New laptop suggestions (specifically for this game!)

• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.

torgian11

Private
Mar 17, 2018
Hey guys. You probably remember from other titles such as Too late to back the beta? and Wow, looking forward to this!

So unfortunately, my current MacBook was dropped (thank you, random person who backed into my table with no care in the world, who proceeded to look down at my laptop, look back up at me, shrug and walk away. Frack you too.) Fortunately, I have a computer rider on my insurance, so USAA is paying me about 2700 USD to buy a new system.

I've been using a 15 inch for the past five years (MacBook pro) so I'm thinking of paring down to a 13" model.

Keep in mind, there really is only one game I would like to play: this game. Unfortunately, I have no idea how the new MacBook Pro 13 inch's Iris Plus 640/650 graphics will perform for that game.

Yes, I could get another 15 inch with the Radeon Pro 560, but I think that would be overkill for what i use my laptop for (mostly web/app programming, some data stuff, and photo editing using Lightroom)

Now, if I could use the 13inch to play both Battletech and programming, then great! End of story.

All that said, I am open to the possibility of getting a Windows laptop. Thinkpads are pretty much the go-to portable here in China, but there are some other brands that are popular (Asus for the most part). However, I don't want anything heavy (so no gaming-focused laptops). Battery life and portability is still high on the list.

So is durability and longevity. I've had bad experiences in the past with PC laptops, with slowdowns and fragility to the point where I replaced the PC laptop once every year or two (this was back when I was in the military). However, I'm hoping this has changed in the past several years.