+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Light Fighter upgrade bug

  1. #1
    Field Marshal
    For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourSemper Fi

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Silesia
    Posts
    4,871

    Light Fighter upgrade bug

    Hey, Iīve upgraded my Light Figher (it was suspicious, cause I didnīt research ANYTHING of air techs)... The thing is that I can upgrade my LF without any effect...
    "Write a narration", they said.
    "Get more views", they said.
    "It'll drain your time", they didn't say.


    You're nuts! Ikar has made his own inkwell!

    15/04/2013 & 10/7/2014 - Fan of the Week (KLorberau & Belgiumruler)

  2. #2
    Master of Orion delra's Avatar
    Commander: Conquest of the Americas

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    24,719
    Blog Entries
    98
    I don't understand what you mean.
    “Those people who think they know everything are a great annoyance to those of us who do.”

  3. #3
    I suspect he is talking about the unit upgrade feature which might be modded (the unit_upgrades.txt). Since he didn't research anything, the upgrade did not change anything.
    The Historical Plausibility Project for Hearts of Iron 3, Hearts of Iron 3: Semper Fi and Hearts of Iron 3: For the Motherland

  4. #4
    Field Marshal
    For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourSemper Fi

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Silesia
    Posts
    4,871
    Pretty much as Nephandus said... Itīs just a minor issue, but it consumes your IC for no reason...
    "Write a narration", they said.
    "Get more views", they said.
    "It'll drain your time", they didn't say.


    You're nuts! Ikar has made his own inkwell!

    15/04/2013 & 10/7/2014 - Fan of the Week (KLorberau & Belgiumruler)

  5. #5
    Heading to the DANGER ZONE... Wraith11B's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteDivine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron III
    HOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the ThroneMagickaSemper FiSword of the Stars
    Sword of the Stars IIVictoria 2500k club

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia, United States
    Posts
    1,471
    Check the level of the INT. It might have just gone from Level I to Level II, and not from INT to, say, FTR.

  6. #6
    Field Marshal
    For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourSemper Fi

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Silesia
    Posts
    4,871
    Nope, Iīm sure I didnīt research any techs before, not even after upgrade... When I upgrade the LFTR, the upgrade icon was still there... It was upgrade from LFTR to LFTR...
    "Write a narration", they said.
    "Get more views", they said.
    "It'll drain your time", they didn't say.


    You're nuts! Ikar has made his own inkwell!

    15/04/2013 & 10/7/2014 - Fan of the Week (KLorberau & Belgiumruler)

  7. #7
    Well.... even if you had researched any tech... it wouldn't do too much good since the fighter components upgrade themselves if you allocate IC to upgrades.
    Using the unit upgrade function is normally used to allow changes of unit types.

    So technically it is not a bug, it is only a superfluous change to the unit_upgrade.txt
    The Historical Plausibility Project for Hearts of Iron 3, Hearts of Iron 3: Semper Fi and Hearts of Iron 3: For the Motherland

  8. #8
    Covert Mastermind Demi Moderator Secret Master's Avatar
    200k clubAchtung PanzerCrusader Kings IICommander: Conquest of the AmericasDeus Vult
    Europa Universalis 3Divine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHearts of Iron III Collection
    Heir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In NomineThe Kings CrusadeMagickaMarch of the Eagles
    EU3 Napoleon's AmbitionVictoria: RevolutionsEuropa Universalis: RomeSemper FiSengoku
    Ship Simulator ExtremesSword of the Stars IIVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness
    Rome: Vae VictisMount & Blade: WarbandWarlock: Master of the ArcaneMount & Blade: With Fire and SwordPride of Nations
    CK2: Holy Knight500k clubEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    It's a secret, duh...
    Posts
    15,975
    What mod does light fighter come from? I don't recognize it.
    All Hail Him,

    The Secret Master

    Note: If I write a post in this hideous color, I am speaking as a Demi-Moderator. Paying attention is strongly advised.

  9. #9
    Field Marshal
    For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourSemper Fi

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Silesia
    Posts
    4,871
    Quote Originally Posted by Secret Master View Post
    What mod does light fighter come from? I don't recognize it.
    Iīm using HPP...
    "Write a narration", they said.
    "Get more views", they said.
    "It'll drain your time", they didn't say.


