+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 67

Thread: *NEW* New York City map

  1. #1

    New York City

    I just bought the US Cities DLC which includes New York City and San Francisco.

    I don't get it, New York is one of the biggest cities in the world with over 8Mio people and you design it as a 1024x1024 map? Even Bucharest has a bigger map with 1280x1280. It should have been the size of Tokio at least. And where is the World Trade Center? Where are the Twin towers? They are not where they supposed to be and it's 1980 so they should be standing. Why such an inaccurate map? It's a DLC you had all the time in the world, and you want 5 Euros for it, so why can't you give it a little effort?

    It's hugely disappointing. I was interested in buying more DLC's but I certainly won't now.

  2. #2
    Corporal
    Cities in MotionCities in Motion 2

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    33
    I was mostly disappointed with the map size and their exclusion of the Bronx. It should have been a 1280 x 1280 map. I was also hoping for at least one NYC subway metro train. They created a Washington DC metro in one of the earlier DLC's yet that system isn't as famous or innovative as the one in New York City. Other than that I think they were fairly accurate with the details. But I do agree wasn't what I was hoping for.

  3. #3
    New York was definitely somewhat of a disappointment. Even I living in the UK in a relatively small town can clearly see that it is barely New York. Hopefully the upcoming London DLC won't be as bad.

    I understand they're a small studio and all, but I see single people making better maps in just their spare time. I mean no offense to the devs as the game is good, but DLC could certainly use a bit more effort.

  4. #4
    First Lieutenant Damascus's Avatar
    Cities in MotionCrusader Kings IIDeus VultEast India CompanyEuropa Universalis 3
    Divine WindHeir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In NomineEU3 Napoleon's AmbitionVictoria: Revolutions
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided500k club

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    283
    No Macy's, no Madison Square Garden, no Penn Station, etc. Just a generic city with no unique vehicles. Considering the NYC subway is the world's largest, you figure it should have had at least one new train. And I still hate the night cities, they look dreary.

  5. #5
    Corporal ppbrover's Avatar
    Cities in MotionCities in Motion 2Victoria 2

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the united kingdom.
    Posts
    42
    Hey,how come new york does not have a railway station?

  6. #6
    General Demi Moderator douglasrac's Avatar
    Cities in MotionCities in Motion 2EU3 CompleteMagicka500k club

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    2,130
    Quote Originally Posted by ppbrover View Post
    Hey,how come new york does not have a railway station?
    It does have a central station:


  7. #7
    Corporal ppbrover's Avatar
    Cities in MotionCities in Motion 2Victoria 2

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the united kingdom.
    Posts
    42
    I did know that,but what I meran is I cannot find it on the cim map of new york.

  8. #8
    General Demi Moderator douglasrac's Avatar
    Cities in MotionCities in Motion 2EU3 CompleteMagicka500k club

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    2,130
    Quote Originally Posted by ppbrover View Post
    I did know that,but what I meran is I cannot find it on the cim map of new york.
    By my picture your can find. Look at the mini map. Little bit down and east from Central Park.

  9. #9
    General Demi Moderator giladteller's Avatar
    Cities in MotionCities in Motion 2EU3 CompleteDivine WindHeir to the Throne
    MagickaKnights of Pen and Paper +1 Edition500k club

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,713
    It's Grand Central Terminal. CO created a Landmark for this and didn't use the "regular" train terminal. You will not see trains going in or out of it, in reality all train tracks going there are underground. In the game they just don't exist.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grand_Central_Terminal
    When I am using this color, I am speaking as a Demi-Moderator. Please PM me, or any other moderator if you have any issues with how we run the forums.

    Signature?
    I don't sign on anything without my lawyer!

    My Blog | Cities in Motion WIKI | Cities in Motion 2 WIKI
    CiM Wiki on social networks:
    Facebook | Twitter | Google+ | YouTube

  10. #10
    Colonel TH1's Avatar
    Cities in MotionCities in Motion 2

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Hungary - Czech Republic
    Posts
    914
    Quote Originally Posted by giladteller View Post
    In the game they just don't exist.
    how creative solution.

  11. #11
    Only complaint so far for me was what is the point of those 3 tracks that end in nothing in Queens? Freight trains go there and after awhile just disappear.

    Click image for larger version

Name:	9wHGm.jpg
Views:	265
Size:	388.8 KB
ID:	55995

  12. #12
    Corporal Wrasem's Avatar
    Cities in MotionCities in Motion 2

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    37
    Quote Originally Posted by leematthews View Post
    Only complaint so far for me was what is the point of those 3 tracks that end in nothing in Queens? Freight trains go there and after awhile just disappear.

    Attachment 55995
    I think that the rails were supposed to go undergrond there, possebly to Grand central, or that they planned the "Penn Station" and that the tracks were supposed to be the AmTrak /LIRR tracks going out. But thats only what i think.

  13. #13
    Corporal
    Cities in MotionCities in Motion 2

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    33
    Quote Originally Posted by Wrasem View Post
    I think that the rails were supposed to go undergrond there, possebly to Grand central, or that they planned the "Penn Station" and that the tracks were supposed to be the AmTrak /LIRR tracks going out. But thats only what i think.
    Those 3 tracks are supposed to be the Sunnyside Yards in queens which connect to the East River Tunnels to Penn Station

  14. #14
    Corporal
    Cities in Motion

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by benghazzi View Post
    I just bought the US Cities DLC which includes New York City and San Francisco.

    I don't get it, New York is one of the biggest cities in the world with over 8Mio people and you design it as a 1024x1024 map? Even Bucharest has a bigger map with 1280x1280. It should have been the size of Tokio at least. And where is the World Trade Center? Where are the Twin towers? They are not where they supposed to be and it's 1980 so they should be standing. Why such an inaccurate map? It's a DLC you had all the time in the world, and you want 5 Euros for it, so why can't you give it a little effort?

    It's hugely disappointing. I was interested in buying more DLC's but I certainly won't now.
    That's just incredible.

  15. #15
    I'm sorry to hear that New York was a disappointment. We'll work harder on the new map.

  16. #16
    I started a few days ago on a NYC Map. This Map is huge 2048x2048.

    Update: Times Square 1-2-3 & N-R-Q Also, Progress photo of lines laid down. Green dots are stations. You can connect them and see which lines they pretty much are. NYC Map for CIM coming!!

    Lines laid so far: A-C-E, L, GS Shuttle, N-Q-R for Queens (partial Manhattan), F for Queens (Partial Manhattan) - Piece of 1-2-3, and J is laid.

    I think I'm going to extend the 7 to the JJ Center and possibly make the 2nd ave line. Though this map is huge I didn't realize how much bigger the system is in real life. Its hard fitting these lines in where it makes sense and they're not too close example the 1-2-3 and the 4-5-6...obviously one is east the other west. I'm trying to keep trains in their correct locations for the most part. Obviously A LOT of stations will not make it. I believe the 4-5-6 goes from like 14th st and has maybe one or two stations between them before hitting Fulton. This project is massive within itself but just not big as the real thing. The A from 207 to Far Rock is like 35 stops one way...so you get an idea (round trip is like 30+ mins REAL time). The L line pretty much has all stations.



    - Updated Map green dots are stations.

    - Times Square (7 line not done yet)

    - Broad Channel A line

    - Jamaica Bay going into Broad Channel

    - WTC will be moved further down the map a bit.

    Hope you guys like. Suggestions welcomed!

    Will be adding Amtrak, Metro North, NJT and LIRR lines as well, but they will be short...to the extent of what is on a NYC subway map.
    7 line will be extended to JJC as stated, and possibly the 2nd ave subway will be put in.

  17. #17
    Update: This is Times Square: 1-2-3 line, N-R-Q line, B-D-F-M line, 7 line and the Shuttle. You can now get an idea of how complex this system will be. Your going to lose your trains lmao!!


  18. #18
    Working on the 7 line! How you like? Queensboro Plaza N-Q-7...




  19. #19
    Ok, No replies, feedback, anything...I guess no one is interested. No prob.

  20. #20
    Major Butelka64's Avatar
    Cities in Motion 2

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Wroclaw, Poland
    Posts
    569
    There's nothing to reply to yet. You've just shown us a few metro stations and that's it. Do you think you're gonna get a huge applause for that?

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts