• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.

OLDodin

Corporal
4 Badges
Jun 1, 2013
  • Crusader Kings II
  • Age of Wonders III
  • Arsenal of Democracy
  • Darkest Hour
I noticed that in versions 1.10+ the file "db/unitnames.csv" can no longer be localized. Works correctly only with text encoding win-1252. The remaining files (airnames.csv, armynames.csv, navynames.csv) support localization as in the version 1.07

• 1Like
Reactions:
Upvote 0
Hi OL Dodin,

I'm a new C++ developer on the 1.13 release team (new to the team in the last year but old, like really old...retired) :). I can tell you that all the .csv files in AoD directory (...\config) use an Encoding of Western European Windows-1252. There are 2 caveats to this:
  • The Russian Cyrillic alphabet isn't part of Windows-1252 and AoD doesn't use UTF-8. So to get Cyrillic to work in AoD the code "translates" Windows-1252 to Cyrillic Windows-1251 Encoding.
  • The Polish language has a similar issue that the Russian Cyrillic alphabet has, that it "translates" Windows-1252 Encoding to another Encoding. That Encoding is Central Europe, Windows-1250.
The ...\db\unitnames.csv file (not to be confused with the ...\config\unit_names.csv file), doesn't do any Encoding "translations." So, what you see in the unitnames.csv is WYSIWYG (what you see is what you get). If the expectation is to see Russian units using Cyrillic, or Arabic countries using Arabic, that can't be currently done. So for an example, I took a screen shot of Statistics, Divisions to show how the unitnames.scv works:
Capture.PNG

You will what gets "translated" form one encoding to another encoding. The unitnames, armynames, airnames, and navynames will not be translated.

As for when this change, I can't tell you since I've only know that it's been Windows-1252 on my (US) English laptop ever wince I've had the game.