• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.

unmerged(31261)

The White Rose of York
Jun 28, 2004
I’ve read with great enjoyment and admiration the works of Eber, Frogbeastegg, Earl Uhtred and others in this AAR forum and I have decided to give it a go myself. This is my first attempt, so please bear with me if it’s too detailed, not detailed enough, too fast, too slow, whatever. All feedback gratefully received. If someone can tell me how to take and include screenshots I’ll try and include them in later updates.

I’m still relatively new to CK, but I think I’ve got the hang of the game mechanics now. My first two games crashed without recovery, so this story is based upon my third game. I’m playing as Flanders in 1337 scenario on normal/normal. The Duchy is small (4 province demesne) with only 1 heir and no vassals, so survival seems to be the immediate objective. I’m writing as I go along, so if I don’t succeed, it will be a short AAR! The events are as they happened in the game, although I have taken some liberties with the timing in some cases to suit the story. I hope you enjoy reading it and I’ll try and update regularly. :)

CHAPTER 1 MEET THE FAMILY

The man in the fur-trimmed cloak winced as the full force of a North Sea gale slammed into him as he left the church. Winter in Bruges was certainly not for the faint-hearted, and not for the first time Louis wondered how much responsibility the weather shouldered for his impoverished circumstances and reduced court.