• Crusader Kings III Available Now!

    The realm rejoices as Paradox Interactive announces the launch of Crusader Kings III, the latest entry in the publisher’s grand strategy role-playing game franchise. Advisors may now jockey for positions of influence and adversaries should save their schemes for another day, because on this day Crusader Kings III can be purchased on Steam, the Paradox Store, and other major online retailers.


    Real Strategy Requires Cunning

Gwom

Recruit
37 Badges
May 28, 2015
7
7
  • Crusader Kings II: Charlemagne
  • Crusader Kings II
  • Europa Universalis IV: Res Publica
  • Europa Universalis IV: Wealth of Nations
  • Europa Universalis IV: Conquest of Paradise
  • Europa Universalis IV: Art of War
  • Crusader Kings II: Sword of Islam
  • Crusader Kings II: Sons of Abraham
  • Crusader Kings II: The Republic
  • Crusader Kings II: Rajas of India
  • Crusader Kings II: The Old Gods
  • Crusader Kings II: Legacy of Rome
  • Crusader Kings II: Sunset Invasion
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Together for Victory
  • Europa Universalis IV: Mandate of Heaven
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Death or Dishonor
  • Europa Universalis IV: Cradle of Civilization
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Expansion Pass
  • Europa Universalis IV: Rule Britannia
  • Europa Universalis IV: Dharma
  • Crusader Kings II: Holy Fury
  • Europa Universalis IV: Golden Century
  • Imperator: Rome
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Expansion Pass
  • Europa Universalis IV: Rights of Man
  • Crusader Kings II: Reapers Due
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Cadet
  • Stellaris
  • Europa Universalis IV: Mare Nostrum
  • Europa Universalis IV: Cossacks
  • Crusader Kings II: Horse Lords
  • Europa Universalis IV: Common Sense
  • Crusader Kings II: Way of Life
  • Europa Universalis IV: El Dorado
  • Victoria 2
  • Europa Universalis IV: Third Rome
I have the following problem a few months now, but since the new update it is getting worse:

EU4 Crashes to Desktop with the following message:

- While autosaving, but only like 1/3 of the times
- When loading a steam cloud save-game

Sometimes however, it crashes to desktop without any message:
-While autosaving, but only like 1/3 of the times
-When getting trying to get back to main menu from in-game

I already did a clean re-install. And re-installed my graphic card drivers. Noting worked.
I think it might be a problem with my PC instead of a problem with EU IV, since my pc crashes with more games.
But I'm not sure...
 

AndrewT

The Full Monty Python
Paradox Support Rep
Super Moderator
Moderator
113 Badges
Jun 29, 2001
70.547
2.169
  • Leviathan: Warships
  • Europa Universalis IV: Wealth of Nations
  • Europa Universalis IV: Call to arms event
  • For The Glory
  • Gettysburg
  • Hearts of Iron III
  • Heir to the Throne
  • Impire
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • King Arthur II
  • Knights of Pen and Paper +1 Edition
  • Lead and Gold
  • Legio
  • Europa Universalis IV: Conquest of Paradise
  • The Kings Crusade
  • Lost Empire - Immortals
  • Magicka
  • Majesty 2 Collection
  • March of the Eagles
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Naval War: Arctic Circle
  • Pirates of Black Cove
  • Europa Universalis IV: Res Publica
  • Europa Universalis: Rome
  • Rome Gold
  • Crusader Kings III
  • Crusader Kings II: Sons of Abraham
  • A Game of Dwarves
  • Ancient Space
  • Arsenal of Democracy
  • Hearts of Iron II: Armageddon
  • Cities in Motion
  • Cities in Motion 2
  • Crusader Kings II
  • Crusader Kings II: Charlemagne
  • Crusader Kings II: Legacy of Rome
  • Crusader Kings II: The Old Gods
  • Crusader Kings II: Rajas of India
  • Crusader Kings II: The Republic
  • Crusader Kings II: Sunset Invasion
  • Crusader Kings II: Sword of Islam
  • Commander: Conquest of the Americas
  • Darkest Hour
  • Dungeonland
  • East India Company Collection
  • Europa Universalis III
  • Europa Universalis III: Chronicles
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Divine Wind
DXDIAG is a program you run from a command prompt or the Windows start menu 'run' dialog box (or 'search programs' in Windows 7). After running it will open a window and start collecting info with a progress bar in the lower-left corner. When it completes click the 'save all information' button and save it to a file then attach that file here.

Please attach your Documents/EU4/settings.txt. From your Documents/Paradox/EU4/logs/ directory, post system.log . What version # and checksum do you see a/ in the launcher and b/ in the main game menu?
 

Gwom

Recruit
37 Badges
May 28, 2015
7
7
  • Crusader Kings II: Charlemagne
  • Crusader Kings II
  • Europa Universalis IV: Res Publica
  • Europa Universalis IV: Wealth of Nations
  • Europa Universalis IV: Conquest of Paradise
  • Europa Universalis IV: Art of War
  • Crusader Kings II: Sword of Islam
  • Crusader Kings II: Sons of Abraham
  • Crusader Kings II: The Republic
  • Crusader Kings II: Rajas of India
  • Crusader Kings II: The Old Gods
  • Crusader Kings II: Legacy of Rome
  • Crusader Kings II: Sunset Invasion
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Together for Victory
  • Europa Universalis IV: Mandate of Heaven
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Death or Dishonor
  • Europa Universalis IV: Cradle of Civilization
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Expansion Pass
  • Europa Universalis IV: Rule Britannia
  • Europa Universalis IV: Dharma
  • Crusader Kings II: Holy Fury
  • Europa Universalis IV: Golden Century
  • Imperator: Rome
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Expansion Pass
  • Europa Universalis IV: Rights of Man
  • Crusader Kings II: Reapers Due
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Cadet
  • Stellaris
  • Europa Universalis IV: Mare Nostrum
  • Europa Universalis IV: Cossacks
  • Crusader Kings II: Horse Lords
  • Europa Universalis IV: Common Sense
  • Crusader Kings II: Way of Life
  • Europa Universalis IV: El Dorado
  • Victoria 2
  • Europa Universalis IV: Third Rome
Thanks in advance for your time!
Here are the requested documents (DXDIAG might contain some Dutch words, if you need translation, just ask)
The System.log couldn't be uploaded under this post. So I just copied the text in this spoiler:
[systemsettings.cpp:201]: System memory: 3008MB
[systemsettings.cpp:208]: CPU speed: 0MHz
[systemsettings.cpp:213]: Number of processors: 4
[systemsettings.cpp:225]: CPU type: x86
[systemsettings.cpp:270]: OS: Windows 7 Service Pack 1 Build: 7601
[gfx_dx9.cpp:3970]: Loading settings for adapter -1, fullscreen=1, multisample=15
[gfx_dx9.cpp:3992]: Graphic Adapters:
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4000]: 0: AMD Radeon R7 200 Series
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4019]: Using Adapter [0] to check for multi-sampling support:
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4037]: Using Adapter [0]:
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4043]: Succeeded to create a device [D3DCREATE_HARDWARE_VERTEXPROCESSING].
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4082]: Graphics device: AMD Radeon R7 200 Series
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4083]: Graphics driver: aticfx32.dll
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4084]: Driver version: 1211
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4099]:


Dumping all gfx info:
DeviceIdentifier: {D7B71EE2-2550-11CF-4070-63C2BEC2C535}
VendorId: 4098
DeviceId: 26128
SubSysId: -496429237
Revision: 0
DriverVersion.HighPart: 524305
DriverVersion.LowPart: 656571


[gfx_dx9.cpp:4119]: Instancing supported.
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4168]: Video memory amount: 3279MB
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4169]: MaxSimultaneousTextures: 8
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4170]: MaxVertexBlendMatrices: 4
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4171]: MaxVertexBlendMatrixIndex: 8
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4172]: MaxSimultaneousTextures: 8
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4173]: MaxTextureBlendStages: 8
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4174]: MaxTextureWidth: 16384
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4175]: MaxTextureHeight: 16384
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4178]: Vertex Shader version: 3.0
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4183]: Pixel Shader version: 3.0
[graphicssettings.cpp:151]: 2 samples supported.
[graphicssettings.cpp:151]: 4 samples supported.
[graphicssettings.cpp:151]: 8 samples supported.
[graphicssettings.cpp:183]: Support for Anisotropic filtering found.
[graphicssettings.cpp:186]: Max Anisotropic filtering supported: 16
[graphicssettings.cpp:187]: Anisotropic filtering set to: 16
[systemsettings.cpp:201]: System memory: 3008MB
[systemsettings.cpp:208]: CPU speed: 0MHz
[systemsettings.cpp:213]: Number of processors: 4
[systemsettings.cpp:225]: CPU type: x86
[systemsettings.cpp:270]: OS: Windows 7 Service Pack 1 Build: 7601
[gfx_dx9.cpp:3970]: Loading settings for adapter -1, fullscreen=1, multisample=15
[gfx_dx9.cpp:3992]: Graphic Adapters:
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4000]: 0: AMD Radeon R7 200 Series
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4019]: Using Adapter [0] to check for multi-sampling support:
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4037]: Using Adapter [0]:
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4043]: Succeeded to create a device [D3DCREATE_HARDWARE_VERTEXPROCESSING].
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4082]: Graphics device: AMD Radeon R7 200 Series
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4083]: Graphics driver: aticfx32.dll
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4084]: Driver version: 1211
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4099]:


Dumping all gfx info:
DeviceIdentifier: {D7B71EE2-2550-11CF-4070-63C2BEC2C535}
VendorId: 4098
DeviceId: 26128
SubSysId: -496429237
Revision: 0
DriverVersion.HighPart: 524305
DriverVersion.LowPart: 656571


[gfx_dx9.cpp:4119]: Instancing supported.
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4168]: Video memory amount: 3279MB
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4169]: MaxSimultaneousTextures: 8
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4170]: MaxVertexBlendMatrices: 4
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4171]: MaxVertexBlendMatrixIndex: 8
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4172]: MaxSimultaneousTextures: 8
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4173]: MaxTextureBlendStages: 8
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4174]: MaxTextureWidth: 16384
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4175]: MaxTextureHeight: 16384
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4178]: Vertex Shader version: 3.0
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4183]: Pixel Shader version: 3.0
[graphicssettings.cpp:151]: 2 samples supported.
[graphicssettings.cpp:151]: 4 samples supported.
[graphicssettings.cpp:151]: 8 samples supported.
[graphicssettings.cpp:183]: Support for Anisotropic filtering found.
[graphicssettings.cpp:186]: Max Anisotropic filtering supported: 16
[graphicssettings.cpp:187]: Anisotropic filtering set to: 16
[gfx_dx9.cpp:3970]: Loading settings for adapter -1, fullscreen=1, multisample=15
[gfx_dx9.cpp:3992]: Graphic Adapters:
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4000]: 0: AMD Radeon R7 200 Series
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4019]: Using Adapter [0] to check for multi-sampling support:
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4037]: Using Adapter [0]:
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4043]: Succeeded to create a device [D3DCREATE_HARDWARE_VERTEXPROCESSING].
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4082]: Graphics device: AMD Radeon R7 200 Series
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4083]: Graphics driver: aticfx32.dll
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4084]: Driver version: 1211
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4099]:


Dumping all gfx info:
DeviceIdentifier: {D7B71EE2-2550-11CF-4070-63C2BEC2C535}
VendorId: 4098
DeviceId: 26128
SubSysId: -496429237
Revision: 0
DriverVersion.HighPart: 524305
DriverVersion.LowPart: 656571