    You're nuts! Ikar has made his own inkwell!

    15/04/2013 & 10/7/2014 - Fan of the Week (KLorberau & Belgiumruler)

  10. #10
    Colonel GarfunkeL's Avatar
    For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourVictoria: RevolutionsSemper Fi

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    967
    Yes, next time tell us that you're using a mod to begin with. HPP allows you to manually upgrade planes into different types, as well as subs and destroyers into better models. Because this is a timeconsuming progress, it isn't done automatically but requires you to click that upgrade button.

    Unfortunately for you, the way the mechanics are, means that it is entirely possible to upgrade from your current model into the exact same current model, thus wasting IC. You just have to be careful!

  11. #11
    Field Marshal
    For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourSemper Fi

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Silesia
    Posts
    4,871
    Quote Originally Posted by GarfunkeL View Post
    Yes, next time tell us that you're using a mod to begin with. HPP allows you to manually upgrade planes into different types, as well as subs and destroyers into better models. Because this is a timeconsuming progress, it isn't done automatically but requires you to click that upgrade button.

    Unfortunately for you, the way the mechanics are, means that it is entirely possible to upgrade from your current model into the exact same current model, thus wasting IC. You just have to be careful!
    Ok, Iīll take my time next time then...
    "Write a narration", they said.
    "Get more views", they said.
    "It'll drain your time", they didn't say.


    You're nuts! Ikar has made his own inkwell!

    15/04/2013 & 10/7/2014 - Fan of the Week (KLorberau & Belgiumruler)

  12. #12
    I wonder which version of HPP... I just checked the latest files we published.

    The Interceptor (which is the light fighter) can upgrade to rocket interceptor, multirole (which is the heavy fighter) and the jet interceptor.... but not to itself
    The Historical Plausibility Project for Hearts of Iron 3, Hearts of Iron 3: Semper Fi and Hearts of Iron 3: For the Motherland

  13. #13
    Field Marshal
    For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourSemper Fi

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Silesia
    Posts
    4,871
    Fuh, I guess itīs a one big mystery then... Probably Iīve failed some re-writing of files or maybe bad removeal of files after some unistallation...
    "Write a narration", they said.
    "Get more views", they said.
    "It'll drain your time", they didn't say.


    You're nuts! Ikar has made his own inkwell!

    15/04/2013 & 10/7/2014 - Fan of the Week (KLorberau & Belgiumruler)

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by Ikarases View Post
    Fuh, I guess itīs a one big mystery then... Probably Iīve failed some re-writing of files or maybe bad removeal of files after some unistallation...
    Easy thing.... open the file unit_upgrades.txt in mod\hpp\common

    If the Interceptor is base and target in one block, delete that one.
    The Historical Plausibility Project for Hearts of Iron 3, Hearts of Iron 3: Semper Fi and Hearts of Iron 3: For the Motherland

  15. #15
    Field Marshal
    For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourSemper Fi

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Silesia
    Posts
    4,871
    Quote Originally Posted by Nephandus View Post
    Easy thing.... open the file unit_upgrades.txt in mod\hpp\common

    If the Interceptor is base and target in one block, delete that one.
    Strange...

    upgrade =
    {
    base = interceptor
    target = rocket_interceptor
    }
    upgrade =
    {
    base = interceptor
    target = multi_role
    }
    upgrade =
    {
    base = interceptor
    target = jet_int
    }
    # Rocket Interceptor
    upgrade =
    {
    base = rocket_interceptor
    target = interceptor
    }
    # Multi-Role Fighter
    upgrade =
    {
    base = multi_role
    target = interceptor
    }
    upgrade =
    {
    base = multi_role
    target = jet_mr
    }
    "Write a narration", they said.
    "Get more views", they said.
    "It'll drain your time", they didn't say.


    You're nuts! Ikar has made his own inkwell!

    15/04/2013 & 10/7/2014 - Fan of the Week (KLorberau & Belgiumruler)

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts