+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Can I only becoming an Emperor by usurping the HRE or BE?

  1. #1

    Can I only becoming an Emperor by usurping the HRE or BE?

    Or can I make my own?

  2. #2
    Kommandant Kagernaut's Avatar
    Hearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis 3EU3 CompleteDivine Wind
    For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In Nomine
    MagickaVictoria: RevolutionsRome GoldSemper FiSword of the Stars
    Sword of the Stars IIVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of DarknessMount & Blade: Warband
    Warlock: Master of the ArcaneMount & Blade: With Fire and SwordWar of the Roses500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order
    EUIV: Wealth of NationsEUIV: Conquest of Paradise

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    4,218
    Nope.

    Have to usurp it. There apparently are mods that let you form your own, but otherwise no.

  3. #3
    If you use CK2+ you can make fun ones like Empire Hispania by uniting all the Iberian crowns.

  4. #4
    First Lieutenant XxIzualxX's Avatar
    Hearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IICommander: Conquest of the AmericasEast India Company CollectionEU3 Complete
    Divine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the ThroneThe Kings Crusade
    Majesty 2March of the EaglesRome GoldSemper FiVictoria 2
    Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of DarknessRome: Vae VictisMount & Blade: WarbandMount & Blade: With Fire and Sword
    War of the RosesCK2: Holy Knight500k clubEUIV: Call to arms event

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    299
    In Vanilla there are only 7 Empires, 3 of which are playable.

    Playable:
    Holy Roman Empire
    Byzantine Empire
    Latin Empire

    Not Playable:
    Shiite Caliphate
    Sunni Caliphate
    Mongol Horde
    Ilkhanate

  5. #5
    Am I correct in saying that the Latin Empire is not formable, only available during later start dates?

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by XxIzualxX View Post
    In Vanilla there are only 7 Empires, 3 of which are playable.

    Playable:
    Holy Roman Empire
    Byzantine Empire
    Latin Empire

    Not Playable:
    Shiite Caliphate
    Sunni Caliphate
    Mongol Horde
    Ilkhanate
    Thank you for that. I will be doing some usurping soon then!

    Quote Originally Posted by blackfire83 View Post
    Am I correct in saying that the Latin Empire is not formable, only available during later start dates?
    I was also wondering about this. I have not seen the Latin Empire as of yet (early 1200s), so is it an empire that forms later?

  7. #7
    Field Marshal DCyDe's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDarkest HourEU3 CompleteDivine WindHearts of Iron III
    Lead and GoldMagickaRome: Vae VictisMount & Blade: WarbandWar of the Roses
    500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-orderEUIV: Call to arms event

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Equestria
    Posts
    2,716
    Quote Originally Posted by Pickup View Post
    Thank you for that. I will be doing some usurping soon then!



    I was also wondering about this. I have not seen the Latin Empire as of yet (early 1200s), so is it an empire that forms later?
    it doesn't form in a 1066 start game, you would have to start a game after it has been founded

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Kagernaut View Post
    Nope.

    Have to usurp it. There apparently are mods that let you form your own, but otherwise no.
    Quote Originally Posted by jtlightner View Post
    If you use CK2+ you can make fun ones like Empire Hispania by uniting all the Iberian crowns.
    Thank you Do these mods work well in your experience (if you have tried them)? I will try and search for the page in the meanwhile.

    Whoops. Sorry, I thought I had done this as one multi-quote.

    EDIT: @DCyDe Do you mean like one of those campaigns such as the 'Hundred Years War'?

  9. #9
    Kommandant Kagernaut's Avatar
    Hearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis 3EU3 CompleteDivine Wind
    For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In Nomine
    MagickaVictoria: RevolutionsRome GoldSemper FiSword of the Stars
    Sword of the Stars IIVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of DarknessMount & Blade: Warband
    Warlock: Master of the ArcaneMount & Blade: With Fire and SwordWar of the Roses500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order
    EUIV: Wealth of NationsEUIV: Conquest of Paradise

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    4,218
    A somewhat unrelated question, but as emporer do you have the two duchy limit still?? Does the demesne work the same way as a king?

  10. #10
    On Probation
    Crusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIISemper Fi
    500k clubEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    4,715
    1. There is a 2-duchy limit for emperors.

    2. Any empire is "playable", you just can't start as most of them.

    3. "Usurping" the HRE is not the only way to become the HRE. You could be elected, as the HRE is typically elective.

    4. For any of the empires, you could also launch a claim war. I suppose that's kind of "usurping", but it's not merely through the "Usurp" button.

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by XxIzualxX View Post
    In Vanilla there are only 7 Empires, 3 of which are playable.

    Playable:
    Holy Roman Empire
    Byzantine Empire
    Latin Empire

    Not Playable:
    Shiite Caliphate
    Sunni Caliphate
    Mongol Horde
    Ilkhanate

    There are also Empire of Rebels and Empire of Pirates as well.

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by Pickup View Post
    EDIT: @DCyDe Do you mean like one of those campaigns such as the 'Hundred Years War'?
    No, it only exists between 1204 and 1261.
    It's at its greatest extent on January 1st 1205 in the game.

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by JasonOfArgos View Post
    There are also Empire of Rebels and Empire of Pirates as well.
    And the Timurids!

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by grisamentum View Post
    2. Any empire is "playable", you just can't start as most of them.
    This. I managed to become the emperor of the golden horde in my most recent game, starting as the count of Oxford.

    Quote Originally Posted by grisamentum View Post
    3. "Usurping" the HRE is not the only way to become the HRE. You could be elected, as the HRE is typically elective.
    You can matri marry your kinsman to a claimant with an inheritable claim, kill the succession line (assassinate/plot to kill) so that your kin sits on the throne, be head of YOUR family, and kill the kinsman emperor, thereby inheriting the title. A little cheap, but definitely doable with enough money and the current plot-to-kill mechanic.

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by grisamentum View Post
    1. There is a 2-duchy limit for emperors.

    2. Any empire is "playable", you just can't start as most of them.

    3. "Usurping" the HRE is not the only way to become the HRE. You could be elected, as the HRE is typically elective.

    4. For any of the empires, you could also launch a claim war. I suppose that's kind of "usurping", but it's not merely through the "Usurp" button.
    Quote Originally Posted by the_intricacy View Post
    This. I managed to become the emperor of the golden horde in my most recent game, starting as the count of Oxford.



    You can matri marry your kinsman to a claimant with an inheritable claim, kill the succession line (assassinate/plot to kill) so that your kin sits on the throne, be head of YOUR family, and kill the kinsman emperor, thereby inheriting the title. A little cheap, but definitely doable with enough money and the current plot-to-kill mechanic.
    I am a little confused in terms of election of the HRE. I have nominated myself on numerous occassions as well as family members. However, the elected always seems to be someone else (which is fine; perhaps I'm not good enough!) but when I click on the character of the Emperor, the 'Heir' is listed as their child. Does this mean the child inherits the Duchies only and not necessarily the Empire? Also, what is happening to the plot-to-kill mechanic, if you guys know.

    Quote Originally Posted by CyBSKhan View Post
    No, it only exists between 1204 and 1261.
    It's at its greatest extent on January 1st 1205 in the game.
    Thank you for that. I was wondering when it would show up. I think I am in 1204 at the moment but no show of the Latin Empire which must mean, as blackfire83 stated, it comes around with a predetermined start date?

  16. #16
    Kommandant Kagernaut's Avatar
    Hearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis 3EU3 CompleteDivine Wind
    For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In Nomine
    MagickaVictoria: RevolutionsRome GoldSemper FiSword of the Stars
    Sword of the Stars IIVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of DarknessMount & Blade: Warband
    Warlock: Master of the ArcaneMount & Blade: With Fire and SwordWar of the Roses500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order
    EUIV: Wealth of NationsEUIV: Conquest of Paradise

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    4,218
    Thank you for that. I was wondering when it would show up. I think I am in 1204 at the moment but no show of the Latin Empire which must mean, as blackfire83 stated, it comes around with a predetermined start date?
    You would have to start the game at that date actually, it never forms otherwise (AFAIK).

  17. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by Pickup View Post
    I am a little confused in terms of election of the HRE.
    Ah yes, aforementioned does not work for elective. I found the best way to get an Agnatic elective title is to go elective yourself, and make your heir be the one with the claim, and press it yourself.

  18. #18
    Quote Originally Posted by Kagernaut View Post
    You would have to start the game at that date actually, it never forms otherwise (AFAIK).
    Interesting. I will have to try this once I have finished my current game so thank you for the information.

    Quote Originally Posted by the_intricacy View Post
    Ah yes, aforementioned does not work for elective. I found the best way to get an Agnatic elective title is to go elective yourself, and make your heir be the one with the claim, and press it yourself.
    Appreciated. I was intending on simply getting 50% of HRE lands and then usurping but the method you suggest seems to be much more time-effective. I will try to use this the next time I play.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts