• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.
CKII and paradox game in general noob here. As recommended by many people, my first game is as the Duke of Munster in Ireland. Things have been going reasonably well so far. I put down the inevitable rebellion
in Ormond, gave the city to my Uncle. I forced Desmond to become my vassal through de jure claims and united the Duchy of Munster. I invited the heir to the Duchy of Meath to my court, gave him a landed title so he could be my direct vassal, and then pressed his claim to the county of Leinster, adding it to my realm. This last bit I fear was a huge mistake.
As I said earlier, this guy is the heir to the Duchy of Meath. So when the duke of meath dies, he inherits...does that mean he will form a new realm and take Leinster with him? Can he do that without having to
rebel against me? My current objective is to create the duchy of leinster which will give me a claim to the county of ossory. I plan to keep that duchy for myself if possible.
From reading guides, wikis and the forums, I feel like I am playing the game wrong in general. People talk about keeping vassals weak and holding a couple of duchies and several counties within their own
demesne. How/when am I supposed to start doing that? I would much rather not have to deal with these grumpy vassals at all, but as it is I can't risk just stripping everyone of their titles, they're just as strong as I am, and the hit to opinion will endanger the stability of my realm. I feel walled in by my vassals, unable to take strong action. Is this just the nature of the early game, and if so, what is my course out?