gold
  • Legio
  • Europa Universalis IV: Conquest of Paradise
  • The Kings Crusade
  • Lost Empire - Immortals
  • Magicka
  • Majesty 2 Collection
  • March of the Eagles
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Naval War: Arctic Circle
  • Pirates of Black Cove
  • Europa Universalis IV: Res Publica
  • Europa Universalis: Rome
  • Rome Gold
  • Crusader Kings III
  • Crusader Kings II: Sunset Invasion
  • Ancient Space
  • Arsenal of Democracy
  • Hearts of Iron II: Armageddon
  • Cities in Motion
  • Cities in Motion 2
  • Crusader Kings II
  • Crusader Kings II: Charlemagne
  • Crusader Kings II: Legacy of Rome
  • Crusader Kings II: The Old Gods
  • Crusader Kings II: Rajas of India
  • Crusader Kings II: The Republic
  • Crusader Kings II: Sons of Abraham
  • A Game of Dwarves
  • Crusader Kings II: Sword of Islam
  • Commander: Conquest of the Americas
  • Darkest Hour
  • Dungeonland
  • East India Company Collection
  • Europa Universalis III
  • Europa Universalis III: Chronicles
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Divine Wind
  • Europa Universalis IV
This may be an issue with that nVidia driver, as it has not been updated for 3 years on 8.1 . Any chance you can go to Win10?
 

KaiserRobertIII

Private
10 Badges
Mar 7, 2008
23
0
  • Crusader Kings II
  • For the Motherland
  • Hearts of Iron III
  • Heir to the Throne
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Europa Universalis IV
  • Victoria 2
  • Victoria 2: Heart of Darkness
  • 500k Club
  • Hearts of Iron IV Sign-up
I have the same problem. I downloaded and installed an nvidia driver from 2020, and everything else that all the forums say to try, no effect. It worked fine on CKIII 1.2.2 and earlier.

I found they released a driver on March 30, 2021 for windows 8.1 as well. I installed it, no effect.
 
Last edited:

satoru

Major
115 Badges
May 19, 2011
634
147
  • Warlock: Master of the Arcane
  • Victoria 2: A House Divided
  • Victoria 2
  • The Showdown Effect
  • Starvoid
  • Sword of the Stars II
  • Rome: Vae Victis
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Cities: Skylines - Parklife Pre-Order
  • Cities: Skylines - Parklife
  • Imperator: Rome
  • BATTLETECH: Heavy Metal
  • Sword of the Stars
  • Teleglitch: Die More Edition
  • Stellaris: Leviathans Story Pack
  • Europa Universalis IV: Golden Century
  • War of the Roses
  • Crusader Kings II: Holy Fury
  • 500k Club
  • Shadowrun Returns
  • Europa Universalis IV: El Dorado
  • Magicka: Wizard Wars Founder Wizard
  • Crusader Kings II: Way of Life
  • Pillars of Eternity
  • Europa Universalis IV: Dharma
  • Europa Universalis IV: Common Sense
  • Europa Universalis IV
  • BATTLETECH
  • Surviving Mars
  • Stellaris: Synthetic Dawn
  • Tyranny - Bastards Wound
  • Age of Wonders III
  • Europa Universalis IV: Cradle of Civilization
  • Stellaris: Megacorp
  • Europa Universalis IV: Rule Britannia
  • BATTLETECH - Digital Deluxe Edition
  • BATTLETECH - Backer
  • Europa Universalis IV: Mandate of Heaven
  • Crusader Kings II: Monks and Mystics
  • Crusader Kings Complete
  • Hearts of Iron IV Sign-up
  • Stellaris: Galaxy Edition
  • Stellaris
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Crusader Kings II: Conclave
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Cadet
  • Shadowrun: Dragonfall
  • Europa Universalis IV: Rights of Man
  • Tyranny: Archon Edition
  • Tyranny: Archon Edition
I have the same problem. I downloaded and installed an nvidia driver from 2020, and everything else that all the forums say to try, no effect. It worked fine on CKIII 1.2.2 and earlier.
Not sure why you necroed this but post your dxdiag and outlog
 

