hmm, a quick question for you all.
So, in a recent game of mine I successfully raised and installed an anti-pope. Which was pretty awesome! However, I was a little annoyed to see that as a result of winning my war with the papacy, the new pope took with him the land he had been bishop of in my kingdom. In other words, I raised the bishop to anti-pope. He won... and now the bishoripic (however its spelled) owes allegiance to the pope not me.
Does this always happen? Seems a little yucks that the pope repays me winning the entire war for him, with essentially taking some of my vassals away. Anyway around this?
Also, a random question on the subject of popes. If, in theory, you are a catholic heresy, you make an anti-pope and you win... does your heresy now become legitimized?
Also, a totally random question im editing in as it just occurred to me. If a piece of land becomes part of another dejure kingdom over time (i.e the hundred years pass) is that kingdom gone for good? Or if the land becomes independent could they reform it?
i.e if aquitaine is ruled by france for 100 years. But say 200 years later the lands of that region are independent. Have they lost forever the chance to form a kingdom? Or would the Aquitaine kingdom come back over time?