+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24

Thread: Ottomans not moving their capital

  1. #1
    Field Marshal calvinhobbeslik's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis: ChroniclesVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness
    500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-orderEUIV: Call to arms eventEUIV: Wealth of NationsEUIV: Conquest of Paradise
    EUIV: Res Publica

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    6,579

    Ottomans not moving their capital

    In my plan to conquer Europe as Germany, I wanted to grab the European portion of the Ottoman Empire, including Thrace. However, I have just reduced them to this configuration:


    and they won't move their capital to Ankara! I tag switched to them, and they don't even have the decision! Did they remove it in AHD, or do I have to conquer some more territory to get them to move it?

    Edit: The game really doesn't want to increase my font size...

  2. #2
    Colonel Dron22's Avatar
    Arsenal of DemocracyHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteDivine Wind
    For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourMarch of the EaglesVictoria: Revolutions
    Semper FiVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    842
    I never heard of countries moving their capital, I am not sure if that is even possible in Victoria 2. Unless Ottomans have some specific event for that, I don't think they can move their capital.

  3. #3
    Californio Nick Giordano's Avatar
    A Game of DwarvesCrusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteDivine WindFor the Motherland
    Hearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the ThroneMagickaMarch of the Eagles
    Semper FiSengokuVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness
    Mount & Blade: WarbandMount & Blade: With Fire and Sword500k clubEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    540
    The Ottomans and the Russians both have an event to move their capital; for the Ottomans case I do believe it is they have to loose all their European holdings. If I'm seeing this right, there's still a piece of turkish land north of Greece?

  4. #4
    Field Marshal calvinhobbeslik's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis: ChroniclesVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness
    500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-orderEUIV: Call to arms eventEUIV: Wealth of NationsEUIV: Conquest of Paradise
    EUIV: Res Publica

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    6,579
    Quote Originally Posted by Nick Giordano View Post
    The Ottomans and the Russians both have an event to move their capital; for the Ottomans case I do believe it is they have to loose all their European holdings. If I'm seeing this right, there's still a piece of turkish land north of Greece?
    Yeah, I was going to take that, but my Jingoism was barely creeping up and my truce with Russia was about to run out.

    Edit: Does that mean I have to take the Ottoman Aegean Islands?

  5. #5
    Field Marshal calvinhobbeslik's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis: ChroniclesVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness
    500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-orderEUIV: Call to arms eventEUIV: Wealth of NationsEUIV: Conquest of Paradise
    EUIV: Res Publica

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    6,579
    Hmm, I just checked the files: Russia still has the decision to move it to Moscow, but there's no decision for the Ottomans

    This also means that Greece will have to conquer the entire OE to form BYZ?

  6. #6
    I got the Ottomans to move without taking all their European holdings- I took all the other territories need for the Megli Ideal and they moved it (Greece, trying to form Byzantium).

  7. #7
    I think you need the last part of European Ottoman, above Greence. You might also need the Koyna state, thought I'm not exactly sure on that,

  8. #8
    Captain Corelay's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteDivine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron III
    Heir to the ThroneKing Arthur IISemper FiVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided
    V2 BetaEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chelmsford, Essex, UK
    Posts
    349
    It's an event, not a decision. It always triggered for me when they lost Rumelia. They also must no longer be a great power.
    Last edited by Corelay; 09-05-2012 at 09:31.

  9. #9
    Second Lieutenant Kitteh's Avatar
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedMount & Blade: Warband

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    120
    I would also remove any puppets they have, just in case.
    Culture: Yankee
    Religion: <undefined_tag>
    Ideology: Socialist (Protectionism, State Capitalism, Secularist, Full Citizenship, Anti-Military)
    Province: Los Angeles, California

  10. #10
    Captain Corelay's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteDivine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron III
    Heir to the ThroneKing Arthur IISemper FiVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided
    V2 BetaEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chelmsford, Essex, UK
    Posts
    349
    The only triggers are:

    - Current capital is Constantinople

    - Holds Ankara

    - Not a Great Power

    - Does not hold Burgas, Stara Zagora and Dedeagatch (which involves then not having Rumelia and East Macedonia)

    It then takes about a month to trigger.

  11. #11
    Major Caramel95's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDarkest HourEuropa Universalis: ChroniclesHearts of Iron IIIHearts of Iron III Collection
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    516
    i was told that you need the province just south of thrace that is on the Asia part. Then it gets he event to move? i could be wrong. i would take all their European holdings though
    Location: United Kingdom
    Nationality: British
    Ideology: Labour Party
    Preferred Government type: Constitutional Monarchy
    Religion: Athiest

  12. #12
    Captain Corelay's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteDivine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron III
    Heir to the ThroneKing Arthur IISemper FiVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided
    V2 BetaEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chelmsford, Essex, UK
    Posts
    349
    Nope, you don't need anything east from Thrace. It's all on the Greek/Balkan side.

  13. #13
    Field Marshal calvinhobbeslik's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis: ChroniclesVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness
    500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-orderEUIV: Call to arms eventEUIV: Wealth of NationsEUIV: Conquest of Paradise
    EUIV: Res Publica

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    6,579
    Quote Originally Posted by Corelay View Post
    Nope, you don't need anything east from Thrace. It's all on the Greek/Balkan side.
    Wait, but the list of decisions in the "TUR" files doesn't list this...where is it then?

  14. #14
    Captain Corelay's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteDivine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron III
    Heir to the ThroneKing Arthur IISemper FiVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided
    V2 BetaEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chelmsford, Essex, UK
    Posts
    349
    Like I said, it is an event, not a decision. Look in the events folder.

  15. #15
    Field Marshal calvinhobbeslik's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis: ChroniclesVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness
    500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-orderEUIV: Call to arms eventEUIV: Wealth of NationsEUIV: Conquest of Paradise
    EUIV: Res Publica

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    6,579
    Quote Originally Posted by Corelay View Post
    Like I said, it is an event, not a decision. Look in the events folder.
    Wait, to the Turks are FORCED to move their capital, but the Russians can CHOOSE whether or not to do so?

    Edit: I found it in the events folder, but the only requirements are that they don't own 3 provinces(presumably the European ones bordering Thrace)...maybe they DID move their capital, and I didn't get a message for that?

  16. #16
    Captain MrTrt's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the Throne
    March of the EaglesSemper FiVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness
    500k clubEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Born in Melilla, Spain
    Posts
    427
    You can check if the red circle is in Istambul or in Ankara.

  17. #17
    Captain Corelay's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteDivine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron III
    Heir to the ThroneKing Arthur IISemper FiVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided
    V2 BetaEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chelmsford, Essex, UK
    Posts
    349
    Indeed, check for the red circle in Ankara. I named the needed provinces above for you. There are no fireworks that go off when it happens, so it is easy to miss.

    Yes, the Turks are forced to move it- it is a purely negative event for them.

  18. #18
    Field Marshal calvinhobbeslik's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis: ChroniclesVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness
    500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-orderEUIV: Call to arms eventEUIV: Wealth of NationsEUIV: Conquest of Paradise
    EUIV: Res Publica

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    6,579
    Quote Originally Posted by MrTrt View Post
    You can check if the red circle is in Istambul or in Ankara.
    I can also check if the font says "Ottoman Empire" or "Ottoman Asia," since the capital would move the OE to becoming an Asian country, right?

  19. #19
    Field Marshal calvinhobbeslik's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis: ChroniclesVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness
    500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-orderEUIV: Call to arms eventEUIV: Wealth of NationsEUIV: Conquest of Paradise
    EUIV: Res Publica

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    6,579
    The event says they lose 10 prestige...and they did, but they didn't lose prestige from losing all their wargoals(I annexed Wallachia separately, so the OE automatically added a "Free Wallachia" wargoal, which obviously was not granted)

  20. #20
    Captain MrTrt's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the Throne
    March of the EaglesSemper FiVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness
    500k clubEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Born in Melilla, Spain
    Posts
    427
    Quote Originally Posted by calvinhobbeslik View Post
    I can also check if the font says "Ottoman Empire" or "Ottoman Asia," since the capital would move the OE to becoming an Asian country, right?
    Yes, I think so.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts