Can somebody please explain what happened here?

Goodfontana

First Lieutenant
26 Badges
Sep 16, 2020
206
1.078
  • Europa Universalis IV: Mandate of Heaven
  • Europa Universalis 4: Emperor
  • Battle for Bosporus
  • Hearts of Iron IV: La Resistance
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Expansion Pass
  • Europa Universalis IV: Golden Century
  • Europa Universalis IV: Dharma
  • Europa Universalis IV: Rule Britannia
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Expansion Pass
  • Europa Universalis IV: Cradle of Civilization
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Death or Dishonor
  • Surviving Mars
  • Europa Universalis IV: Third Rome
  • Europa Universalis IV
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Together for Victory
  • Europa Universalis IV: Rights of Man
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Cadet
  • Europa Universalis IV: Mare Nostrum
  • Europa Universalis IV: Cossacks
  • Europa Universalis IV: Common Sense
  • Europa Universalis IV: El Dorado
  • Europa Universalis IV: Res Publica
  • Europa Universalis IV: Call to arms event
  • Europa Universalis IV: Wealth of Nations
  • Europa Universalis IV: Conquest of Paradise
  • Europa Universalis IV: Art of War
I have only around 700h in the game and something really strange just happened:

I'm playing Byzantium going for the Basileus achievement. After taking out the Ottomans, the Balkans up to Bosnia and couple wars with the Mameluks, I'm fighting the Timurids who, without the Ottos, have grown of control, with the help of my good ally the Commonwealth.

In the middle of the war, my 23 y/o leader dies, no big deal, I go into a regency, but suddenly, the following month, out of nowhere, I get a notification that the Commonwealth declared war on me. Two of our armies where in the same tile after taking out a Timurid army and start fighting each other immediately.

Turns out that I have just PU Austria, during a regency, having a different religion, not having the same dinasty, and the Commonwealth has contested it.

Can somebody please explain how is that even possible? I did have a royal marriage with them, but that's pretty much it. No shared dinasty, my regent is female (I assume that's the reason why Austria can no longer be holy roman emperor and lost it to Saxony lol) and I was in a common war with the country that is now contesting the PU.
 

JacobiteJames

Banned
Nov 11, 2021
533
616
I have only around 700h in the game and something really strange just happened:

I'm playing Byzantium going for the Basileus achievement. After taking out the Ottomans, the Balkans up to Bosnia and couple wars with the Mameluks, I'm fighting the Timurids who, without the Ottos, have grown of control, with the help of my good ally the Commonwealth.

In the middle of the war, my 23 y/o leader dies, no big deal, I go into a regency, but suddenly, the following month, out of nowhere, I get a notification that the Commonwealth declared war on me. Two of our armies where in the same tile after taking out a Timurid army and start fighting each other immediately.

Turns out that I have just PU Austria, during a regency, having a different religion, not having the same dinasty, and the Commonwealth has contested it.

Can somebody please explain how is that even possible? I did have a royal marriage with them, but that's pretty much it. No shared dinasty, my regent is female (I assume that's the reason why Austria can no longer be holy roman emperor and lost it to Saxony lol) and I was in a common war with the country that is now contesting the PU.
You can get a pu without sharing dynasty, just sharing dynasty increases odds of pu rather than dynast
Religion doesn't matter
 
  • 1Like
Reactions:

lilunxm12

Sergeant
67 Badges
Jun 24, 2016
97
163
  • Crusader Kings II: Charlemagne
  • Europa Universalis IV: Third Rome
  • Europa Universalis IV: Mandate of Heaven
  • Stellaris: Galaxy Edition
  • Crusader Kings II: Jade Dragon
  • Europa Universalis IV: Pre-order
  • Cities: Skylines Deluxe Edition
  • Europa Universalis IV: Res Publica
  • Majesty 2 Collection
  • Magicka
  • Leviathan: Warships
  • Europa Universalis IV: Wealth of Nations
  • Europa Universalis IV: Conquest of Paradise
  • Crusader Kings II: The Republic
  • Crusader Kings II: The Old Gods
  • Crusader Kings II: Rajas of India
  • Europa Universalis IV: Art of War
  • Crusader Kings II: Legacy of Rome
  • Crusader Kings II: Sons of Abraham
  • Crusader Kings II
  • Crusader Kings II: Sunset Invasion
  • Europa Universalis III
  • Crusader Kings II: Sword of Islam
  • Dungeonland
  • Stellaris: Leviathans Story Pack
  • Europa Universalis IV: Cradle of Civilization
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Cadet
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Colonel
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Field Marshal
  • Crusader Kings II: Reapers Due
  • Europa Universalis IV: Rights of Man
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Death or Dishonor
  • Crusader Kings II: Monks and Mystics
  • Crusader Kings II: Conclave
  • Victoria 3 Sign Up
  • Age of Wonders III
  • Surviving Mars
  • Stellaris: Galaxy Edition
  • Stellaris
  • Europa Universalis IV: Cossacks
  • Knights of Pen and Paper 2
  • Crusader Kings II: Horse Lords
  • Europa Universalis IV: Common Sense
  • Crusader Kings II: Way of Life
  • Magicka: Wizard Wars Founder Wizard
  • Europa Universalis IV: El Dorado
  • Cities: Skylines
  • Warlock: Master of the Arcane
  • Victoria 2
  • The Showdown Effect
The PU system sometimes just weird. I'm more curious about how could commonwealth declare war on you when you two are on the same side of same war? I thought that's impossible.
 
  • 6
  • 1Like
Reactions:

Terixis

Second Lieutenant
42 Badges
Dec 31, 2011
147
407
  • Imperator: Rome - Magna Graecia
  • Imperator: Rome
  • Europa Universalis IV
  • Hearts of Iron III: Their Finest Hour
  • Victoria 2: A House Divided
  • Hearts of Iron III
  • For the Motherland
  • Semper Fi
  • Europa Universalis IV: Rights of Man
  • Europa Universalis IV: Common Sense
  • Crusader Kings II: Horse Lords
  • Europa Universalis IV: Cossacks
  • Crusader Kings II: Conclave
  • Europa Universalis IV: Mare Nostrum
  • Crusader Kings II: Reapers Due
  • 500k Club
  • Crusader Kings II: Monks and Mystics
  • Europa Universalis IV: Mandate of Heaven
  • Europa Universalis IV: Third Rome
  • Europa Universalis IV: Cradle of Civilization
  • Crusader Kings II: Jade Dragon
  • Europa Universalis IV: Rule Britannia
  • Europa Universalis IV: Dharma
  • Crusader Kings II: Holy Fury
  • Europa Universalis IV: Golden Century
  • Europa Universalis 4: Emperor
  • Europa Universalis IV: El Dorado
  • Victoria 2
  • Europa Universalis IV: Res Publica
  • Europa Universalis IV: Wealth of Nations
  • Europa Universalis IV: Conquest of Paradise
  • Europa Universalis IV: Art of War
  • Crusader Kings II: Way of Life
  • Crusader Kings II
  • Crusader Kings II: Charlemagne
  • Crusader Kings II: Legacy of Rome
  • Crusader Kings II: The Old Gods
  • Crusader Kings II: Rajas of India
  • Crusader Kings II: The Republic
  • Crusader Kings II: Sons of Abraham
  • Crusader Kings II: Sunset Invasion
  • Crusader Kings II: Sword of Islam
PUs make the AI do strange things sometimes. Like every country you're allied to and have a royal marriage with going domineering and breaking their alliance with you if you introduce a weak claim heir.
 
  • 1Like
Reactions:

Jespoke

Sergeant
15 Badges
May 9, 2021
92
155
  • Europa Universalis IV
  • Europa Universalis IV: Art of War
  • Europa Universalis IV: Wealth of Nations
  • Europa Universalis IV: Res Publica
  • Europa Universalis IV: El Dorado
  • Europa Universalis IV: Common Sense
  • Europa Universalis IV: Cossacks
  • Europa Universalis IV: Rights of Man
  • Europa Universalis IV: Mandate of Heaven
  • Europa Universalis IV: Third Rome
  • Europa Universalis IV: Cradle of Civilization
  • Europa Universalis IV: Rule Britannia
  • Europa Universalis IV: Dharma
  • Europa Universalis IV: Golden Century
  • Europa Universalis 4: Emperor
This is a longstanding design oddity around PU wars, they instantly white peace the contestor out of any wars that would cause them to be on the same side as their new enemies. No. Matter. What.

I once got stuck fighting a war France started and France contesting the Burgundian Inheritance at the same time, because the PU war peaced France out of their own war without ending it for their allies...
 
  • 6Haha
  • 1
Reactions:

bokorthedust

Major
57 Badges
Jun 9, 2020
560
972
  • Europa Universalis IV: Rule Britannia
  • Stellaris: Leviathans Story Pack
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Together for Victory
  • Stellaris - Path to Destruction bundle
  • Europa Universalis IV: Mandate of Heaven
  • Europa Universalis IV: Third Rome
  • Surviving Mars
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Death or Dishonor
  • Stellaris: Synthetic Dawn
  • Age of Wonders III
  • Europa Universalis IV: Cradle of Civilization
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Expansion Pass
  • Stellaris: Apocalypse
  • Tyranny: Archon Edition
  • Stellaris: Distant Stars
  • Europa Universalis IV: Dharma
  • Stellaris: Megacorp
  • Europa Universalis IV: Golden Century
  • Imperator: Rome
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Expansion Pass
  • Prison Architect
  • Stellaris: Ancient Relics
  • Age of Wonders: Planetfall
  • Prison Architect: Psych Ward
  • Hearts of Iron IV: La Resistance
  • Victoria 3 Sign Up
  • Victoria 2: Heart of Darkness
  • Crusader Kings II
  • Crusader Kings II: Legacy of Rome
  • Crusader Kings II: The Old Gods
  • Crusader Kings II: Sword of Islam
  • Europa Universalis IV
  • Europa Universalis IV: Art of War
  • Europa Universalis IV: Conquest of Paradise
  • Europa Universalis IV: Wealth of Nations
  • Europa Universalis IV: Res Publica
  • Victoria: Revolutions
  • Victoria 2
  • Victoria 2: A House Divided
  • Arsenal of Democracy
  • Warlock: Master of the Arcane
  • Europa Universalis IV: El Dorado
  • Europa Universalis IV: Pre-order
  • Crusader Kings II: Way of Life
  • Europa Universalis IV: Common Sense
  • Knights of Pen and Paper 2
  • Europa Universalis IV: Cossacks
  • Europa Universalis IV: Mare Nostrum
  • Stellaris
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Cadet
The PU system sometimes just weird. I'm more curious about how could commonwealth declare war on you when you two are on the same side of same war? I thought that's impossible.
The war is declared automatically if he contests the PU, while the mechanic you're talking about is only for manual war declarations. As others have said, it's a quirk of the PU mechanics.
 
  • 1Like
Reactions:

LSF

Captain
95 Badges
Dec 7, 2010
482
1.211
  • Victoria: Revolutions
  • For the Motherland
  • Hearts of Iron III
  • Hearts of Iron III: Their Finest Hour
  • Arsenal of Democracy
  • Heir to the Throne
  • Iron Cross
  • Knights of Pen and Paper +1 Edition
  • The Kings Crusade
  • March of the Eagles
  • Europa Universalis IV: Res Publica
  • Hearts of Iron III Collection
  • Rome Gold
  • Semper Fi
  • Sengoku
  • Victoria 2: A House Divided
  • Victoria 2: Heart of Darkness
  • Rome: Vae Victis
  • Europa Universalis IV: Third Rome
  • Europa Universalis IV: Pre-order
  • Europa Universalis IV: Mare Nostrum
  • Knights of Pen and Paper 2
  • Crusader Kings II: Sunset Invasion
  • Hearts of Iron II: Armageddon
  • Crusader Kings II
  • Crusader Kings II: Charlemagne
  • Crusader Kings II: Legacy of Rome
  • Crusader Kings II: The Old Gods
  • Crusader Kings II: Rajas of India
  • Crusader Kings II: The Republic
  • Crusader Kings II: Sons of Abraham
  • For The Glory
  • Crusader Kings II: Sword of Islam
  • Darkest Hour
  • Europa Universalis IV: Call to arms event
  • Europa Universalis III
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Europa Universalis IV: Wealth of Nations
  • Divine Wind
  • Deus Vult
  • Europa Universalis IV: Art of War
  • Europa Universalis IV: Conquest of Paradise
  • 500k Club
  • Europa Universalis IV: Common Sense
  • Crusader Kings II: Way of Life
  • Rise of Prussia
  • Cities: Skylines
  • Stellaris: Nemesis
  • Europa Universalis IV
  • Victoria 2
This is a longstanding design oddity around PU wars, they instantly white peace the contestor out of any wars that would cause them to be on the same side as their new enemies. No. Matter. What.

I once got stuck fighting a war France started and France contesting the Burgundian Inheritance at the same time, because the PU war peaced France out of their own war without ending it for their allies...
Wow, I never noticed it, this automatic white peace. And your example of a white peace of war leader with war going on with other participants is just pure craziness.
 

SirGregMac

I be who I be.
28 Badges
Jan 17, 2008
65
50
  • Europa Universalis IV
  • Europa Universalis IV: Conquest of Paradise
  • Europa Universalis IV: Wealth of Nations
  • Europa Universalis IV: Res Publica
  • Europa Universalis IV: Art of War
  • Europa Universalis IV: El Dorado
  • Europa Universalis IV: Common Sense
  • Europa Universalis IV: Cossacks
  • Europa Universalis IV: Mare Nostrum
  • Europa Universalis IV: Rights of Man
  • Europa Universalis IV: Mandate of Heaven
  • Europa Universalis IV: Third Rome
  • Europa Universalis IV: Cradle of Civilization
  • Europa Universalis IV: Rule Britannia
  • Europa Universalis IV: Dharma
  • Europa Universalis IV: Golden Century
  • Europa Universalis 4: Emperor
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Cadet
  • Stellaris
  • Stellaris - Path to Destruction bundle
  • Prison Architect
  • Cities: Skylines
As detailed in the late great Atwix's guide to PUs, you don't have to have a RM or same dynasty as another nation to get a PU. Similarly claiming another nation's throne because they have the same dynasty and a RM doesn't mean you'll get them under PU if they die heirless, but it does make it so that you'll be the defender in a succession war, making victory much easier if you don't declare war for their throne prior. Most of that doesn't apply to this situation, but my guess is you were a rival of theirs which meant you were one of the possible claimants, though that can rotate between rivals/enemies.
 
  • 1Like
Reactions:

Goodfontana

First Lieutenant
26 Badges
Sep 16, 2020
206
1.078
  • Europa Universalis IV: Mandate of Heaven
  • Europa Universalis 4: Emperor
  • Battle for Bosporus
  • Hearts of Iron IV: La Resistance
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Expansion Pass
  • Europa Universalis IV: Golden Century
  • Europa Universalis IV: Dharma
  • Europa Universalis IV: Rule Britannia
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Expansion Pass
  • Europa Universalis IV: Cradle of Civilization
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Death or Dishonor
  • Surviving Mars
  • Europa Universalis IV: Third Rome
  • Europa Universalis IV
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Together for Victory
  • Europa Universalis IV: Rights of Man
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Cadet
  • Europa Universalis IV: Mare Nostrum
  • Europa Universalis IV: Cossacks
  • Europa Universalis IV: Common Sense
  • Europa Universalis IV: El Dorado
  • Europa Universalis IV: Res Publica
  • Europa Universalis IV: Call to arms event
  • Europa Universalis IV: Wealth of Nations
  • Europa Universalis IV: Conquest of Paradise
  • Europa Universalis IV: Art of War
Most of that doesn't apply to this situation, but my guess is you were a rival of theirs which meant you were one of the possible claimants, though that can rotate between rivals/enemies.

No I wasn't, I was in fact allied to them and the Commonwealth.

Thanks everyone for your comments, I guess what happened was possible but it certainly had very low chances of happening. I'll bet you anything that if I allied and RM Austria intending to get a PU for free it would've never happened :)
 
  • 1Haha
Reactions: