• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.

unmerged(81995)

Major
8 Badges
Aug 10, 2007
  • Hearts of Iron Anthology
  • Arsenal of Democracy
  • Europa Universalis III
  • Hearts of Iron III Collection
  • King Arthur II
  • Majesty 2
  • Victoria 2: A House Divided
  • Victoria 2 A House Divided Beta
I am an EU/HOI/Victoria veteran but never bothered buying EU II. The AAR is from my third game started in EU III Gold v 1.3 without modifications. Its main purpose is to serve as a kind of tutorial for newbies - I found the tutorial coming with the game not too helpful. This justifies the choice of Burgundy as one of the 6 western European main powers from that time period (the others being England, Austria, France, Castille and Portugal).

Burgundy is a good choice for a newbie and at the same time a challenge.
Plus: Country is rich in taxes, starts with a good monarch and really decent choices for advisors, a textile manufactury and an university for bonusses on government and production research, a trade center. Access to the noth sea from the start.
Minus: Country is separated into two not connected parts, capital does not have sea access therefore unable to colonize from scratch, sea access via waters controlled by England and France, tight manpower compared to France, buffer state between German minors ripe for force unification by Austria/France/Poland, lots of English and France cores thus bound for the inevitable "keep the core" wars, fully decentralized considerably raising stability recovery costs (and time).

Start date: 1473 instead of 1453. Why? The tech achievements (notably land tech 2) could most likely not be accomplished starting 1453. With Liege and Friesland 2 more provinces are already Burgundian lands. The AI choice for Conscripts as the first national idea makes up for the lack of manpower nicely.