• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.

Gomine

First Lieutenant
21 Badges
Apr 4, 2017
  • Stellaris - Path to Destruction bundle
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Death or Dishonor
  • Stellaris: Federations
  • Hearts of Iron IV: La Resistance
  • Stellaris: Ancient Relics
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Expansion Pass
  • Stellaris: Megacorp
  • Stellaris: Distant Stars
  • Stellaris: Apocalypse
  • Stellaris: Humanoids Species Pack
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Expansion Pass
  • Stellaris: Synthetic Dawn
  • Europa Universalis IV
  • Stellaris: Leviathans Story Pack
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Cadet
  • Stellaris: Galaxy Edition
  • Stellaris: Galaxy Edition
  • Stellaris
  • Cities: Skylines - After Dark
  • Cities: Skylines
  • Victoria 2
im new to vic and i haven’t the slightest as to which nation i should use for my first play through

My recommendation is Serbia:

Slow start, giving you time to get used to the mechanics

Russia is always there to help you if Austria starts feeling cheeky

Lets you experiment with various mechanics, like crises

Has a clear goal in forming Yugoslavia

Is overall quite fun once you get going

I wouldn't recommend a new player starting already with a modded Victoria 2. I think it's better to learn vanilla first. Then try out some mods. It's not like Victoria 2 is a broken game which is only playable with mods.

And, to answer your question, I would recommend Belgium. They are small, so you won't be overwhelmed when you open your population screen, and you can get a Great Power to save your ass if you need.

Playing with Belgium you get a grasp on how industrialization works.

After I suggest playing Prussia to fiddle with Spheres of Influence.