+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 79

Thread: Victoria 2 - Heart of Darkness Release FAQ

  1. #1
    Community Manager
    On vacation! Not taking PM's :)
    Administrator BjornB's Avatar
    EUIV: Wealth of NationsEUIV: Conquest of Paradise

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    The lions den, Paradox Interactive HQ
    Posts
    2,770
    Blog Entries
    5

    Exclamation Victoria 2 - Heart of Darkness Release FAQ

    Hello!

    So Heart of Darkness is now available to play and here is some useful information for you all! (link to pre-order thread)

    - The correct checksum for GG and steam version is SPRK and version number is 3.01. If your copy does not display this info, please reinstall the game. Verify game cache, Delete local cache and you may have to remove mods you are currently running.
    - If you installed the Steam version of HoD and the game won't start. Verify game cache to ensure you downloaded the expansion properly.
    - There are two versions of Victoria 2, Steam and Other retailers (including physical copies).
    - Amazon (and possibly other retailers) is currently selling the "Other" version of Victoria 2 and A House Divided while distributing the Steam version of Heart of Darkness. If you received the wrong version of HoD compared to your base game. Please contact the retailer where you purchased HoD, ask for a refund and get the appropriate version elsewhere.
    - Purchases directly from Steam will become active later tonight (aprox 7pm CET).
    - Steam and Paradox Webshop sell the Steam version of HoD, Gamersgate sells the "Other" version. Check with other retailers which specific key they are selling before purchasing.
    - To register on the forums you need the CD key which is displayed through your retailer. Do not confuse with the Steam code which is not the same thing.
    - There is currently no Mac-version of Victoria 2 (and therefore not for HoD either). If a Mac version is released, we will announce this at a later time.

    For technical assistance, bug reports etc. Please use the appropriate subforums!

    Victoria 2: Heart of Darkness announcement (link)

  2. #2
    Community Manager
    On vacation! Not taking PM's :)
    Administrator BjornB's Avatar
    EUIV: Wealth of NationsEUIV: Conquest of Paradise

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    The lions den, Paradox Interactive HQ
    Posts
    2,770
    Blog Entries
    5
    *reserved*

  3. #3
    Infamy: 39/30 Sn3ipen's Avatar
    Cities in Motion 2Crusader Kings IIDeus VultEU3 CompleteDivine Wind
    Heir to the ThroneMagickaRome GoldVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided
    Victoria II: Heart of DarknessRome: Vae VictisMount & Blade: WarbandWarlock: Master of the ArcaneMount & Blade: With Fire and Sword
    CK2: Holy Knight500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-orderEUIV: Wealth of NationsEUIV: Conquest of Paradise

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Tromsø, Norway @69°North
    Posts
    993
    What's the reason for not having the ability to pre-order on Steam? I have a gift card that I intended to use for this purchase. I am not complaining. Just asking.

  4. #4
    Question: Will there be a Mac Version of HoD?
    Could not find any information about this.
    Thanks

  5. #5
    Arnoldson Fnordgren Demi Moderator RedRalphWiggum's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    15,375
    Quote Originally Posted by FreddyFelsen View Post
    Question: Will there be a Mac Version of HoD?
    Could not find any information about this.
    Thanks
    Read the OP my friend

  6. #6
    Community Manager
    On vacation! Not taking PM's :)
    Administrator BjornB's Avatar
    EUIV: Wealth of NationsEUIV: Conquest of Paradise

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    The lions den, Paradox Interactive HQ
    Posts
    2,770
    Blog Entries
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Sn3ipen View Post
    What's the reason for not having the ability to pre-order on Steam? I have a gift card that I intended to use for this purchase. I am not complaining. Just asking.
    That would be the decision of our sales department. I do not know the exact reasoning behind this, but can only say there is none (as you already knew). I will see if I can get an explanation why it is this way.

  7. #7
    Teddy Nickjbor's Avatar
    Cities in Motion 2Crusader Kings IIDarkest HourDeus VultEuropa Universalis 3
    EU3 CompleteDivine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest Hour
    Heir to the ThroneLeviathan: WarshipsVictoria: RevolutionsSemper FiSengoku
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of DarknessWarlock: Master of the ArcaneKnights of Pen and Paper +1 Edition
    500k clubEuropa Universalis IVWarlock 2: The ExiledEUIV: Conquest of Paradise

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Province of Ontario
    Posts
    1,951
    Blog Entries
    8
    Is there a changelog?
    I'm Teddy. I go by that name everywhere.

    Currently active AAR: I Surrender! A Teddy HoI3 France AAR

    Quote of the Month - July (Fishman786) "The whole 'Alexander the Great' thing just seems like some silly story written by a bad CK2 AAR author."

    Also see; Teddy's a totally fair and unbiased look at Portugal - an EU4 AAR
    Check out my best AAR - A Console Story an multigame series! Currently: EU4

  8. #8
    Field Marshal No idea's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteDivine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron III
    HOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the ThroneMarch of the EaglesSemper FiVictoria 2
    Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of DarknessMount & Blade: Warband500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere around the Universe...
    Posts
    2,783
    Damn, my checksum is not the one stated in the first post¡

  9. #9
    Hi there,
    same issue as some people I have read in other posts (HoD startup crash), I have Vicky II, AHD and HoD off gamersgate and HoD won't work. I tried deleting the cache (it didnt work) and uninstalled/reinstalled twice now, that won't do anything I still get "v2game.exe has stopped working" after everything seems to be loaded up.

    AHD works fine when installed on top of Vicky2 , only HoD seems to be messing up.

    Any idea/suggestion ? (except cache and reinstall obviously)

  10. #10
    While you're talking to the sales guys, ask them why it's never been in the "Coming Soon" list on Steam, or being advertised as a new release at all.

    I swear, sometimes it's like Paradox doesn't want money.

  11. #11
    (ErrantPilot34) JoIsChuck's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis: ChroniclesHearts of Iron IIIVictoria 2

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Texas, United States
    Posts
    30
    So, I'm still confused with the "other" version ordeal...I bought V2 and AHD and all the sprite packs off of the Gamestop Online Store named "Impulse"...how would I buy HoD if Impulse doesn't even have it on there?
    Location: Texas
    Nationality: American (Texan)
    Religion: Agnostic
    Ideology: Progressive
    Issues: Interventionism, Free Trade, Full Citizenship, Pacifism, Secularism, Universal Healthcare, Rights of Man
    Current Work: N/A
    Cash Reserves: $...I think I got 4 bucks on me?
    Revolt Risk: 0 (+0.001)
    Militancy: 0 (+0.001)
    Consciousness: 5 (+0.02)

  12. #12
    Is there any chance of a Victoria 2 sale when HoD launches on steam?

    I've been waiting with picking up vicky 2 until it comes on sale

    I would have purchased it if I could prepurchase HoD on steam but that didn't happen :\

  13. #13
    I'm confused. I own a Mac version of Victoria II. Am I missing something?

  14. #14
    Sergeant CompactDisc's Avatar
    A Game of DwarvesCities in MotionCities in Motion 2Crusader Kings IIEast India Company Collection
    Europa Universalis 3Divine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest Hour
    Heir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In NomineLeviathan: WarshipsMarch of the EaglesRome Gold
    Semper FiSengokuSword of the Stars IIVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided
    Victoria II: Heart of DarknessWar of the Roses500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-orderEUIV: Wealth of Nations
    EUIV: Conquest of Paradise

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    75
    Quote Originally Posted by JoIsChuck View Post
    So, I'm still confused with the "other" version ordeal...I bought V2 and AHD and all the sprite packs off of the Gamestop Online Store named "Impulse"...how would I buy HoD if Impulse doesn't even have it on there?
    I'm kinda wondering the same things, bought it off Impulse back in the day too, but GameStop is no longer mentioned.
    “The People Who Are Crazy Enough to Think They Can Change the World, Are the Ones Who Do.” - Steve Jobs

  15. #15
    Essentailly the deal is as follows:
    The steam version will only work with steam. If you bought Vic 2/AHD on steam, you need the steam HoD. Likewise, the steam HoD will only work with theVic 2/AHD from steam.

    The Gamersgate will work with Vic 2 from Gamersgate, the physical boxed version and from other non-steam versions.

    If you're uncertain which version you have, ask yourself the following questions:
    1) Is steam on your PC? If not, you probably don't have the steam version.
    2) If steam is on your PC, is Victoria 2 in your steam library, and is this the version you're using?

  16. #16
    Field Marshal calvinhobbeslik's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis: ChroniclesVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness
    500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-orderEUIV: Call to arms eventEUIV: Wealth of NationsEUIV: Conquest of Paradise
    EUIV: Res Publica

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    6,137
    Will Amazon sell the nonsteam version at some point?

  17. #17
    Field Marshal Illanair's Avatar
    A Game of DwarvesCities in MotionCrusader Kings IISword of the StarsSword of the Stars II
    War of the RosesV2 BetaKnights of Pen and Paper +1 Edition500k clubEUIV: Call to arms event
    Warlock 2: The Exiled

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Vikingland (Denmark)
    Posts
    5,516
    Quote Originally Posted by Nickjbor View Post
    Is there a changelog?
    There's a big manual already released (There's a thread about it here if you search )

    Quote Originally Posted by No idea View Post
    Damn, my checksum is not the one stated in the first post¡
    If you're on Steam simply "Verify Integrity of game cache" in the game properties. If not... err... I actually don't know the other distributors well enough to answer that.

    Quote Originally Posted by Emperorheinrich View Post
    I'm confused. I own a Mac version of Victoria II. Am I missing something?
    I think Bjorn is a bit confused - There are currently no plans for a HOD port (Paradox weren't in charge of the previous ports of Vicky 2 - so it isn't a surefire thing right now)

  18. #18
    Infamy: 39/30 Sn3ipen's Avatar
    Cities in Motion 2Crusader Kings IIDeus VultEU3 CompleteDivine Wind
    Heir to the ThroneMagickaRome GoldVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided
    Victoria II: Heart of DarknessRome: Vae VictisMount & Blade: WarbandWarlock: Master of the ArcaneMount & Blade: With Fire and Sword
    CK2: Holy Knight500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-orderEUIV: Wealth of NationsEUIV: Conquest of Paradise

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Tromsø, Norway @69°North
    Posts
    993
    Quote Originally Posted by LordofTurtles View Post
    Is there any chance of a Victoria 2 sale when HoD launches on steam?

    I've been waiting with picking up vicky 2 until it comes on sale

    I would have purchased it if I could prepurchase HoD on steam but that didn't happen :\
    Viccky2 is currently -75% off at Paradox WebStore. That's a steam version of the game.

  19. #19
    I don't know whether this question is appropriate but I'm very curious to know, whether you will attach original classical music pieces in games like Victoria, as you did e.g. in Victoria I or HOI I. (Maybe as DLC?)
    Thanks in advance

  20. #20
    Quote Originally Posted by No idea View Post
    Damn, my checksum is not the one stated in the first post¡
    Like Illanair said, verifying your files (if using Steam) might work. Also, for me it showed wrong checksum when I started HOD up first time, but correct one after that.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts