• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.

HBS_Leshy

Recruit
1 Badges
Feb 23, 2018
  • Harebrained Schemes Staff
Hello Everyone! I am Zach Hartlage, one of the Environment Artists that worked on bringing the Tropical Biome to life. I have been working at HBS for close to 4 years now. My first project was Shadowrun Hong Kong, and the following SR:HK Extended Edition. My claim-to-fame for BATTLETECH is working on all of the foliage, though I also had a heavy hand in a few of the Main Story missions and general polish on a great deal of all of the procedural maps.

I’ll go ahead and jump right in to my process for conjuring the look and feel of the Tropical Biome. I was instantly excited when given the prompt - maps with lots of foliage? This was going to be my jam.

Immediately I started looking into reference images, that’s always a great start. During my collection and absorption of the reference images, I also started dividing things into various folders so I can easily find specific images when I need them. Things ended up being parsed out into Beach (ocean, sand, cliffsides, rock formations), Jungle (deep forested areas), Tropical Plants, and Waterfalls. Waterfalls were a feature mentioned early on that we wanted to test and see how we could approach them best visually for BATTLETECH.