• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.

unmerged(4341)

Recruit
Jun 11, 2001
drive.to
Well, I'm new to this sort of thing... and the first update will be a bit sparse because I wasn't taking notes right away. Furthermore, the attachment to historical accuracy is tenuous at best - I know nothing of Navarra.

The year is 1492. The tiny kingdom of Navarra lay between the nations of France and Spain. Life for the citizens of San Sebastian sucked.

Even Prince Anaconia was unhappy. For a prince, he sure didn't have much. He had only 30 royal servants. This displeased him. He heard that Ferdinand of Spain had that many "ladies" of the court! This infuriated the good prince even more - he had courted fair Isabella as a young man, only to lose her (and her kingdom) to that swine Ferdinand.

He vowed revenge.

1492 - Prince Anaconia has 500 ducats to his name. This is the most the treasury would see for some time.

1493 - Prince Anaconia, in his infinite wisdom (and paranoia) asked that the fortifications be raised "to level 2." Unsure of what this means, the royal engineers simply make the walls as high as they can.

1494 - Merchants are quickly draining the treasury but the Prince insists they will soon give a good return on the investment.

1495 - It is clear that the kingdom is poor. 10 ducats a year income just isn't going to cut it.

1496 - The Prince has married off his young daughter Natalia to a French prince. A most profitable alliance with France, the Papacy, Savoy, and Brittany is forged.

1497 - The Prince eyes the Spanish province of Euskadia with envy. He calls out the royal troop for an assault. Navarra declares war on Spain. England chooses not to side with Spain, no doubt in fear of the French. Naples, Milan, and strangely the heathen Persians declare war on Navarra, but the Prince could not care less.