• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.

Languish

Fighting the Boredom
Apr 17, 2002
www.twitter.com
Burgundy
EU2 1.09 (Mac) - AGCEEP 1.51

I've been undertaking and completing mostly EU1 AAR's prior to this one recently. However, EU1 is all but dead in the water with regards to AAR's, so i have decided to finally play and write an EU2 AAR. I am not very good at EU2 so i chose a nation i felt would suit my tastes and playing style. I knew i would fail amazingly with a minor, and also i didn't want an 'easy' major power, so i chose a power i considered to be a reasonable compromise. I also knew that the AGCEEP team had done some good work on this. I also love the idea of a surviving (and indeed, thriving) Burgundian kingdom. Anyway my broad aims are as follows.

• Create the foundations for a strong and reasonable sized Burgundian kingdom. No WC as such but no three province thing either...
  • Never 'become' France.
  • Undertake at least a little colonisation.
  • Win the game on VP's (if possible)

Hopefully it won't be too boring to read... i don't write narrative and try to keep a clean and organised AAR. Some people might dislike that - but i'm hoping most will appreciate the screenshots at least.

Last edited:
Part 1. Dynastic Struggle.

Burgundy in 1419 was a well suited nation to take advantage of the chaos occuring in what is now France. The greatest threats to Burgundy were both France itself, to the north, and the southern realms of Dauphiné. It wasn't long before a brief war was fought and a stalemate achieved (Fig.1). For a short moment it seemed that Burgundy was doomed to failure when the chance to inherit the realms of France presented itself (Fig.2). Burgundy was transformed from a greatly weakened duchy to a significant kingdom in Northern France.