• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.

hisdudeness94

Recruit
Apr 6, 2015
Hey guys, I just started playing again and I'm only in 1841. I chose Belgium because apparently it's pretty forgiving and an instructive playthrough. I'm currently ranked #6 in the world and a GP so that seems accurate. Some questions:

1) Can I even take credit for my economy? I'm the third most industrialized nation in the world, but it seems only because of the capitalists. I just keep taxes for the rich low and destroy some factories when they're in the red too much. Every now and then I'll manually fulfil my pop's and producer's needs via the Trade menu. Is this a usual strategy? What would happen if I were to appoint the Reactionary Party and took care of things myself? Smart move or would I wreck the impressive feat of leading Belgium to #3rd in industry?

2) Why is the Trade menu so random? Sometimes the stockpile will increase and the numbers in front of "available for my country" will rise when I buy manually, and sometimes nothing happens. What gives?

3.) If I want to prevent unemployment, is it enough to make sure my pop gets its needs so as to keep growing? It seems like the more stagnant my pop size is the more unemployed I have (my capitalists are relentlessly expanding)

4.) What can I do to increase prestige? I already added Luxembourg to my sphere, but they're so irrelevant that our common market is meaningless. Colonization isn't until late game right? How do I kick that off anyway, simply by expanding my navy and sailing to Africa or is it a Tech decision?

Lots of questions, I know! I just feel like playing is a better way to learn than endless AARs or LPs on Youtube. 2 and 4 are my most important issues.

Thank you very much for reading and answering!