+ Reply to Thread
Page 21 of 37 FirstFirst ... 11 19 20 21 22 23 31 ... LastLast
Results 401 to 420 of 721

Thread: E3 2012: New Expansion for Hearts of Iron III Announced!

  1. #401
    Quote Originally Posted by comsubpac View Post
    yes, but its cristal clear that such a system is sequel material and not expansion material. better stick to "realistic" suggestions
    In my opinion it could be done quite easily as follows:
    1) You as player build the brigade as usual, but what you build is only weapons, trucks, etc.
    2) Once build the brigade you have the ability to put it in a pool (training pool) and then it is slowly formed (soldiers are trained). After some time (6 months? 1 year?) you can deploy the brigade.
    3) If you don’t put the brigade in the training pool you have only weapons that you can ship/delivery to any country you like. Who gets the weapons can train the brigade.

    This will mimic very well some divisions equipped with foreign material and has the potential to better control military production. For example for some countries it will become impossible to produce capital ships just because they have researched the required tech. Still nowadays many countries cannot produce tanks, airplanes or even "small arms".
    Follow this link for the latest update on the Tech Teams for AoD
    http://forum.paradoxplaza.com/forum/...d.php?t=462691


    -----------
    I'm a recruting agent: Uncle Sam wants you!
    Supporter of the historical flavour in HOI3
    http://forum.paradoxplaza.com/forum/...hp?groupid=174

  2. #402
    AHOI-Mod Series Developer Demi Moderator Chromos's Avatar
    Arsenal of DemocracyHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonDarkest HourEU3 CompleteDivine Wind
    For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the ThroneSemper Fi
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided500k club

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    4,327
    Blog Entries
    20

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by Cardus View Post
    In my opinion it could be done quite easily as follows:
    1) You as player build the brigade as usual, but what you build is only weapons, trucks, etc.
    2) Once build the brigade you have the ability to put it in a pool (training pool) and then it is slowly formed (soldiers are trained). After some time (6 months? 1 year?) you can deploy the brigade.
    3) If you don’t put the brigade in the training pool you have only weapons that you can ship/delivery to any country you like. Who gets the weapons can train the brigade.

    This will mimic very well some divisions equipped with foreign material and has the potential to better control military production. For example for some countries it will become impossible to produce capital ships just because they have researched the required tech. Still nowadays many countries cannot produce tanks, airplanes or even "small arms".
    I like that ideas, I and others also proposed that change in the way of how units are build.

    For a more simplified solution you might like too, read on here:
    Ideas about adding MP/Equipment seperation
    Quote Originally Posted by Chromos View Post
    I like that!
    That is also going right in that direction I proposed in the "new-suggestion-Trained-manpower-being-converted-from-Untrained-manpower"-thread.
    As I also fits well in the way of seperating units MP from units equipment and solve the reserve/IC/reinforce-problem to a great extend.
    My suggestion:
    Part of the unit file:
    #Size Definitions
    max_strength = 30 -> Is the overall strength of the unit, in total men, numbers of planes or a percentage number for ships so far.
    max_equipment_strength = 25 -> Is the overall equipment of the unit, in total men equipment like rifles, numbers of planes/tanks or a percentage number for ships.
    default_organisation = 20 -> This is the normal amount with all ranks filled
    default_morale = 0.20 -> This is the normal amount with all ranks filled

    #Building Costs
    build_cost_ic = 1.5
    build_cost_manpower = 2.90

    build_cost_equipment_ic = 1.5
    build_time_equipment = 120 -> Normal basic production time


    nco = 100
    officers = 10
    build_time = 365 -> Normal basic training time
    I would very much like to have even more differnt equipment modeled in the units like you described.
    So having 3-4 different Models("equipment slots" wich can have different costs and stats) for up to "4 Battalions"/"4 air-wings"/"ships" would be nice. At the moment I just try to have that with an workaround in my mod.
    But I think at the same time that we'll already be very happy if they put in even that 3 new values I propose above.


    I would very much like to have even more differnt equipment modeled in the units like you described.
    So having 3-4 different Models("equipment slots" wich can have different costs and stats) for up to "4 Battalions"/"4 air-wings"/"ships" would be nice. At the moment I just try to have that with an workaround in my mod.
    But I think at the same time that we'll already be very happy if they put in even that 3 new values I propose above.
    For only building the equipment that could be then a trigger like the current "build-reserves" in the lua.
    Then we would only need to be able to check for equipment only units for the trade lua.

    Cheers,
    Chromos
    Former Game Developer East vs. West: - Lua AI / Political -
    AHOI-Mod - A Hearts of Iron 3 "Treasure Chest": Soon: Play WW-I up to the Cold War
    First AAR by me! -> Victory Ahoy! (A Let's Play AAR with AHOI-Mod-"Treasure-Chest")
    AHOI-Mod - Widescreen Mods (For std HoI3 from SF to TFH): See more at a glance/usable from 1280*768 on
    AHOI-Mod - Widescreen Mods (For other HoI3 Mods): See more with your fav mod -usable from 1280*768 on
    AHOI-Mod - Dynamic AI (For std HoI3 FTM): Play with an ai that is adjustible wih decsions
    Check my profile: Find out more info about HoI-III, modding and the AHOI-Mods

  3. #403
    Colonel Xerjin's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourSemper Fi
    Mount & Blade: With Fire and Sword

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    UK,United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,034
    naming of divisions by country's in stead of generic also asked for the ability to mob colours of counters with a secoundary colour per country so when you change something graphically it won't change all nations.

    Wow I'm having a bad day!
    Last edited by Xerjin; 22-06-2012 at 18:00.

  4. #404
    Captain Natvander's Avatar
    HoI AnthologyCities in MotionCities in Motion 2Crusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis 3
    EU3 CompleteDivine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest Hour
    Heir to the ThroneEU3 Napoleon's AmbitionSemper FiVictoria 2500k club
    Europa Universalis IV: Pre-orderEUIV: Call to arms event

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    381
    Quote Originally Posted by Cardus View Post
    In my opinion it could be done quite easily as follows:
    1) You as player build the brigade as usual, but what you build is only weapons, trucks, etc.
    2) Once build the brigade you have the ability to put it in a pool (training pool) and then it is slowly formed (soldiers are trained). After some time (6 months? 1 year?) you can deploy the brigade.
    3) If you don’t put the brigade in the training pool you have only weapons that you can ship/delivery to any country you like. Who gets the weapons can train the brigade.

    This will mimic very well some divisions equipped with foreign material and has the potential to better control military production. For example for some countries it will become impossible to produce capital ships just because they have researched the required tech. Still nowadays many countries cannot produce tanks, airplanes or even "small arms".
    Include the production of air units and you have me won over. US built aircraft with RAF/RAAF/RNZAF/RCAF crews...

  5. #405
    Second Lieutenant tst81's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IICommander: Conquest of the AmericasDarkest HourEast India CompanyEU3 Complete
    Divine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHearts of Iron III CollectionHOI3: Their Finest Hour
    Heir to the ThroneKing Arthur IISemper FiSengokuSupreme Ruler: Cold War
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    116
    Quote Originally Posted by nstar32v View Post
    Windows 8 will ONLY BE 64-bit!
    No, it's not.

  6. #406
    Quote Originally Posted by Natvander View Post
    Include the production of air units and you have me won over. US built aircraft with RAF/RAAF/RNZAF/RCAF crews...
    Of course a unit could be land (division) or sea (ship) or air (squadron). The split of manpower from manifuturing should work for all type of units and could account as well for WWI where USA industrial mobilization was a failure and USA divisions were equipped with French weapons.
    Follow this link for the latest update on the Tech Teams for AoD
    http://forum.paradoxplaza.com/forum/...d.php?t=462691


    -----------
    I'm a recruting agent: Uncle Sam wants you!
    Supporter of the historical flavour in HOI3
    http://forum.paradoxplaza.com/forum/...hp?groupid=174

  7. #407
    Keep HQs and their units in radio range! please!

    Also (for the Allies) the AI nations in your faction do plan
    for an invasion by gathering troops and ships for such and it
    does plot a province(s) to invade so why not a popup/pause
    with (if your the US say). UK will invade _Calais_ and have
    a Yes/No(delay) choice with the delay chosen by the human
    player of up to 100 days (example). This will keep the AI
    from throwing armies away in suicide invasions and will help
    at least coordinate invasions as you can prepare. Would be
    for all the Allies in your faction.

    add:
    lower ASW for carrier CAG and make NAV the ASW aircraft (CVs
    are not subhunters!). Rework the subwarfare so that uboats are
    more dangerous to the UK and US both to convoy and surface ships.
    Last edited by plasticpanzers; 24-06-2012 at 12:11.

  8. #408
    Fleet Admiral Of Never Weres TZoli's Avatar
    Hearts of Iron III

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Hajdúszoboszló, Hungary
    Posts
    4,993
    It would be nice to design Aircrafts and Tanks like Ships: Choose What lvl of components you want to put on it. And the AI could use this method too. For example in late war when Germany is loosing while developed long range aircrafts they need short range ones to cover their troops aka Light Fighters and Bombers (INT and CAS ingame)
    Fully Colourized Provinces and terrain pictures:
    Coloured Provinces Mod:
    http://forum.paradoxplaza.com/forum/...d.php?t=445787

    Historical Plausibility Project:
    http://forum.paradoxplaza.com/forum/...bility-Project

  9. #409
    AHOI-Mod Series Developer Demi Moderator Chromos's Avatar
    Arsenal of DemocracyHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonDarkest HourEU3 CompleteDivine Wind
    For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the ThroneSemper Fi
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided500k club

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    4,327
    Blog Entries
    20

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by TZoli View Post
    It would be nice to design Aircrafts and Tanks like Ships: Choose What lvl of components you want to put on it. And the AI could use this method too. For example in late war when Germany is loosing while developed long range aircrafts they need short range ones to cover their troops aka Light Fighters and Bombers (INT and CAS ingame)
    I also dont know why we have three different views for the units productions. There must be someone having fun coding the gui!!
    It shouldn't be that hard to have the naval view also for the other two as the code is already there?
    (Didn't mention the vertical scroll bar this time.. ups.. And of course I know that it was reported that the gui is somehow a "pita" to code.. Do it anyway! Please!)

    The choosing option would be new code, but still nice. So we could havef.e. BB's with 9x40 or 8x38 been built by circumstances in the game world and not only dictated by the max tech lvl.
    Same to building still Sherman Tanks while Research would allow for better ones..

    Cheers,
    Chromos
    Former Game Developer East vs. West: - Lua AI / Political -
    AHOI-Mod - A Hearts of Iron 3 "Treasure Chest": Soon: Play WW-I up to the Cold War
    First AAR by me! -> Victory Ahoy! (A Let's Play AAR with AHOI-Mod-"Treasure-Chest")
    AHOI-Mod - Widescreen Mods (For std HoI3 from SF to TFH): See more at a glance/usable from 1280*768 on
    AHOI-Mod - Widescreen Mods (For other HoI3 Mods): See more with your fav mod -usable from 1280*768 on
    AHOI-Mod - Dynamic AI (For std HoI3 FTM): Play with an ai that is adjustible wih decsions
    Check my profile: Find out more info about HoI-III, modding and the AHOI-Mods

  10. #410
    Quote Originally Posted by TZoli View Post
    It would be nice to design Aircrafts and Tanks like Ships: Choose What lvl of components you want to put on it. And the AI could use this method too. For example in late war when Germany is loosing while developed long range aircrafts they need short range ones to cover their troops aka Light Fighters and Bombers (INT and CAS ingame)
    but once build the units would start upgrading.

  11. #411
    Fleet Admiral Of Never Weres TZoli's Avatar
    Hearts of Iron III

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Hajdúszoboszló, Hungary
    Posts
    4,993
    Quote Originally Posted by comsubpac View Post
    but once build the units would start upgrading.
    If the tech allows it which is a simple line:
    can_upgrade = no
    Fully Colourized Provinces and terrain pictures:
    Coloured Provinces Mod:
    http://forum.paradoxplaza.com/forum/...d.php?t=445787

    Historical Plausibility Project:
    http://forum.paradoxplaza.com/forum/...bility-Project

  12. #412
    Quote Originally Posted by TZoli View Post
    If the tech allows it which is a simple line:
    can_upgrade = no
    but that would completely kill the AI...
    isn't that line for the upgrade button anyway?

  13. #413
    Field Marshal Cybvep's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    8,329
    isn't that line for the upgrade button anyway?
    No, it's used in case of naval units, for example, because it wasn't easy to upgrade the main guns of an old battleship.

  14. #414
    AHOI-Mod Series Developer Demi Moderator Chromos's Avatar
    Arsenal of DemocracyHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonDarkest HourEU3 CompleteDivine Wind
    For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the ThroneSemper Fi
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided500k club

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    4,327
    Blog Entries
    20

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by TZoli View Post
    If the tech allows it which is a simple line:
    can_upgrade = no
    That upgrading should/would need a look into then too.
    As it would be new code anyway, why not also this feature..
    Best introduced with seperation of equipment and MP..

    Cheers,
    Chromos
    Former Game Developer East vs. West: - Lua AI / Political -
    AHOI-Mod - A Hearts of Iron 3 "Treasure Chest": Soon: Play WW-I up to the Cold War
    First AAR by me! -> Victory Ahoy! (A Let's Play AAR with AHOI-Mod-"Treasure-Chest")
    AHOI-Mod - Widescreen Mods (For std HoI3 from SF to TFH): See more at a glance/usable from 1280*768 on
    AHOI-Mod - Widescreen Mods (For other HoI3 Mods): See more with your fav mod -usable from 1280*768 on
    AHOI-Mod - Dynamic AI (For std HoI3 FTM): Play with an ai that is adjustible wih decsions
    Check my profile: Find out more info about HoI-III, modding and the AHOI-Mods

  15. #415
    Great news! I'm looking forward to play this expansion especially for the 'battle plans' part!
    Only missing thing for me is a way to offer provinces under my control to another country (I know it can be done with save file editing / cheats but having to interrupt multiplayer and editing save files is not fun.)
    It would be so great if the developers considered this (maybe only as an option or some special multiplayer 'cheat'), in my opinion it would make the game much more fun!

  16. #416
    Fleet Admiral Of Never Weres TZoli's Avatar
    Hearts of Iron III

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Hajdúszoboszló, Hungary
    Posts
    4,993
    Quote Originally Posted by Chromos View Post
    That upgrading should/would need a look into then too.
    As it would be new code anyway, why not also this feature..
    Best introduced with seperation of equipment and MP..

    Cheers,
    Chromos
    Sounds good
    Fully Colourized Provinces and terrain pictures:
    Coloured Provinces Mod:
    http://forum.paradoxplaza.com/forum/...d.php?t=445787

    Historical Plausibility Project:
    http://forum.paradoxplaza.com/forum/...bility-Project

  17. #417
    Sergeant EnsignElliott's Avatar
    For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourVictoria: RevolutionsSemper Fi
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Lichfield, Great Britain
    Posts
    68
    Great News, I've just got back into HOI3 FTM again!

  18. #418
    Quote Originally Posted by EnsignElliott View Post
    Great News, I've just got back into HOI3 FTM again!
    What FTM stands for? For The Money?! :-)
    Follow this link for the latest update on the Tech Teams for AoD
    http://forum.paradoxplaza.com/forum/...d.php?t=462691


    -----------
    I'm a recruting agent: Uncle Sam wants you!
    Supporter of the historical flavour in HOI3
    http://forum.paradoxplaza.com/forum/...hp?groupid=174

  19. #419
    Sergeant EnsignElliott's Avatar
    For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourVictoria: RevolutionsSemper Fi
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Lichfield, Great Britain
    Posts
    68
    Quote Originally Posted by Cardus View Post
    What FTM stands for? For The Money?! :-)
    For The Motherland, latest expansion for HOI3.

  20. #420
    Quote Originally Posted by EnsignElliott View Post
    For The Motherland, latest expansion for HOI3.
    hurrrr

+ Reply to Thread
Page 21 of 37 FirstFirst ... 11 19 20 21 22 23 31 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts