• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.

Pal

King of the mushroom cloud
108 Badges
Oct 7, 2003
  • Arsenal of Democracy
  • Hearts of Iron IV: No Step Back
  • Hearts of Iron IV: By Blood Alone
  • Victoria 3 Sign Up
  • Europa Universalis 4: Emperor
  • Hearts of Iron II: Armageddon
  • Crusader Kings II
  • Darkest Hour
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Europa Universalis IV
  • For The Glory
  • Hearts of Iron III
  • Europa Universalis III Complete
  • Victoria: Revolutions
  • Rome Gold
  • Victoria 2
  • 500k Club
  • Cities: Skylines
  • Mount & Blade: Warband
  • Paradox Order
  • Stellaris: Galaxy Edition
  • Surviving Mars: Digital Deluxe Edition
  • BATTLETECH - Digital Deluxe Edition
  • Imperator: Rome Deluxe Edition
  • Crusader Kings III
Hey guys, I recently started playing CORE again, and it's been a blast so far! Thank you very much for creating this!

Now for my question. As Germany, I researched as much airforce tech as I could, which means in 1942 I can win most of my air battles vs. ENG and USA over the Channel. I did notice though that British fighters usually utterly destroy my German light fighters at same tech level in same numbers. The combat window doesn't tell me anything to explain that, as both sides have almost exactly the same modifiers. Comparing the values in the build menu, I found that both types of aircraft are almost exactly the same in all stats but range. Strangely, light fighters have longer range than fighters.

Now this is a long way from vanilla, where fighters were supposed to kill other fighters at long range and interceptors (light fighters) were supposed to kill bombers over home areas.

So what is the philosophy behind these two types of fighter aircraft in CORE? How do they differ, and where do I see that difference?

Hi,