unmerged(48229)

Second Lieutenant
Sep 3, 2005
Ok, first of all, I'd like to warn you that this is my first attempt to write an AAR ever. So, give me constructive criticism, so that I could make it better, but don't expect toooo much! ;)

pic00jf.jpg

“In God faithful and to the tsar a loyal servant, I, Nikola Ioanitza, a scholar from the Tarnovo School, write these lines to preserve the truth of our past for the generations to come. In the previous three volumes of my work I have collected and recorded information of the Bulgarians from three different time periods: from before the establishment of Danubian Bulgaria (before the year 681 after the birth of Christ, our Saviour), from the First Bulgarian kingdom (from the year 681 until the year 1018 after the birth of Christ) and from the beginning of the Second Bulgarian kingdom (from the year 1185 until the year 1371 after the birth of Christ). In this fourth and last volume I have gathered all the information from written and verbal sources about the recent Bulgarian history. The interpreted story begins in letoe Gospodne (year of God) 6879 after the creation of the world, or 1371 after the birth of Christ the Lord, when Tsar Ivan Shishman succeeded his father Tsar Ivan Aleksandar and took the Bulgarian crown. But Bulgaria was in a very unpleasant situation then – it was divided to three smaller and weaker kingdoms:

pic15zo.jpg

The kingdom of Tarnovo, where Ivan Shishman reigned;
pic20bm.jpg

the kingdom of Bdin, which was the realm of Ivan Shishman’s brother, Ivan Stracimir;
pic35kf.jpg

and Dobrudzha, under the rule of despot Delian.
pic40cv.jpg

And although Tarnovo was the rightful descendant of the once mighty Bulgarian empire, it was now reduced to a weak and undefended town.
pic56nk.jpg

It had only some basic structures, but the walls around it had crumbled down, due to negligence and the will of time.
pic65yk.jpg

To make things worse, Tarnovo was in a state of war with the great Byzantine Empire.