[gfx_dx9.cpp:4119]: Instancing supported.
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4168]: Video memory amount: 3279MB
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4169]: MaxSimultaneousTextures: 8
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4170]: MaxVertexBlendMatrices: 4
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4171]: MaxVertexBlendMatrixIndex: 8
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4172]: MaxSimultaneousTextures: 8
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4173]: MaxTextureBlendStages: 8
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4174]: MaxTextureWidth: 16384
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4175]: MaxTextureHeight: 16384
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4178]: Vertex Shader version: 3.0
[gfx_dx9.cpp:4183]: Pixel Shader version: 3.0
[graphicssettings.cpp:151]: 2 samples supported.
[graphicssettings.cpp:151]: 4 samples supported.
[graphicssettings.cpp:151]: 8 samples supported.
[graphicssettings.cpp:183]: Support for Anisotropic filtering found.
[graphicssettings.cpp:186]: Max Anisotropic filtering supported: 16
[graphicssettings.cpp:187]: Anisotropic filtering set to: 4
[graphicssettings.cpp:515]: Using multisampling: 4
[graphics.cpp:785]: Creating device with: HARDWARE_VERTEXPROCESSING
Fullscreen=no
Resolution=1000x600
[graphicssettings.cpp:491]: Usable res: 640 480 60
[graphicssettings.cpp:491]: Usable res: 720 480 60
[graphicssettings.cpp:491]: Usable res: 720 576 60
[graphicssettings.cpp:491]: Usable res: 800 600 60
[graphicssettings.cpp:491]: Usable res: 1024 768 60
[graphicssettings.cpp:491]: Usable res: 1280 720 60
[graphicssettings.cpp:491]: Usable res: 1280 720 59
[graphicssettings.cpp:491]: Usable res: 1280 768 60
[graphicssettings.cpp:491]: Usable res: 1360 768 60
[graphics.cpp:818]: Done creating device.
[main.cpp:1020]: EU4 Version Jun 18 2015 : 09:30:55
[main.cpp:1029]: Creating application...
[main.cpp:1083]: Initializing application...
[eu4application.cpp:383]: Initializing application...
[eu4application.cpp:386]: Done initializing application
[eu4application.cpp:391]: Loading cursor...
[eu4application.cpp:462]: Done loading cursor
[eu4application.cpp:464]: Initializing sound...
[eu4application.cpp:480]: Done initializing sound
[eu4application.cpp:482]: Initializing graphics...
[graphicssettings.cpp:515]: Using multisampling: 4
[graphics.cpp:785]: Creating device with: HARDWARE_VERTEXPROCESSING
Fullscreen=yes
RefreshRate=60
Resolution=1360x768
[graphicssettings.cpp:491]: Usable res: 640 480 60
[graphicssettings.cpp:491]: Usable res: 720 480 60
[graphicssettings.cpp:491]: Usable res: 720 576 60
[graphicssettings.cpp:491]: Usable res: 800 600 60
[graphicssettings.cpp:491]: Usable res: 1024 768 60
[graphicssettings.cpp:491]: Usable res: 1280 720 60
[graphicssettings.cpp:491]: Usable res: 1280 720 59
[graphicssettings.cpp:491]: Usable res: 1280 768 60
[graphicssettings.cpp:491]: Usable res: 1360 768 60
[graphics.cpp:818]: Done creating device.
[eu4application.cpp:517]: Done initializing graphics
[main.cpp:1086]: Running application...

Version in launcher: EU 4 v1.12.2.0 (551a)
Version in Menu: EU 4 v1.12.2(551a)
 

Attachments

AndrewT

The Full Monty Python
Paradox Support Rep
Super Moderator
Moderator
113 Badges
Jun 29, 2001
70.547
2.169
  • Leviathan: Warships
  • Europa Universalis IV: Wealth of Nations
  • Europa Universalis IV: Call to arms event
  • For The Glory
  • Gettysburg
  • Hearts of Iron III
  • Heir to the Throne
  • Impire
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • King Arthur II
  • Knights of Pen and Paper +1 Edition
  • Lead and Gold
  • Legio
  • Europa Universalis IV: Conquest of Paradise
  • The Kings Crusade
  • Lost Empire - Immortals
  • Magicka
  • Majesty 2 Collection
  • March of the Eagles
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Naval War: Arctic Circle
  • Pirates of Black Cove
  • Europa Universalis IV: Res Publica
  • Europa Universalis: Rome
  • Rome Gold
  • Crusader Kings III
  • Crusader Kings II: Sons of Abraham
  • A Game of Dwarves
  • Ancient Space
  • Arsenal of Democracy
  • Hearts of Iron II: Armageddon
  • Cities in Motion
  • Cities in Motion 2
  • Crusader Kings II
  • Crusader Kings II: Charlemagne
  • Crusader Kings II: Legacy of Rome
  • Crusader Kings II: The Old Gods
  • Crusader Kings II: Rajas of India
  • Crusader Kings II: The Republic
  • Crusader Kings II: Sunset Invasion
  • Crusader Kings II: Sword of Islam
  • Commander: Conquest of the Americas
  • Darkest Hour
  • Dungeonland
  • East India Company Collection
  • Europa Universalis III
  • Europa Universalis III: Chronicles
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Divine Wind
Your problem is 32bit Windows. It only allows the game access to 2gb of memory, even though you have 3gb installed. Until you can switch to 64bit Windows and preferably 4gb+ of memory, use this workaround:

1: Open Command Prompt
2: Set it to be in Admin mode http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc947813(v=ws.10).aspx
3: Paste this in: bcdedit /set increaseuserva 2560
4: Restart
5: If you ever need to undo: BCDEdit /deletevalue increaseuserva
 

Gwom

Recruit
37 Badges
May 28, 2015
7
7
  • Crusader Kings II: Charlemagne
  • Crusader Kings II
  • Europa Universalis IV: Res Publica
  • Europa Universalis IV: Wealth of Nations
  • Europa Universalis IV: Conquest of Paradise
  • Europa Universalis IV: Art of War
  • Crusader Kings II: Sword of Islam
  • Crusader Kings II: Sons of Abraham
  • Crusader Kings II: The Republic
  • Crusader Kings II: Rajas of India
  • Crusader Kings II: The Old Gods
  • Crusader Kings II: Legacy of Rome
  • Crusader Kings II: Sunset Invasion
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Together for Victory
  • Europa Universalis IV: Mandate of Heaven
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Death or Dishonor
  • Europa Universalis IV: Cradle of Civilization
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Expansion Pass
  • Europa Universalis IV: Rule Britannia
  • Europa Universalis IV: Dharma
  • Crusader Kings II: Holy Fury
  • Europa Universalis IV: Golden Century
  • Imperator: Rome
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Expansion Pass
  • Europa Universalis IV: Rights of Man
  • Crusader Kings II: Reapers Due
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Cadet
  • Stellaris
  • Europa Universalis IV: Mare Nostrum
  • Europa Universalis IV: Cossacks
  • Crusader Kings II: Horse Lords
  • Europa Universalis IV: Common Sense
  • Crusader Kings II: Way of Life
  • Europa Universalis IV: El Dorado
  • Victoria 2
  • Europa Universalis IV: Third Rome
Okay, thanks mate! I assume this might work for the crashes on other games to?
And if I extend my RAM memory from 3 to anything higher by hardware, will my used memory get up to, or is it 2 by default due to 32 bit?
 

AndrewT

The Full Monty Python
Paradox Support Rep
Super Moderator
Moderator
113 Badges
Jun 29, 2001
70.547
2.169
  • Leviathan: Warships
  • Europa Universalis IV: Wealth of Nations
  • Europa Universalis IV: Call to arms event
  • For The Glory
  • Gettysburg
  • Hearts of Iron III
  • Heir to the Throne
  • Impire
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • King Arthur II
  • Knights of Pen and Paper +1 Edition
  • Lead and Gold
  • Legio
  • Europa Universalis IV: Conquest of Paradise
  • The Kings Crusade
  • Lost Empire - Immortals
  • Magicka
  • Majesty 2 Collection
  • March of the Eagles
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Naval War: Arctic Circle
  • Pirates of Black Cove
  • Europa Universalis IV: Res Publica
  • Europa Universalis: Rome
  • Rome Gold
  • Crusader Kings III
  • Crusader Kings II: Sons of Abraham
  • A Game of Dwarves
  • Ancient Space
  • Arsenal of Democracy
  • Hearts of Iron II: Armageddon
  • Cities in Motion
  • Cities in Motion 2
  • Crusader Kings II
  • Crusader Kings II: Charlemagne
  • Crusader Kings II: Legacy of Rome
  • Crusader Kings II: The Old Gods
  • Crusader Kings II: Rajas of India
  • Crusader Kings II: The Republic
  • Crusader Kings II: Sunset Invasion
  • Crusader Kings II: Sword of Islam
  • Commander: Conquest of the Americas
  • Darkest Hour
  • Dungeonland
  • East India Company Collection
  • Europa Universalis III
  • Europa Universalis III: Chronicles
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Divine Wind
32bit always restricts applications to 2gb, and keeps the rest for Windows itself only. What we did there extends that to 2.5gb, thus reducing the memory Windows gets.

If you went from 3gb to 4gb, you don't get all that, because the system takes some away. You'd end up with between 3,25 and 3.5gb most likely.

Switching to 64bit Windows gets rid of all these limits.