• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.

unmerged(186611)

Corporal
6 Badges
Dec 28, 2009
  • Crusader Kings II
  • Hearts of Iron III
  • Victoria: Revolutions
  • Europa Universalis: Rome
  • Semper Fi
  • Victoria 2: A House Divided
Hey everybody,

I'm a Warband newb and keep getting owned in melee combat in warband. The biggest threats I find generally are those naked guys who wield those huge double handed axes in an overhand position just waiting to strike, or wildly swing sideways as much as possible. If I put my shield up, they hit it and I can't get in an attack before they are striking at me again a second time. Eventually they just keep pounding away while I back up and it gets destroyed and I'm dead. If they swing sideways wildly, the range and coverage is so large that I can't find a way in with anything except for a spear. If I somehow try and get in close they just keep swinging sideways almost in a 360 like fashion and eventually end up slicing me down in the side or back. Its especially bad when I'm on the tower ladders trying to get on the wall and there are like 3 guys with overhead axes looking to insta-kill me. I also find too that my sword can't really thrust at at point blank range, it just doesn't really connect often (like it bounces off).

Anyway, just would like to get some tips. The only successful way i've been able to play melee so far is to do a spear/shield combo and dart in and out of combat stabbing people while they are preoccupied with others. I just don't really "get" combat so far, its pretty damn tough. Thanks

well easiest is to just shoot them :p so bows! hehe

otherwise try using throwing weapons. they are most effective against people without a shield.
but if you have none, that its a matter of timing :)