• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.
Forum banner.png

Plop the Growables, Forest Brush and Theme Mixer - These are just a few of TPB’s popular mods. Hear how he got into modding, and how that landed him a job at Colossal Order!

-------------------------------------------------

My name is Tai AKA TPB, and I'm a gameplay programmer at Colossal Order.

How did you get into Cities: Skylines and modding?​

I was an active member of the Simtropolis SimCity 4 community back in 2015. Then, Cities: Skylines came out, and there was a huge flurry of activity about this new game that seemed like a worthy contender for dethroning SC4's supremacy.

I decided to give it a go, and got hooked immediately. Initially, I just spent a lot of time in the asset editor making interchanges, parks and the like. Pretty soon though, as mods began popping up like mushrooms on Steam Workshop, I became intrigued by the code-based mods. They seemed to offer endless opportunities for adding new features or fundamentally changing how the game worked.

Other than basic HTML and CSS, I had no prior programming experience at the time. But, with a lot of help from knowledgeable modders, I started learning C# and embarked on a journey that would ultimately lead me to moving to Finland with my family to work for Colossal Order full time.

What is a significant mod you made? Why is that special to you?​

My favourite creation has to be Forest Brush. I really enjoy creating natural scenes and rural types of towns. I always found it very tedious and time-consuming to create realistic looking forests in the game due to the limitations of the game’s tree brush. Forest Brush was my solution.

Forest Brush gif.gif

How did you end up applying for a job at Colossal Order?​