• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.

unmerged(5371)

Recruit
Aug 16, 2001
Visit site
This is my first attempt at an AAR, and actually my first post on the forum as well, but I'll try to do a good job on this. So here I go.

Ivan III: The First Five Years

treasury: 200 ducats

I arrived at the council meeting ten minutes early, only to find that the debate had started without me. As I walked through the door, the Lord Admiral Raliminov and the commanding general of the army Striga-Obelenski were yelling, red faced, as was their usual procedure. The Grand Duke was seated at the table, low in his chair, annoyed by their conflict. It was he, after all, who needed to be convinced.

"Dmitri Makarov!" said the duke gleefully, "Finally, a sane man!" He stood up and came to greet me. As I shook his hand, the general and the admiral stopped bickering, and sat down. It was time to get to business.

"So I see we've begun discussing the issue of military funding already," I began. "We must decide if it is in our best interest to continue naval resear..."

"We cannot prevent ourselves from combating the enemy at sea," interupted the admiral.

"Men without coasts have no ships," chimed in General Striga-Obelinski.

The Grand Duke silenced them both. "There will be no funding for such research. Next topic for discussion."

I glanced at my notes, and, knowing another fight would break out, skipped expansion. The Lord Admiral had set his mind on gaining a seacoast on the Baltic, with the General greatly decided to move south, on Kazan. I myself favored both approaches, yet desired time alone with the Grand Duke to discuss a more global strategy. Thus, expansion would wait until the February council meeting. "Next up is internal improvement. Nabakov?"