• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.
No, it wont there are two traits in the game that make river crossing have almost zero penalty. You just need to grind out adaptable, makeshift bridge ability, and then ranger which is pretty much standard German play. Not to mention by doing the invade Norway focus Germany gets a tech boast to amphibious mechanized so quite a bit of German players these days will use those instead of regular mechanized. Combine all of this with the minimum of 4 Veteran heavy tanks that Germany will have garenteed from the Spanish civil war your toast. He may actually get a BONUS to his attack over the river.

The river line is a complete noob trap and shouldn't be relyed on at all you need to fight the Germans for every square inch. It garentees that you will destroy the infrastructure of the zones and will buy you time for the allies to land. Which is why mass Assault is actually decent as the Soviets as you will be able to fit more crap in the zones that the Germans have to buzz saw through.
Adaptable doesnt affect the river penalty at all. Engineer is only 5% (edit: 7.5% if also on fm) river attack, and makeshift bridges is 20%. Together that accounts for most of the penalty on a minor river. But a major river is still -32.5% attack. Tanks have an inherent -40% river penalty, which a "standard" 15-5 ht-amtrac (don't) with engi3 will take a -12.5% penalty over rivers. Even a more river-friendly 10-10 will only have +5% river attack, so they will still be suffering -27.5% attack over the Stalin Line.

Last edited:
Reactions:
No, it wont there are two traits in the game that make river crossing have almost zero penalty. You just need to grind out adaptable, makeshift bridge ability, and then ranger which is pretty much standard German play.