Game is visible in Taskmanager but launcher won't start (XBOX Game Pass)

  • Crusader Kings II Expansion Subscription

    Subscribe to the CK II Expansion and enjoy unlimited access to 13 major expansions and more!


  • Paradox Midsummer Sale has arrived! Up to 75% off!

    Enjoy some sun and song this Midsummer, but when the sun goes down, the fun doesn't have to stop! Paradox has a festive sale on plenty of games to keep your summer nights going!


    June 18th - June 30th
  • Crusader Kings III Available Now!

    The realm rejoices as Paradox Interactive announces the launch of Crusader Kings III, the latest entry in the publisher’s grand strategy role-playing game franchise. Advisors may now jockey for positions of influence and adversaries should save their schemes for another day, because on this day Crusader Kings III can be purchased on Steam, the Paradox Store, and other major online retailers.


    Real Strategy Requires Cunning

Nemopuk

Recruit
19 Badges
Mar 16, 2021
4
0
  • Cities: Skylines - After Dark
  • Crusader Kings III
  • Age of Wonders: Planetfall
  • Shadowrun Returns
  • Cities: Skylines - Parklife
  • Cities: Skylines - Green Cities
  • Age of Wonders III
  • Cities: Skylines - Mass Transit
  • Stellaris
  • Cities: Skylines - Snowfall
  • Crusader Kings II
  • Europa Universalis IV: Common Sense
  • Europa Universalis IV: El Dorado
  • Cities: Skylines
  • Warlock: Master of the Arcane
  • Sword of the Stars
  • Europa Universalis IV: Wealth of Nations
  • Europa Universalis IV: Art of War
  • Europa Universalis IV
Hi,

see title. I've reinstalled it now several times on different hard drives. Disabling Windows Defender had no effect.
The last time I was able to start it was on february 27th. Since the update yesterday game won't start. I also deleted the
paradox interactive folders in documents and the wgs folder for a clean reinstall.
Does anyone have an idea?

Thank you. :)
 

Naeradan

Recruit
6 Badges
Jul 9, 2011
9
0
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Divine Wind
  • Heir to the Throne
  • Magicka
  • Sword of the Stars
  • Mount & Blade: Warband
Just not to open another thread, I'll add that I'm experiencing exaclty the same, working fine till yesterday's update. Tried everything posted in the pinned post, also a full clean reinstall. I see 4 processes active but no laucher is launched.
 

Myllyleet

Recruit
10 Badges
Mar 17, 2021
6
1
  • Dungeonland
  • Magicka
  • Cities: Skylines
  • Magicka: Wizard Wars Founder Wizard
  • Cities: Skylines - After Dark
  • Cities: Skylines - Snowfall
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Cadet
  • Surviving Mars
  • Surviving Mars: First Colony Edition
  • Prison Architect
Hi, I'm experiencing the exact same issue. I have tried everything in my ability to resolve this from antivirus to clearing every possible cache on my computer to reinstalling multiple times, updating windows, launching as admin etc, nothing seems to work.
 
May 27, 2012
3
1
Same issue here. Three instances of "Paradox Launcher" in Task Manager (even after a fresh install) and no dice.
 
  • 1Like
Reactions:

AndrewT

The Full Monty Python
Paradox Support Rep
Super Moderator
Moderator
114 Badges
Jun 29, 2001
75.486
2.920
  • Leviathan: Warships
  • Europa Universalis IV: Wealth of Nations
  • Europa Universalis IV: Call to arms event
  • For The Glory
  • Gettysburg
  • Hearts of Iron III
  • Heir to the Throne
  • Impire
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • King Arthur II
  • Knights of Pen and Paper +1 Edition
  • Lead and Gold
  • Legio
  • Europa Universalis IV: Conquest of Paradise
  • The Kings Crusade
  • Lost Empire - Immortals
  • Magicka
  • Majesty 2 Collection
  • March of the Eagles
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Naval War: Arctic Circle
  • Pirates of Black Cove
  • Europa Universalis IV: Res Publica
  • Europa Universalis: Rome
  • Rome Gold
  • Crusader Kings III
  • Crusader Kings II: Sunset Invasion
  • Ancient Space
  • Arsenal of Democracy
  • Hearts of Iron II: Armageddon
  • Cities in Motion
  • Cities in Motion 2
  • Crusader Kings II
  • Crusader Kings II: Charlemagne
  • Crusader Kings II: Legacy of Rome
  • Crusader Kings II: The Old Gods
  • Crusader Kings II: Rajas of India
  • Crusader Kings II: The Republic
  • Crusader Kings II: Sons of Abraham
  • A Game of Dwarves
  • Crusader Kings II: Sword of Islam
  • Commander: Conquest of the Americas
  • Darkest Hour
  • Dungeonland
  • East India Company Collection
  • Europa Universalis III
  • Europa Universalis III: Chronicles
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Divine Wind
  • Europa Universalis IV
You ALL use the Gamepass edition, is that right?

Try deleting the contents of the Documents/paradox/ck3/ folder, EXCEPT any saved games there move out to somewhere else.

If you still get this problem then, DXDIAG is a program you run from the Windows search box on the task bar. After running it will open a window and start collecting info with a progress bar in the lower-left corner. When it completes click the 'save all information' button and save it to a file then attach that file here.

Please attach your Documents/Paradox/CK3/pdx_settings.txt .
From your Documents/Paradox/CK3/logs/ folder, attach system.log , error.log
 

FalseArc1

Recruit
Sep 2, 2017
3
0
Having the same issue after this patch on the game pass version.
I tried removing the folder but it didn't change anything.
 

Attachments

  • DxDiag.txt
    80,6 KB · Views: 0
  • pdx_settings.txt
    3,3 KB · Views: 0
  • system.log
    863 bytes · Views: 0
  • error.log
    39,7 KB · Views: 0
  • image_2021-03-18_061647.png
    image_2021-03-18_061647.png
    65,1 KB · Views: 0

Myllyleet

Recruit
10 Badges
Mar 17, 2021
6
1
  • Dungeonland
  • Magicka
  • Cities: Skylines
  • Magicka: Wizard Wars Founder Wizard
  • Cities: Skylines - After Dark
  • Cities: Skylines - Snowfall
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Cadet
  • Surviving Mars
  • Surviving Mars: First Colony Edition
  • Prison Architect
You ALL use the Gamepass edition, is that right?

Try deleting the contents of the Documents/paradox/ck3/ folder, EXCEPT any saved games there move out to somewhere else.

If you still get this problem then, DXDIAG is a program you run from the Windows search box on the task bar. After running it will open a window and start collecting info with a progress bar in the lower-left corner. When it completes click the 'save all information' button and save it to a file then attach that file here.

Please attach your Documents/Paradox/CK3/pdx_settings.txt .
From your Documents/Paradox/CK3/logs/ folder, attach system.log , error.log
Yes, the issue is happening on Game Pass and I tried deleting the folder yesterday but it didn't have any effect. Here is my dxdiag. My task manager looks the same as the person above, process shows up but dont get any icon on my task bar or any other indication of even the launcher starting.

Dont have the other files you asked for since I already deleted everything in that folder yesterday.

I have been able to play the game before the patch just fine and also all the other games on Game Pass are working just fine right now.
 

Attachments

  • DxDiag.txt
    94,7 KB · Views: 0

Nemopuk

Recruit
19 Badges
Mar 16, 2021
4
0
  • Cities: Skylines - After Dark
  • Crusader Kings III
  • Age of Wonders: Planetfall
  • Shadowrun Returns
  • Cities: Skylines - Parklife
  • Cities: Skylines - Green Cities
  • Age of Wonders III
  • Cities: Skylines - Mass Transit
  • Stellaris
  • Cities: Skylines - Snowfall
  • Crusader Kings II
  • Europa Universalis IV: Common Sense
  • Europa Universalis IV: El Dorado
  • Cities: Skylines
  • Warlock: Master of the Arcane
  • Sword of the Stars
  • Europa Universalis IV: Wealth of Nations
  • Europa Universalis IV: Art of War
  • Europa Universalis IV
I also have only the DxDiag file, since I deleted the ck3 folder yesterday, which didn't help unfortunately.
 

Attachments

  • DxDiag.txt
    98,1 KB · Views: 0

AndrewT

The Full Monty Python
Paradox Support Rep
Super Moderator
Moderator
114 Badges
Jun 29, 2001
75.486
2.920
  • Leviathan: Warships
  • Europa Universalis IV: Wealth of Nations
  • Europa Universalis IV: Call to arms event
  • For The Glory
  • Gettysburg
  • Hearts of Iron III
  • Heir to the Throne
  • Impire
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • King Arthur II
  • Knights of Pen and Paper +1 Edition
  • Lead and Gold
  • Legio
  • Europa Universalis IV: Conquest of Paradise
  • The Kings Crusade
  • Lost Empire - Immortals
  • Magicka
  • Majesty 2 Collection
  • March of the Eagles
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Naval War: Arctic Circle
  • Pirates of Black Cove
  • Europa Universalis IV: Res Publica
  • Europa Universalis: Rome
  • Rome Gold
  • Crusader Kings III
  • Crusader Kings II: Sunset Invasion
  • Ancient Space
  • Arsenal of Democracy
  • Hearts of Iron II: Armageddon
  • Cities in Motion
  • Cities in Motion 2
  • Crusader Kings II
  • Crusader Kings II: Charlemagne
  • Crusader Kings II: Legacy of Rome
  • Crusader Kings II: The Old Gods
  • Crusader Kings II: Rajas of India
  • Crusader Kings II: The Republic
  • Crusader Kings II: Sons of Abraham
  • A Game of Dwarves
  • Crusader Kings II: Sword of Islam
  • Commander: Conquest of the Americas
  • Darkest Hour
  • Dungeonland
  • East India Company Collection
  • Europa Universalis III
  • Europa Universalis III: Chronicles
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Divine Wind
  • Europa Universalis IV
I see nothing in common in those three dxdiag files, unfortunately. One of you was able to recreate the log files after deletion, the other two not. One has no errors at the end of dxdiag, the other two do but quite different ones. One AMD video system, two different nVidia ones.


Let's check th ebasics are in place; Install ALL these Microsoft modules:

(run dxsetup.exe after extracting from this download)

THEN go here:
And run the x86 and x64 installers there.

Let me know what happens with all 6 installers please.
 

Myllyleet

Recruit
10 Badges
Mar 17, 2021
6
1
  • Dungeonland
  • Magicka
  • Cities: Skylines
  • Magicka: Wizard Wars Founder Wizard
  • Cities: Skylines - After Dark
  • Cities: Skylines - Snowfall
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Cadet
  • Surviving Mars
  • Surviving Mars: First Colony Edition
  • Prison Architect
Ran all 6 installers and the problem still persists. Also updated my GPU drivers but didn't help either.

I was actually able to salvage the log files from my recycle bin since I hadn't permanently deleted the folder, so here they are:
 

Attachments

  • pdx_settings.txt
    3,3 KB · Views: 0
  • error.log
    173,3 KB · Views: 0
  • system.log
    871 bytes · Views: 0

Naeradan

Recruit
6 Badges
Jul 9, 2011
9
0
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Divine Wind
  • Heir to the Throne
  • Magicka
  • Sword of the Stars
  • Mount & Blade: Warband
I see nothing in common in those three dxdiag files, unfortunately. One of you was able to recreate the log files after deletion, the other two not. One has no errors at the end of dxdiag, the other two do but quite different ones. One AMD video system, two different nVidia ones.


Let's check th ebasics are in place; Install ALL these Microsoft modules:

The game launched BEFORE the last patch for all of us I think.
 

FalseArc1

Recruit
Sep 2, 2017
3
0
One of you was able to recreate the log files after deletion, the other two not.
Sorry, I should have mentioned that my file was not being recreated either. After deleting my folder, it would not come back after starting ck3 up again. I also tried reinstalling the game, but that did not create the folder either.

Let me know what happens with all 6 installers please.
I ran all installers with no issues found.

The game launched BEFORE the last patch for all of us I think.
Yea, I was playing a few hours before the patch went live with no issues. I can't say I've had any since day one.


Something else that I noticed. I did not close ck3 in my task manager and left it attempting to run all night. This morning my computer was sluggish, and the task manager showed the paradox launcher as using a steady 10k MB.
 

DiplomatNSTAR

Recruit
57 Badges
Mar 20, 2021
1
0
  • Stellaris: Synthetic Dawn
  • Stellaris
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Cadet
  • Crusader Kings II: Reapers Due
  • Tyranny: Archon Edition
  • Stellaris: Digital Anniversary Edition
  • Stellaris: Leviathans Story Pack
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Together for Victory
  • Crusader Kings II: Monks and Mystics
  • Stellaris - Path to Destruction bundle
  • Steel Division: Normandy 44
  • BATTLETECH
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Death or Dishonor
  • Crusader Kings II: Conclave
  • Age of Wonders III
  • Crusader Kings II: Jade Dragon
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Expansion Pass
  • Stellaris: Apocalypse
  • Shadowrun Returns
  • Shadowrun: Dragonfall
  • Shadowrun: Hong Kong
  • Stellaris: Megacorp
  • Crusader Kings II: Holy Fury
  • Imperator: Rome Deluxe Edition
  • Imperator: Rome
  • Crusader Kings III: Royal Edition
  • Leviathan: Warships
  • Crusader Kings II
  • Crusader Kings II: Charlemagne
  • Crusader Kings II: Legacy of Rome
  • Crusader Kings II: The Old Gods
  • Crusader Kings II: Rajas of India
  • Crusader Kings II: The Republic
  • Crusader Kings II: Sons of Abraham
  • Crusader Kings II: Sunset Invasion
  • Crusader Kings II: Sword of Islam
  • Dungeonland
  • Europa Universalis III
  • Europa Universalis IV
  • Cities in Motion 2
  • Magicka
  • Teleglitch: Die More Edition
  • The Showdown Effect
  • Warlock: Master of the Arcane
  • War of the Roses
  • War of the Vikings
  • Magicka: Wizard Wars Founder Wizard
  • Mount & Blade: With Fire and Sword
  • Crusader Kings II: Way of Life
  • Pillars of Eternity
Just wanted to toss in, I am having the same issue as well. Tried all of the above with no success. I actually had the same problem when the game first launched. I gave it overnight and didnt have issues again until this latest patch. For some additional troubleshooting, I installed the steam version since its free this weekend, and I had no problems launching or playing the game. Its looking like an issue specifically tied to GamePass and not to the host running the game.
 

TheGoneCollector

Recruit
1 Badges
Mar 13, 2021
3
0
  • Crusader Kings II: The Old Gods
Having the same issue as the others, and using Xbox Game Pass as well.

1616263384989.png
 

Attachments

  • error.log
    948,3 KB · Views: 0
  • system.log
    867 bytes · Views: 0
  • pdx_settings.txt
    3,3 KB · Views: 0
  • DxDiag.txt
    104,6 KB · Views: 0
Last edited:

Naeradan

Recruit
6 Badges
Jul 9, 2011
9
0
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Divine Wind
  • Heir to the Throne
  • Magicka
  • Sword of the Stars
  • Mount & Blade: Warband
It is clearly not an isolated case. Just in this thread there are seven different people with the same issue, and reinstalling the OS is certainly not an option.
Opening a support ticket would accomplish something different than posting here? AndrewT gives basic help or passes the issue on to the developers?
 

AndrewT

The Full Monty Python
Paradox Support Rep
Super Moderator
Moderator
114 Badges
Jun 29, 2001
75.486
2.920
  • Leviathan: Warships
  • Europa Universalis IV: Wealth of Nations
  • Europa Universalis IV: Call to arms event
  • For The Glory
  • Gettysburg
  • Hearts of Iron III
  • Heir to the Throne
  • Impire
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • King Arthur II
  • Knights of Pen and Paper +1 Edition
  • Lead and Gold
  • Legio
  • Europa Universalis IV: Conquest of Paradise
  • The Kings Crusade
  • Lost Empire - Immortals
  • Magicka
  • Majesty 2 Collection
  • March of the Eagles
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Naval War: Arctic Circle
  • Pirates of Black Cove
  • Europa Universalis IV: Res Publica
  • Europa Universalis: Rome
  • Rome Gold
  • Crusader Kings III
  • Crusader Kings II: Sunset Invasion
  • Ancient Space
  • Arsenal of Democracy
  • Hearts of Iron II: Armageddon
  • Cities in Motion
  • Cities in Motion 2
  • Crusader Kings II
  • Crusader Kings II: Charlemagne
  • Crusader Kings II: Legacy of Rome
  • Crusader Kings II: The Old Gods
  • Crusader Kings II: Rajas of India
  • Crusader Kings II: The Republic
  • Crusader Kings II: Sons of Abraham
  • A Game of Dwarves
  • Crusader Kings II: Sword of Islam
  • Commander: Conquest of the Americas
  • Darkest Hour
  • Dungeonland
  • East India Company Collection
  • Europa Universalis III
  • Europa Universalis III: Chronicles
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Divine Wind
  • Europa Universalis IV
Opening a support ticket on a weekend gets me too, I'm afraid :(

I will raise this with Paradox on Monday.

Meantime, is anyone in a position to try a Windows reinstall, which helped @FalseArc1 above? Because that would imply this is an Xbox app or MS Store problem.
 

Naeradan

Recruit
6 Badges
Jul 9, 2011
9
0
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Divine Wind
  • Heir to the Throne
  • Magicka
  • Sword of the Stars
  • Mount & Blade: Warband
Opening a support ticket on a weekend gets me too, I'm afraid :(

I will raise this with Paradox on Monday.

Meantime, is anyone in a position to try a Windows reinstall, which helped @FalseArc1 above? Because that would imply this is an Xbox app or MS Store problem.
Thank you Andrew, I wasn't sure what was the best course of action ;)
 

Myllyleet

Recruit
10 Badges
Mar 17, 2021
6
1
  • Dungeonland
  • Magicka
  • Cities: Skylines
  • Magicka: Wizard Wars Founder Wizard
  • Cities: Skylines - After Dark
  • Cities: Skylines - Snowfall
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Cadet
  • Surviving Mars
  • Surviving Mars: First Colony Edition
  • Prison Architect
Opening a support ticket on a weekend gets me too, I'm afraid :(

I will raise this with Paradox on Monday.

Meantime, is anyone in a position to try a Windows reinstall, which helped @FalseArc1 above? Because that would imply this is an Xbox app or MS Store problem.
Ofcourse it is in some way an Xbox App or MS Store problem because it doesn't seem to be occuring on Steam at all. But every other game on my game pass seems to work so It's still CK3 specific. I have also tried resetting and deleting the Xbox app and then reinstalling it but it didn't help.
 

TinyWiking

★Customer Support Manager★
Administrator
Super Moderator
Moderator
Demi Moderator
85 Badges
Jul 1, 2015
3.282
3.428
  • 500k Club
  • Cities: Skylines
  • Crusader Kings II: Limited Collectors Edition
  • Stellaris: Digital Anniversary Edition
  • Imperator: Rome Deluxe Edition
  • Steel Division: Normand 44 Sign-up
  • Tyranny - Tales from the Tiers
  • Haemimont Games Staff
  • Stellaris: Apocalypse
  • Surviving Mars: Digital Deluxe Edition
  • BATTLETECH - Digital Deluxe Edition
  • Cities: Skylines - Parklife Pre-Order
  • Cities: Skylines - Parklife
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Expansion Pass
  • BATTLETECH: Flashpoint
  • Steel Division: Normandy 44
  • Imperator: Rome
  • Prison Architect
  • Surviving Mars: First Colony Edition
  • Imperator: Rome Sign Up
  • Age of Wonders: Planetfall
  • Age of Wonders: Planetfall Deluxe edition
  • Age of Wonders: Planetfall Premium edition
  • Age of Wonders: Planetfall Sign Up
  • BATTLETECH: Heavy Metal
  • Crusader Kings II: Horse Lords
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Warlock: Master of the Arcane
  • 200k Club
  • Europa Universalis III: Collection
  • Magicka: Wizard Wars Founder Wizard
  • Victoria 2 A House Divided Beta
  • Crusader Kings II: Way of Life
  • Humble Paradox Bundle
  • Magicka 2
  • PDXCON 2017 Gold Ticket holder
  • Stellaris: Galaxy Edition
  • Stellaris: Galaxy Edition
  • Stellaris: Galaxy Edition
  • Hearts of Iron IV Sign-up
  • Stellaris Sign-up
  • IPO Investor
  • Eugen Systems Staff
  • Europa Universalis IV
  • Steel Division: Normandy 44 Deluxe Edition
We're investigating this now but having a hard time replicating it. Could we please get the cpatch.log to check if we can spot the issue? It should be located in:
C:\Users\{User}\AppData\Local\Paradox Interactive\launcher-v2