• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.

luke5589

Sergeant
17 Badges
Apr 5, 2014
  • Hearts of Iron III
  • Hearts of Iron III: Their Finest Hour
  • Semper Fi
  • For the Motherland
  • Victoria 2: A House Divided
  • Battle for Bosporus
  • Hearts of Iron IV: La Resistance
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Expansion Pass
  • Imperator: Rome
  • Imperator: Rome Deluxe Edition
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Expansion Pass
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Death or Dishonor
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Together for Victory
  • Hearts of Iron IV: Cadet
  • Cities: Skylines
  • Victoria 2
  • Victoria 2: Heart of Darkness
So I’m fairly new to Vicky 2. I only have about 30 hours in it. I understand the general concepts of the game and understand it enough to play it, but I don’t seem to understand economy and industrialization enough. Also, I am playing with both of the expansions.

I’ve been doing a lot of reading and research and have read that it’s far better not to build factories early game ( early game is 1836-1860ish...I thinko_O) and focus on increasing RGO output. Is this correct?

My question is, how can this be done, when the capitalist build factories themselves from the second I start the game. Even if I don’t build any, by the time 1860 comes my capitalists have built like 30-40ish factories on their own (most of them being useless ones). My economy seems to do great the first 20-30 years, and when I hit the 70s-80s my income starts going in the negatives hard, and can’t seem to get out of it. I’ve been playing Prussia and forming the NGF around 1840, and super Germany by around 1850 if anyone is wondering.

Also, if factories early game is bad, why are there so many damn craftsmen early game??