• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.

Novacat

Khajiit
5 Badges
Oct 9, 2010
  • Crusader Kings II
  • Europa Universalis IV
  • Hearts of Iron III
  • Semper Fi
  • 500k Club
Space strategy games, aside from 4Xs, seem to be far and few between. I started playing with Homeworld, and I have played Hegemonia, Star Wolves, Nexus, and probably a few others I cannot recall off hand. When I first heard of Ancient Space, I was initially guarded, but, I liked what was said in the previews enough that I dropped the $20 to buy this on release date.

I was pleasantly suprised. The game was by no means perfect, but it was worth it.

The story is the strongest aspect of the game. It manages to avoid most of the worst abused cliches and only one guess I made ended up coming true. The story held my attention from start to end, and I will not get into the specifics for spoiler reasons. The NASA-style recordings brought back fond memories of the first Homeworld. If I were to criticize the story any, it is that, at times, it seems like you are sometimes kept out of the loop. When the words 'Balethean' and 'Scythe' were thrown around, the game assumed I already know what these things are, when I had no clue at all. It felt like there was some kind of prologue I missed. It all became clear later, but early on I was rather confused.

Now, unfortunately, one of the things that did not do so well was the reception towards the Ulysses. I never really grew attached to the ship. It seemed kind of... small, and was difficult to look at closely. Capital ships probably should not be Balethian size but their current size makes them difficult to watch.