• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.

PhillyDrowNinja

Recruit
6 Badges
Sep 25, 2018
  • Pillars of Eternity
  • Stellaris
  • Age of Wonders III
  • Shadowrun Returns
  • Shadowrun: Dragonfall
  • Shadowrun: Hong Kong
I'm a veteran of Civ and the Medieval War titles and thought I'd give this franchise a try. I'm reaching out here hoping to get some advice on strategy before I give up on it. I don't have any trouble conquering the independents and building an empire, but I seem to always be outgunned when it comes to fighting the other factions. It doesn't help that it seems I always have to attack them when they're behind city walls, but I'm bringing armies that outnumber them 2:1 or 3:1, with plenty of trebuchets. I either lose badly or just eek out a win after suffering massive casualties. I'm playing this on Squire.

What am I missing?

A few questions, what class are you playing as? Any different settings (besides difficulty)? What turn do these battles usually happen on? Do you have any screenshots of the army compositions for the city battles? To see army composition. Sometimes trebuchets are not the best solution to city sieges depending on spells/city enchantments/defending units the enemy has.

One thing to keep in mind, some people do that are used to Civ and Total War is to not be aggressive enough early in the game so that they end up behind technologically and militarily. This might be the case with your situation, but possibly not. Usually this is more of a problem when the AI is more aggressive.