+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Achievements disabled - what does this message mean

  1. #1
    Aged micromanager frunobulax's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis 3For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the Throne
    Europa Universalis III: In NomineEuropa Universalis: RomeSemper FiVictoria 2Rome: Vae Victis
    500k club

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Olde London Town
    Posts
    29

    Achievements disabled - what does this message mean

    Playing my first game (single player mode), saved the initial start and quit after a long time browsing around etc. Later when I was about to reload the save I saw this message.. "Save game belongs to another user or is edited. Achievements will be disabled". What does it mean? What achievements is it referring to?

    Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-08-13 at 23.36.27.png
Views:	115
Size:	3.31 MB
ID:	87865
    "At 20 years of age the will reigns, at 30 the wit, at 40 the judgment" - Benjamin Franklin (1706 - 1790); US author, diplomat, inventor, physicist, politician, & printer.
    Chronology of strategy gaming addiction: Civilization II (1998), Civ III (2002), Europa Universalis II (2002), Hearts of Iron (2003), Victoria (2003), Crusader Kings (2005), HOI 2 (2005), Doomsday (2006), Revolutions (2007), Civ IV/Warlords (2007), Armageddon (2007), Europa Universalis III / Napoleon's Ambition / In Nomine (2007), Deus Vult (2008), Rome (2008), Civ IV Beyond the Sword (2009), Civ IV Colonization (2010), EU3 Heir to the Throne (2010), Victoria 2 (2012), Civ V (2012), Hearts of Iron 3/TFH (2012/3), Crusader Kings 2 (2013), Civ V BNW (2013), Europa Universalis IV (2013)
    iMac 2.7GHz Intel Core i5 | Mac OS 10.8 | 4Gb RAM | Radeon HD 6770M 512MB VRAM

  2. #2
    Settsu no Kami Sakura's Avatar
    Cities in MotionCrusader Kings IICommander: Conquest of the AmericasDarkest HourEast India Company Collection
    EU3 CompleteDivine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest Hour
    Heir to the ThroneLeviathan: WarshipsMagickaNaval War: Arctic CirclePirates of Black Cove
    Europa Universalis: RomeSemper FiSengokuThe Showdown EffectVictoria 2
    Victoria II: A House DividedRome: Vae VictisWar of the RosesEU3 Collectors Edition500k club
    Europa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Osaka, Japan
    Posts
    1,170
    Steam achievements.

  3. #3
    Aged micromanager frunobulax's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis 3For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the Throne
    Europa Universalis III: In NomineEuropa Universalis: RomeSemper FiVictoria 2Rome: Vae Victis
    500k club

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Olde London Town
    Posts
    29
    So why am I getting this message? I mean, I haven't edited the game and I'm the only user? (Not that I care about Steam achievements anyway).
    "At 20 years of age the will reigns, at 30 the wit, at 40 the judgment" - Benjamin Franklin (1706 - 1790); US author, diplomat, inventor, physicist, politician, & printer.
    Chronology of strategy gaming addiction: Civilization II (1998), Civ III (2002), Europa Universalis II (2002), Hearts of Iron (2003), Victoria (2003), Crusader Kings (2005), HOI 2 (2005), Doomsday (2006), Revolutions (2007), Civ IV/Warlords (2007), Armageddon (2007), Europa Universalis III / Napoleon's Ambition / In Nomine (2007), Deus Vult (2008), Rome (2008), Civ IV Beyond the Sword (2009), Civ IV Colonization (2010), EU3 Heir to the Throne (2010), Victoria 2 (2012), Civ V (2012), Hearts of Iron 3/TFH (2012/3), Crusader Kings 2 (2013), Civ V BNW (2013), Europa Universalis IV (2013)
    iMac 2.7GHz Intel Core i5 | Mac OS 10.8 | 4Gb RAM | Radeon HD 6770M 512MB VRAM

  4. #4
    Second Lieutenant Turak's Avatar
    200k clubA Game of DwarvesHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IIDeus Vult
    Europa Universalis 3Divine WindHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In Nomine
    EU3 Napoleon's AmbitionVictoria: RevolutionsEuropa Universalis: RomeSword of the Stars IIVictoria 2
    Rome: Vae VictisMount & Blade: Warband

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    England
    Posts
    131
    Carrying on from that question, I have the same message on my save games, but I haven't done anything to screw with the save, and I don't know what the whole save game belongs to another user means, does that mean steam user? Or is it because I haven't been saving the game onto the cloud?

    Turak

  5. #5
    Achievments only work in ironman. It would probably be nice if the message just said that instead of accusing you of cheating.
    Come play Werewolf! Make new friends, then murder them!

  6. #6
    I think you need to play iron man mode to unlock achievments.

  7. #7
    Lt. General Meanmanturbo's Avatar
    Arsenal of DemocracyHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IICommander: Conquest of the AmericasDarkest Hour
    Deus VultEuropa Universalis 3Divine WindFor The GloryFor the Motherland
    Hearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In NomineMajesty II Collection
    March of the EaglesEU3 Napoleon's AmbitionVictoria: RevolutionsRome GoldSemper Fi
    SengokuSupreme Ruler 2020Victoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness
    Mount & Blade: WarbandMount & Blade: With Fire and SwordCK2: Holy Knight500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Town of the Vikings
    Posts
    1,501
    Achievements were for ironman only i think. Wast it an ironman game?
    I alone have the right to use my avatar!

    See the proof

  8. #8
    Field Marshal Illanair's Avatar
    A Game of DwarvesCities in MotionCrusader Kings IISword of the StarsSword of the Stars II
    War of the RosesV2 BetaKnights of Pen and Paper +1 Edition500k clubEUIV: Call to arms event
    Warlock 2: The Exiled

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Vikingland (Denmark)
    Posts
    5,180
    Quote Originally Posted by frunobulax View Post
    So why am I getting this message? I mean, I haven't edited the game and I'm the only user? (Not that I care about Steam achievements anyway).
    As I recall it is a bug - It should go away if you run an integrity check and restart Steam (You'll still need to run Ironman mode to actually unlock them though)
    I also go by Mansen in the Steam groups.

    "I understand making a converter takes effort [...] should be free!!
    Maybe the game studio "Paradox" is named in honor of its fans.

  9. #9
    Aged micromanager frunobulax's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis 3For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the Throne
    Europa Universalis III: In NomineEuropa Universalis: RomeSemper FiVictoria 2Rome: Vae Victis
    500k club

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Olde London Town
    Posts
    29
    Quote Originally Posted by Cymsdale View Post
    Achievments only work in ironman. It would probably be nice if the message just said that instead of accusing you of cheating.
    Yes, it would!

    Quote Originally Posted by Meanmanturbo View Post
    Achievements were for ironman only i think. Wast it an ironman game?
    No, it wasn't an Ironman game, just a normal basic start.

    Well, that solves that issue anyway. Thanks for the replies!
    "At 20 years of age the will reigns, at 30 the wit, at 40 the judgment" - Benjamin Franklin (1706 - 1790); US author, diplomat, inventor, physicist, politician, & printer.
    Chronology of strategy gaming addiction: Civilization II (1998), Civ III (2002), Europa Universalis II (2002), Hearts of Iron (2003), Victoria (2003), Crusader Kings (2005), HOI 2 (2005), Doomsday (2006), Revolutions (2007), Civ IV/Warlords (2007), Armageddon (2007), Europa Universalis III / Napoleon's Ambition / In Nomine (2007), Deus Vult (2008), Rome (2008), Civ IV Beyond the Sword (2009), Civ IV Colonization (2010), EU3 Heir to the Throne (2010), Victoria 2 (2012), Civ V (2012), Hearts of Iron 3/TFH (2012/3), Crusader Kings 2 (2013), Civ V BNW (2013), Europa Universalis IV (2013)
    iMac 2.7GHz Intel Core i5 | Mac OS 10.8 | 4Gb RAM | Radeon HD 6770M 512MB VRAM

  10. #10
    It's probably just because the game isn't in ironman mode, but the message is the same as the one from EU3.
    -Ruanek

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts