• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.

Maynesss

Recruit
2 Badges
Sep 25, 2017
  • Crusader Kings II
  • Europa Universalis IV
I have been playing EU4 for about 2 years or so and it has always bothered me that there is no Slovenian culture in the game. More than that, it's just Austrian, which makes it even worse. Don't get me started about how dumb the culture groups in the game are, but this is such a drastic inaccuracy to say a Slavic people group is Germanic. The whole concept of deciding cultures in 1444 is pretty ridiculous, as a result a lot of cultures are just copy pasted from the modern day. If you look at the culture of Austria one would think that Slovenians just simply popped into existence some time after the 19th century which is far from the truth. The reality is quite opposite since most of modern day Austria was once populated by Slavic peoples, the ones who got assimilated, forcefully germanized or became modern day Slovenians. Austria was multicultural, but the Germanic influence won. There is even evidence that it's name could be connected to native Slavic name for the mountain Ostravica. Slavic languages took a while to get very distinct one from another, but in the oldest writing in Slovene or any Slavic language for that matter there are already signs of a regional dialect, which would split them from other Slavic people groups. The documents are called the Freising manuscripts and were written between 972 and 1039. The period during which the subjugated Slavic peoples were being converted to catholicism. The Salzburgian archdiocese forced it's Germanic culture very strongly.

h4sdcwngn1l11.png

Yellow is the Salzburgian archdiocese, red are the modern borders