KaiserRobertIII

Private
10 Badges
Mar 7, 2008
23
0
  • Crusader Kings II
  • For the Motherland
  • Hearts of Iron III
  • Heir to the Throne
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Europa Universalis IV
  • Victoria 2
  • Victoria 2: Heart of Darkness
  • 500k Club
  • Hearts of Iron IV Sign-up
the logs which seem relevant, from documents\paradox interactive\crusaderkings iii\logs\, all other files here are 0kb
 

Attachments

  • code_revisions.log
    905 bytes · Views: 0
  • debug.log
    416 bytes · Views: 0
  • error.log
    443 bytes · Views: 0
  • system.log
    630 bytes · Views: 0

AndrewT

The Full Monty Python
Paradox Support Rep
Super Moderator
Moderator
114 Badges
Jun 29, 2001
74.873
2.810
  • Leviathan: Warships
  • Europa Universalis IV: Wealth of Nations
  • Europa Universalis IV: Call to arms event
  • For The Glory
  • Gettysburg
  • Hearts of Iron III
  • Heir to the Throne
  • Impire
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • King Arthur II
  • Knights of Pen and Paper +1 Edition
  • Lead and Gold
  • Legio
  • Europa Universalis IV: Conquest of Paradise
  • The Kings Crusade
  • Lost Empire - Immortals
  • Magicka
  • Majesty 2 Collection
  • March of the Eagles
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Naval War: Arctic Circle
  • Pirates of Black Cove
  • Europa Universalis IV: Res Publica
  • Europa Universalis: Rome
  • Rome Gold
  • Crusader Kings III
  • Crusader Kings II: Sunset Invasion
  • Ancient Space
  • Arsenal of Democracy
  • Hearts of Iron II: Armageddon
  • Cities in Motion
  • Cities in Motion 2
  • Crusader Kings II
  • Crusader Kings II: Charlemagne
  • Crusader Kings II: Legacy of Rome
  • Crusader Kings II: The Old Gods
  • Crusader Kings II: Rajas of India
  • Crusader Kings II: The Republic
  • Crusader Kings II: Sons of Abraham
  • A Game of Dwarves
  • Crusader Kings II: Sword of Islam
  • Commander: Conquest of the Americas
  • Darkest Hour
  • Dungeonland
  • East India Company Collection
  • Europa Universalis III
  • Europa Universalis III: Chronicles
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Divine Wind
  • Europa Universalis IV
I have the same problem. I downloaded and installed an nvidia driver from 2020, and everything else that all the forums say to try, no effect. It worked fine on CKIII 1.2.2 and earlier.

I found they released a driver on March 30, 2021 for windows 8.1 as well. I installed it, no effect.
Then you do not have the same problem as the OP. Please in future start your own fresh thread, thanks.

What happens if you exit the Steam app entirely and run ck3.exe directly from File Explorer? Do you see any Windows error when it fails then?
 

KaiserRobertIII

Private
10 Badges
Mar 7, 2008
23
0
  • Crusader Kings II
  • For the Motherland
  • Hearts of Iron III
  • Heir to the Throne
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Europa Universalis IV
  • Victoria 2
  • Victoria 2: Heart of Darkness
  • 500k Club
  • Hearts of Iron IV Sign-up
I had started a new thread but wasn't getting any response

details there, including starting from exe
 

AndrewT

The Full Monty Python
Paradox Support Rep
Super Moderator
Moderator
114 Badges
Jun 29, 2001
74.873
2.810
  • Leviathan: Warships
  • Europa Universalis IV: Wealth of Nations
  • Europa Universalis IV: Call to arms event
  • For The Glory
  • Gettysburg
  • Hearts of Iron III
  • Heir to the Throne
  • Impire
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • King Arthur II
  • Knights of Pen and Paper +1 Edition
  • Lead and Gold
  • Legio
  • Europa Universalis IV: Conquest of Paradise
  • The Kings Crusade
  • Lost Empire - Immortals
  • Magicka
  • Majesty 2 Collection
  • March of the Eagles
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Naval War: Arctic Circle
  • Pirates of Black Cove
  • Europa Universalis IV: Res Publica
  • Europa Universalis: Rome
  • Rome Gold
  • Crusader Kings III
  • Crusader Kings II: Sunset Invasion
  • Ancient Space
  • Arsenal of Democracy
  • Hearts of Iron II: Armageddon
  • Cities in Motion
  • Cities in Motion 2
  • Crusader Kings II
  • Crusader Kings II: Charlemagne
  • Crusader Kings II: Legacy of Rome
  • Crusader Kings II: The Old Gods
  • Crusader Kings II: Rajas of India
  • Crusader Kings II: The Republic
  • Crusader Kings II: Sons of Abraham
  • A Game of Dwarves
  • Crusader Kings II: Sword of Islam
  • Commander: Conquest of the Americas
  • Darkest Hour
  • Dungeonland
  • East India Company Collection
  • Europa Universalis III
  • Europa Universalis III: Chronicles
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Divine Wind
  • Europa Universalis IV
That's because you lodged it in Bug Reports, but that is not going to be a game bug.

When launching from the exe, I get the additional errors "The procedure entry point MiniDumpWriteDump could not be located in the dynamic link library C:\Windows\System32\dlumd11.dll" (and the same for dlumb10.dll and dlumd9.dll).
I've never seen those errors before but they seem like pretty serious Windows ones. Googling them shows quite a few hits with various apps and games, but I didn't see any particular known cause or fix.

What's the history of this problem, has this game ever worked on this machine?

Does CK2 run okay?

Given it seems to be video-related let's try a clean reinstall of the nVidi adriver:

- uninstall the existing nVidia driver and all other nVidia software
- reboot
- install the latest by fresh download from here:
- reboot again

I hope that does it for you!
 

KaiserRobertIII

Private
10 Badges
Mar 7, 2008
23
0
  • Crusader Kings II
  • For the Motherland
  • Hearts of Iron III
  • Heir to the Throne
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Europa Universalis IV
  • Victoria 2
  • Victoria 2: Heart of Darkness
  • 500k Club
  • Hearts of Iron IV Sign-up
yes everything else works and always has, ckiii worked as well, and still works, if set to version 1.2.2 or earlier. ck2 works. ckiii only on 1.3.1 fails.
 

AndrewT

The Full Monty Python
Paradox Support Rep
Super Moderator
Moderator
114 Badges
Jun 29, 2001
74.873
2.810
  • Leviathan: Warships
  • Europa Universalis IV: Wealth of Nations
  • Europa Universalis IV: Call to arms event
  • For The Glory
  • Gettysburg
  • Hearts of Iron III
  • Heir to the Throne
  • Impire
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • King Arthur II
  • Knights of Pen and Paper +1 Edition
  • Lead and Gold
  • Legio
  • Europa Universalis IV: Conquest of Paradise
  • The Kings Crusade
  • Lost Empire - Immortals
  • Magicka
  • Majesty 2 Collection
  • March of the Eagles
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Naval War: Arctic Circle
  • Pirates of Black Cove
  • Europa Universalis IV: Res Publica
  • Europa Universalis: Rome
  • Rome Gold
  • Crusader Kings III
  • Crusader Kings II: Sunset Invasion
  • Ancient Space
  • Arsenal of Democracy
  • Hearts of Iron II: Armageddon
  • Cities in Motion
  • Cities in Motion 2
  • Crusader Kings II
  • Crusader Kings II: Charlemagne
  • Crusader Kings II: Legacy of Rome
  • Crusader Kings II: The Old Gods
  • Crusader Kings II: Rajas of India
  • Crusader Kings II: The Republic
  • Crusader Kings II: Sons of Abraham
  • A Game of Dwarves
  • Crusader Kings II: Sword of Islam
  • Commander: Conquest of the Americas
  • Darkest Hour
  • Dungeonland
  • East India Company Collection
  • Europa Universalis III
  • Europa Universalis III: Chronicles
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Divine Wind
  • Europa Universalis IV
Did you try the clean nVidia reinstall I described? You don't mention it either way.
 

AndrewT

The Full Monty Python
Paradox Support Rep
Super Moderator
Moderator
114 Badges
Jun 29, 2001
74.873
2.810
  • Leviathan: Warships
  • Europa Universalis IV: Wealth of Nations
  • Europa Universalis IV: Call to arms event
  • For The Glory
  • Gettysburg
  • Hearts of Iron III
  • Heir to the Throne
  • Impire
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • King Arthur II
  • Knights of Pen and Paper +1 Edition
  • Lead and Gold
  • Legio
  • Europa Universalis IV: Conquest of Paradise
  • The Kings Crusade
  • Lost Empire - Immortals
  • Magicka
  • Majesty 2 Collection
  • March of the Eagles
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Naval War: Arctic Circle
  • Pirates of Black Cove
  • Europa Universalis IV: Res Publica
  • Europa Universalis: Rome
  • Rome Gold
  • Crusader Kings III
  • Crusader Kings II: Sunset Invasion
  • Ancient Space
  • Arsenal of Democracy
  • Hearts of Iron II: Armageddon
  • Cities in Motion
  • Cities in Motion 2
  • Crusader Kings II
  • Crusader Kings II: Charlemagne
  • Crusader Kings II: Legacy of Rome
  • Crusader Kings II: The Old Gods
  • Crusader Kings II: Rajas of India
  • Crusader Kings II: The Republic
  • Crusader Kings II: Sons of Abraham
  • A Game of Dwarves
  • Crusader Kings II: Sword of Islam
  • Commander: Conquest of the Americas
  • Darkest Hour
  • Dungeonland
  • East India Company Collection
  • Europa Universalis III
  • Europa Universalis III: Chronicles
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Divine Wind
  • Europa Universalis IV
tried now, no effect
That's a shame, we are edging towards needing a Windows reinstall here!

But first please attach here new copies of all the text files: dxdiag.txt , error.log , system.log , pdx_settings.txt , debug.txt .
 

KaiserRobertIII

Private
10 Badges
Mar 7, 2008
23
0
  • Crusader Kings II
  • For the Motherland
  • Hearts of Iron III
  • Heir to the Throne
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Europa Universalis IV
  • Victoria 2
  • Victoria 2: Heart of Darkness
  • 500k Club
  • Hearts of Iron IV Sign-up
Windows reinstall is not an option, I want to know what changed between CK3 1.2.2 and 1.3.1, nothing else has a problem.
 

Attachments

  • debug.log
    416 bytes · Views: 0
  • error.log
    443 bytes · Views: 0
  • system.log
    630 bytes · Views: 0
  • DxDiag.txt
    67,8 KB · Views: 0
  • pdx_settings.txt
    278 bytes · Views: 0

AndrewT

The Full Monty Python
Paradox Support Rep
Super Moderator
Moderator
114 Badges
Jun 29, 2001
74.873
2.810
  • Leviathan: Warships
  • Europa Universalis IV: Wealth of Nations
  • Europa Universalis IV: Call to arms event
  • For The Glory
  • Gettysburg
  • Hearts of Iron III
  • Heir to the Throne
  • Impire
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • King Arthur II
  • Knights of Pen and Paper +1 Edition
  • Lead and Gold
  • Legio
  • Europa Universalis IV: Conquest of Paradise
  • The Kings Crusade
  • Lost Empire - Immortals
  • Magicka
  • Majesty 2 Collection
  • March of the Eagles
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Naval War: Arctic Circle
  • Pirates of Black Cove
  • Europa Universalis IV: Res Publica
  • Europa Universalis: Rome
  • Rome Gold
  • Crusader Kings III
  • Crusader Kings II: Sunset Invasion
  • Ancient Space
  • Arsenal of Democracy
  • Hearts of Iron II: Armageddon
  • Cities in Motion
  • Cities in Motion 2
  • Crusader Kings II
  • Crusader Kings II: Charlemagne
  • Crusader Kings II: Legacy of Rome
  • Crusader Kings II: The Old Gods
  • Crusader Kings II: Rajas of India
  • Crusader Kings II: The Republic
  • Crusader Kings II: Sons of Abraham
  • A Game of Dwarves
  • Crusader Kings II: Sword of Islam
  • Commander: Conquest of the Americas
  • Darkest Hour
  • Dungeonland
  • East India Company Collection
  • Europa Universalis III
  • Europa Universalis III: Chronicles
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Divine Wind
  • Europa Universalis IV
I want to know what changed between CK3 1.2.2 and 1.3.1
In technical terms, all I know of is later versions of Visual C++ 2015/17/19 and some video drivers.

