+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 93

Thread: Do you name your armies?

  1. #21
    Podcat's Cat Wrangler T.j. Arnold's Avatar
    50 games registered

    50

    HoI AnthologyArsenal of DemocracyHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IIDarkest Hour
    DiplomacyDungeonlandEast India CompanyEast India Company CollectionElven Legacy Collection
    Europa Universalis 3Europa Universalis: ChroniclesEU3 CompleteDivine WindFor The Glory
    For the MotherlandGalactic AssaultHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the Throne
    Europa Universalis III: In NomineIron CrossLeviathan: WarshipsLost Empire - ImmortalsMagicka
    Majesty 2EU3 Napoleon's AmbitionPenumbra - Black PlagueVictoria: RevolutionsEuropa Universalis: Rome
    Rome GoldSemper FiSengokuSword of the StarsSupreme Ruler 2020 Gold
    Supreme Ruler: Cold WarThe Showdown EffectVictoria 2Rome: Vae VictisMount & Blade: Warband
    Warlock: Master of the ArcaneMount & Blade: With Fire and SwordWar of the RosesV2 AHD BetaHearts of Iron: The Card Game
    Pride of NationsCK2: Holy Knight500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-orderEUIV: Call to arms event

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    3,201
    Blog Entries
    6
    I do until around the 1870's, than there are so many units that it becomes such a hassle.
    "Telling people "how it's done" is rather condescending, especially if you have no idea what their background is." - Had a dad

    How to install and play Darkest Hour on a Macintosh computer!

    Don't lose your cool. This is a great forum, and there is no point in getting worked up over something pointless. There are two sides to everything.

  2. #22
    yes, i name them after which purpose they have. if I am to invade some country i name them for instance "Greek Invading Army" etc. It makes things more organized

  3. #23
    Quote Originally Posted by moldeh View Post
    I occasionally name them after male genitalia... should I feel bad?
    Do they get better penetration if you do?
    For every subtle and complicated question, there is a simple and straightforward answer, which is wrong.

    Creator of PDM:PoD for Heart of Darkness: http://forum.paradoxplaza.com/forum/...ownload-thread
    Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaand Creator of '1792' for March of the Eagles: http://forum.paradoxplaza.com/forum/...69074-1792-mod

  4. #24
    Captain OrangeOranges's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteDivine WindHeir to the ThroneVictoria 2
    Mount & Blade: WarbandWar of the Roses

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    327
    Quote Originally Posted by bnor780 View Post
    yes, i name them after which purpose they have. if I am to invade some country i name them for instance "Greek Invading Army" etc. It makes things more organized
    If only the AI could read that name, then you'd be screwed.
    The United Nations is the only place in the world where nations that deny their own citizens free speech, demand that they have it.

  5. #25
    Other than my Singapore Garrison, Suez Garrison, Panama Garrison, there's usually very little renaming of my armies. But it happens..

  6. #26
    Sergeant Sputmint's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDarkest HourEU3 CompleteDivine WindHearts of Iron III
    Heir to the ThroneMagickaMarch of the EaglesVictoria: RevolutionsSengoku
    Sword of the Stars IIThe Showdown EffectVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness
    Warlock: Master of the ArcaneWar of the Roses500k clubEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Salem, Oregon
    Posts
    94
    I only name mine when playing a multilayer game.

  7. #27
    Field Marshal calvinhobbeslik's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis: ChroniclesVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness
    500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-orderEUIV: Call to arms event

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    5,757
    When I have only a few armies, I name them geographically. For example, I was playing Egypt and had Army of Upper Syria, Army of Sudan, etc. (I also had an "Army of Depopulated Irregulars which was composed of irregulars I couldn't disband and replace with infantry). However, after colonising Africa, which involves moving troops everywhere and conquering the Middle East, my armies are no longer where they started.

    When I played Poland, I had a Polish Liberation Army and Navy.
    Location: San Francisco
    Nationality: Anglo-Indian
    Religion: Atheist
    Ideology: Democratic Socialism
    Issues: Interventionism, Free Trade, Full Citizenship, Anti-Military, Atheism, Excellent Health Care, Excellent Safety, Universal Suffrage,
    Current Work: Student
    Cash Reserves: £0
    Revolt Risk: +0
    Militancy: 3.14
    Consciousness: 10

  8. #28
    I usually name mine by location of where they will attack or defend. Aka, playing as France - Italian Legion, Prussian Legion I, Prussian Legion II, Paris Legion, Western Reserves, etc. It's more of a way of looking at unit list and knowing WHERE my units are than flavor.

  9. #29
    Sergeant KingFred's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Orient, Iowa, USA
    Posts
    98
    Playing as Prussia/Germany I always name them after whatever state they were raised in. "Brandenburg Korps," "Posen Korps," "Ostpreussen Korps," etc.
    Location: Iowa
    Nationality: Yankee
    Religion: Protestant
    Ideology: Conservative/Reactionary
    Issues: Laissez Faire, Free Trade, Limited Citizenship
    Pop: Bureaucrat
    Cash Reserves: $100
    Revolt Risk: +2
    Militancy: 5
    Consciousness: 10

  10. #30
    Oh, I really like to name my armies. Usually I give them "national" names. Example - playing as Germany, it's always "N. Korps". When I played Sweden -> Scandinavia, I named my armies such as "N. Svenska Armén", "N. Danske Hær", "N. Norge Hær", "N. Suomen Armeijan" (thanks to google translate). Plus colonial "N. Främlingslegionen" and such. I rarely use additional words, only if army has something uncommon with others - like capital army, or when all brigades are from the same city, or all brigades are the same national minority.

    The same happens to fleets. I used "Kriegsmarine", but this name has some Nazi specific, so then I switched to "Kaiserliche Marine". Apart from fleets I also like to give names to specific ships, because "5th Suez Cruiser" isn't really a cool name, "SMS Kaiser Wilhelm" is.

  11. #31
    Captain OrangeOranges's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteDivine WindHeir to the ThroneVictoria 2
    Mount & Blade: WarbandWar of the Roses

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    327
    Can you actually rename specific ships?
    The United Nations is the only place in the world where nations that deny their own citizens free speech, demand that they have it.

  12. #32
    Sergeant Hoosier_Jedi's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDivine WindHeir to the ThroneVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided
    Victoria II: Heart of Darkness500k clubEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    South Bend, Indiana
    Posts
    83
    No, it just seemed like too much bother.

  13. #33
    I usually name mine. For one, it's better for immersion, and if you're playing a populous country it gets hard to keep track of armies #1-35. I tend to name them after where they're headquartered (what province or region I keep them in during peacetime), since that helps me keep track geographically and also gives them some local flavor. Sometimes I give more distinctive names to armies that are highly specialized or have some unique exploit to them, or I'll change naming schemes but let my most distinguished armies keep their old title.

  14. #34
    Quote Originally Posted by OrangeOranges View Post
    Can you actually rename specific ships?
    You can edit save file. You can rename anything.

  15. #35
    Colonel the_Hussar's Avatar
    Rome GoldVictoria 2

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    834
    Quote Originally Posted by AdeptusM View Post
    It's more of a way of looking at unit list and knowing WHERE my units are than flavor.
    And this is the MOST important reason I name my armies. When I look at a long list, I can just zero in knowing where to find the army.

  16. #36
    Sergeant KingFred's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Orient, Iowa, USA
    Posts
    98
    Playing as the Netherlands, I have taken to making numbered "divisions." The armies in The Netherlands themselves are "1e Divisie," "2e Divisie," etc., with a "Reserve Army" (I don't know what the translation would be in Dutch, so I switched to English) in Brussels and in Amsterdam. Then in the East Indies I do the same numbering system over again "1e Divisie K.N.I.L.," etc. Similarly in Africa. My fleets are numbered in a similar way "1st Home Fleet," "1st East Indies Fleet," "1st Arabian Fleet," etc.
    Location: Iowa
    Nationality: Yankee
    Religion: Protestant
    Ideology: Conservative/Reactionary
    Issues: Laissez Faire, Free Trade, Limited Citizenship
    Pop: Bureaucrat
    Cash Reserves: $100
    Revolt Risk: +2
    Militancy: 5
    Consciousness: 10

  17. #37
    cn you change the name of the armies if you use counters too? what is better to play, with counters or sprites? I am using the demo, and the sprites are confusing for large military operations. however, there are not counters like HOI3 either.

  18. #38
    Captain 123xyz8's Avatar
    Arsenal of DemocracyCities in MotionCrusader Kings IIDarkest HourEU3 Complete
    Divine WindHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the ThroneMagickaVictoria: Revolutions
    Semper FiVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of DarknessMount & Blade: Warband
    Mount & Blade: With Fire and Sword500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    San Diego, California
    Posts
    421
    There are only sprites in Victoria 2, no counters.
    Meh

  19. #39
    I rename mine too, always, since it can get confusing if the country I'm playing is big or has lots of brigades. I name my armies depending on where it's located, sometimes depending on where did I raise those armies. For example, in my Italy game, I have names like "Lombard Division" for an 15K stack stationed in Milan, or "Army of Crete" for a 30K stack raised in Crete. Different-sized formations also get different names: a 30K stack (my standard army formation used to fight and invade other countries) is an "Army", a 15K stack (used to defend border provinces in case of an external attack and to garrison provinces in case of those pesky uprisings) is a "Division", and an irregularly-sized stack is a "Garrison" or a "Legion". So that I'll know whether it is of the right size or not, to what province should I return these formations after the war, or simply be able to find it in a long unit list. The same goes for naval units, usually named after the sea adjacent to its home port: a naval formation stationed at Genoa is the "Ligurian Sea Fleet". Sometimes I name them in the language of the nation I am playing, if I know a bit of it.

  20. #40
    General Zorro's Avatar
    A Game of DwarvesArsenal of DemocracyHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IIDiplomacy
    Europa Universalis 3Divine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest Hour
    Heir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In NomineMajesty 2March of the EaglesEU3 Napoleon's Ambition
    Victoria: RevolutionsEuropa Universalis: RomeSemper FiSupreme Ruler 2020 GoldSupreme Ruler: Cold War
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of DarknessRome: Vae VictisMount & Blade: Warband
    Warlock: Master of the ArcaneMount & Blade: With Fire and SwordPride of Nations500k clubEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    2,241
    I rename them usually every game. Nothing creative just 1st corps, 2nd corps, 3rd corps ect. If I'm feeling fancy I. Corps, II. Corps, III. Corps, ect. The exception being Prussia who get a K substituted for the C; I. Korps, II. Korps, III. Korps. It was how they had Prussia's armies set up in Vic and I always kept it.
    My Inkwell

    A Veteran's Return to the Fatherland - Completed - Updated April 13, 2014
    Does an old Hearts of Iron veteran, who hasn't played the game in a decade, still have what it takes to led Germany to glory?

    "I am the Roman Emperor, and am above grammar."-Emperor Sigismund

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts