• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.

HBS_Super

Private
1 Badges
May 2, 2019
  • Harebrained Schemes Staff
Hey ‘Mech fans. My name is Dave McCoy and I’m a technical artist here at Harebrained Schemes. I joined the HBS team almost exactly one year ago to help take on a really exciting challenge.

BATTLETECH had previously allowed players to fight in some larger military and industrial bases. But studio leadership wondered about the possibility of also letting players deploy ‘Mechs into the hearts of sprawling futuristic cities. They wanted to create new kinds of battlefields based on horizon-to-horizon urban sprawl. Corporate skyscrapers and huge apartment blocks, industrial and office parks and memorial plazas and military parade grounds, parking lots and wide city streets and intersections filled with thousands of abandoned cars and buses, neon and holographic signs everywhere and high rooftops you could jump-jet to that were covered in cell towers and machinery and exhaust vents billowing steam and smoke and… well, everything else you would expect to find in the dense and varied landscape of a major metropolis.

xalapiVtq1GvMLkLCTJ9qaEgt23OabQbH6YCE7YYFR5cC8F5Xg_UTVZbqSElCA0M7Z5B86cqk0xYU5Z_yop-eX8_-lRG4w5JSK5xuueEqwDNISCF032NkpvP7lmz0tn1fpQzfkDo

Urban Warfare City Concept - Jenn Ravenna

Just to create multiple unique realistic city environments would be tough enough. But on top of that, it all had to be destroyable. Every single structure and object on every block needed to be affected by intentional or stray fire and needed to collapse into rubble spectacularly in order to reinforce the power of the weapons at the player’s disposal.

Pulling this off was going to be really hard. And really fun. And for me, the fulfillment of a decades-long goal. But more on that in a bit.