• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.

unmerged(18239)

Lt.-Colonel of Guerillas
Jul 14, 2003
Visit site
30dedds.jpg

As in the week before the release of Hearts of Iron 3 I will once more, with Semper-Fi, write a Preview AAR. This will hopefully help you through the last few days you'll have to wait for the release of this much anticipated add-on and perhaps convince you to buy/pre-order, or not.
Of course the couple of days left aren't enough to highlight every new aspect and put the new AI thoroughly to the test but let's try to find out as much as we can.

Ever since the release of HOI2 I have been shouting for a May 1940 scenario as, in my opinion, this is the moment it all really got interesting. Playing from 1936 is all nice and well and of course the '36 scenario is the most played but that way we won't see enough in the couple of days left before release. Hence we'll fight for France commanding the BEF (British Expeditionary Forces) and the Royal Navy.
A very good way of seeing how the defensive -French and Belgian (the Dutch will surrender after a couple of days anyways ;) ) - and offensive -Ze Germans - handle their troops, objectives and this massive battle in general.

Apart from the important AI there are many other things to focus on:
  • Achievements and scenario objectives
  • The new interface options: theater edit, on screen-OOB (cool!), naval mapmode
  • The new supply system
  • New unit options, tech etc.
  • Game speed
  • Anything else you want to see
If time permits we will also re-visit the Barabrossa scenario from the original HOI3 Beta-AAR and see what has changed AI and gameplay wise.

All I can say now, enjoy!

2d0cpwk.jpg

Last edited:
€: Cant we visit the Barabarossa scenario immediatly? :(

I have been waiting to play the first days of may 1940 for years. Sorry, no, we can't.....;)