• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.

Santaclausegaming

Recruit
1 Badges
Aug 18, 2021
  • Crusader Kings II
So I have Crusader kings 2 on Steam, and after playing the game for a day, every time I open it, it gets to a white screen for about 2 seconds, then closes. I feel like I've tried everything, but it still doesn't work. I am not very experienced in computer stuff, so I will need a detailed walkthrough of fixing it. Thank you in advance!

Please edit the file Documents/paradox/ck2/settings.txt to say:
fullScreen=no
borderless=yes

IF that doesn't help:
DXDIAG is a program you run from the Windows search box on the task bar. After running it will open a window and start collecting info with a progress bar in the lower-left corner. When it completes click the 'save all information' button and save it to a file then attach that file here.

Please attach here your Documents/Paradox Interactive/CK2/settings.txt
From your Documents/Paradox Interactive/CK2/logs/ folder, attach here system.log , error.log .

The game is crashing with a Windows error c0000005 , which is often an antivirus app getting in the way. Which one do you use?

Add ck2game.exe to the exceptions list of your antivirus app; ESPECIALLY if you have Windows Defender, add it to the Ransomware "Apps Allowed Through" list.

What if you disable McAfee completely, temporarily as a test?

Please Install ALL these Microsoft modules - the x86 and x64 installer from each

(run dxsetup.exe after extracting from this download)

THEN go here:
And run the x86 and x64 installers there.

Please let me know what happens with each of those 7 installs, any error or problem.

So that would be 7 updaters/installers you ran in total, is that right?