But your issue is something else:
When launching from the exe, I get the additional errors "The procedure entry point MiniDumpWriteDump could not be located in the dynamic link library C:\Windows\System32\dlumd11.dll" (and the same for dlumb10.dll and dlumd9.dll).
Either those Windows system files are missing or corrupted, or are older versions than the game can use. I doubt the latter as your Windows 8.1 is quite up to date, and we are not seeing this particular error with other Win 8.1 users. Indeed I've never seen it before with any game in the 20 years I've been doing this!

You can try some Windows update/repair tools:

And run the x86 and x64 installers there.

SCANNOW:

If that doesn't help, and you don't want to do a Windows reinstall or update to Win10, then I suggest you seek some professional Windows support help in dealing with those Windows system files.
 

KaiserRobertIII

Private
10 Badges
Mar 7, 2008
23
0
  • Crusader Kings II
  • For the Motherland
  • Hearts of Iron III
  • Heir to the Throne
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Europa Universalis IV
  • Victoria 2
  • Victoria 2: Heart of Darkness
  • 500k Club
  • Hearts of Iron IV Sign-up
the dll's were there, not modified since 2018. i ran the dism and sfc scans, no problems found. i did some digging and found where to download the latest version of displaylink drivers, so did so and rebooted. now those dll's are more recently updated versions.

i'd already done the visual c++ stuff from an earlier browse of forums about the issue, but no effect. I tried again anyway.

same error at every step.
 

AndrewT

The Full Monty Python
Paradox Support Rep
Super Moderator
Moderator
114 Badges
Jun 29, 2001
74.873
2.810
  • Leviathan: Warships
  • Europa Universalis IV: Wealth of Nations
  • Europa Universalis IV: Call to arms event
  • For The Glory
  • Gettysburg
  • Hearts of Iron III
  • Heir to the Throne
  • Impire
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • King Arthur II
  • Knights of Pen and Paper +1 Edition
  • Lead and Gold
  • Legio
  • Europa Universalis IV: Conquest of Paradise
  • The Kings Crusade
  • Lost Empire - Immortals
  • Magicka
  • Majesty 2 Collection
  • March of the Eagles
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Naval War: Arctic Circle
  • Pirates of Black Cove
  • Europa Universalis IV: Res Publica
  • Europa Universalis: Rome
  • Rome Gold
  • Crusader Kings III
  • Crusader Kings II: Sunset Invasion
  • Ancient Space
  • Arsenal of Democracy
  • Hearts of Iron II: Armageddon
  • Cities in Motion
  • Cities in Motion 2
  • Crusader Kings II
  • Crusader Kings II: Charlemagne
  • Crusader Kings II: Legacy of Rome
  • Crusader Kings II: The Old Gods
  • Crusader Kings II: Rajas of India
  • Crusader Kings II: The Republic
  • Crusader Kings II: Sons of Abraham
  • A Game of Dwarves
  • Crusader Kings II: Sword of Islam
  • Commander: Conquest of the Americas
  • Darkest Hour
  • Dungeonland
  • East India Company Collection
  • Europa Universalis III
  • Europa Universalis III: Chronicles
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Divine Wind
  • Europa Universalis IV
I see, that is a shame. I take it you still don't want to do a reinstall of either Win 8.1 or go up to 10?
 

KaiserRobertIII

Private
10 Badges
Mar 7, 2008
23
0
  • Crusader Kings II
  • For the Motherland
  • Hearts of Iron III
  • Heir to the Throne
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Europa Universalis IV
  • Victoria 2
  • Victoria 2: Heart of Darkness
  • 500k Club
  • Hearts of Iron IV Sign-up
It now works. I UNinstalled all the visual c++ stuff later than 2013, and didn't reinstall anything. I initially installed them to try to fix it, so not sure what was there before, or why 1.2.2 worked with it and not 1.3.1.