• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.

ItaloCelt

Sergeant
2 Badges
Nov 30, 2014
  • Hearts of Iron III
  • Hearts of Iron III: Their Finest Hour
Hello,

I'm new to Hearts of Iron 3 and am just getting the hang of the game.

I was wondering if anyone could provide some tips / advice on how exactly to align with or join the Axis as Ireland in Single Player?

I've gotten to the point where I could offer an alliance to Italy (not Germany yet) as the neutrality is below 25 but, when I attempt to do so it says "impossible."

What do I have to do in order to align with the Axis? What exactly am I supposed to do after I go to Germany in Diplomacy and click on "Align with faction" in order for it to work? Every time after I do that, several "days" (in the game) later it says I was able to align with the faction ...

Can anyone explain how exactly to do this to a beginner at Hearts of Iron 3?

Thanks. Any help is much appreciated.

Another example, when I go to Germany in Diplomacy, it says "Our alignment needs to be less than 50.00 from the Axis. Our alignment towards them is currently 226.18"

How would I go about getting the alignment less than 50.00?

All diplomatic actions in HoI3 costs diplomatic points. Aligning to a faction is a special diplomatic action which also cost diplomatic points over time (2 per day).
To get diplomatic points go to research screen and set diplomatic slider to right. Doing so will allocate leadership points giving you 0.5 diplo points per leadership point per day.
Although remember there are also other uses for leadership points: research, recruiting spies and recruiting officers.

Also I don't think playing Axis Ireland as your first country is a good idea. You will be probably roflstomped by UK pretty fast.

What that means is you're moving towards Germany, but are not close enough yet to join the Axis.