• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.

unmerged(509501)

Corporal
2 Badges
Jun 16, 2012
  • Crusader Kings II
  • Hearts of Iron III
Howdy

I've recently purchased HOI III having been a big fan of its predecessor (+its expansions) but probably wont have time to play in the immediate future due to work commitments.

Now my question is: will I be able to play HOI III like HOI II or should I treat this like a new game and read the guides posted before I start playing?

PS this is my first time posting in such a forum so forgive me if I have posted in the wrong area.

I would try out the 36 campaign and see what you understand and what you don't. Most likely, 75% you will know already or figure out very fast. Rest you can check tutorials for or ask in this thread, I would be happy to help you out with any questions :)

HOI3 is more complicated, but also more fun ! It will take some time (months, years ?) to completely master the game.

Look at the first sub forum "HOI3 FAQ" at the top of the forum page. You will find the manuals and the strategy guides.

But many thing are not in the manuals and you will find more detailed information on the forum, also look at the wiki (http://www.paradoxian.org/hoi3wiki/Main_Page).

Also, look at the thread http://forum.paradoxplaza.com/forum/showthread.php?599501-WIP-Hearts-of-Iron-3-FTM-Video-Tutorials, Surray made 11 video tutorials that are amazingly clear and helpfull (surray01 on youtube).

Let me repeat this, HoI 3 Is MUCH MORE complicated.
The conquest of Poland alone might be done more units that you would normally have used in HoI2 to conquer all of europe.
The number of provinces as also exploded.