+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Byzantine Empire

  1. #1
    Major Caramel95's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDarkest HourEuropa Universalis: ChroniclesHearts of Iron IIIHearts of Iron III Collection
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    505

    Byzantine Empire

    OK, so i want to form the Byzantine Empire as greece, what provinces do i have to take, and what events or reforms must be done in order to form the Byzantine Empire?
    Location: United Kingdom
    Nationality: British
    Ideology: Labour Party
    Preferred Government type: Constitutional Monarchy
    Religion: Athiest

  2. #2
    Your government type must be Absolute Monarchy/Prussian Constitutionalism/HM's Government, you have to be a Great Power and you have to own a lot of the provinces that belonged to the Byzantine Empire.

  3. #3
    Captain Corelay's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteDivine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron III
    Heir to the ThroneKing Arthur IISemper FiVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided
    V2 BetaEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chelmsford, Essex, UK
    Posts
    349
    It is a several step process

    1. Regain your starting cores

    2. Become a Great Power and get the Megali Idea (this is not literally essential but practically speaking it's the only way to go)

    3. Start getting your Megali cores

    4. At some point, take Rumelia from the Ottomans. This will force them to move their capital and now you can take Thrace (note- this step was added in at some point and I don't know if it was in vanilla or not. If you don't have AHD, this might not happen and you'll have to dismantle the entire Ottoman Empire to take Thrace)

    5. It's not listed in Megali, but you'll need to take Bursa as well before the Byzantine option forms

    6. Forming Byzantine gives cores on all areas you own that are primarily Greek or Turkish; that's a one off deal so you may want to take as much Turkish territory as possible before forming

    That's the theory. You'll find the practice of doing it is very difficult; there are a number of threads around that discuss it.

  4. #4
    Major Caramel95's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDarkest HourEuropa Universalis: ChroniclesHearts of Iron IIIHearts of Iron III Collection
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    505
    ok thank you and i dont have AHD so dismantling may be my only option. Ive formed yugoslavia i can form the byzantine empire.
    Location: United Kingdom
    Nationality: British
    Ideology: Labour Party
    Preferred Government type: Constitutional Monarchy
    Religion: Athiest

  5. #5
    Second Lieutenant Kitteh's Avatar
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedMount & Blade: Warband

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    120
    A good way to start is by forcing Ottomans to release al the countries they can from the start, except for Bulgaria, which has cores in Macedonia (East I think). Also make sure you click 'play as' and tag-switch back, you don't wanna fight a bunch of puppets. What I want to try out is conquer Greece as Ottomans, release all the countries it can (starting with Greece) so that it has all the territory it wants. The key is to have OE as weak as possible when you gobble up its territories.
    Culture: Yankee
    Religion: <undefined_tag>
    Ideology: Socialist (Protectionism, State Capitalism, Secularist, Full Citizenship, Anti-Military)
    Province: Los Angeles, California

  6. #6
    Major Caramel95's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDarkest HourEuropa Universalis: ChroniclesHearts of Iron IIIHearts of Iron III Collection
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    505
    ok ill do that, ive had to start again because OE is in Frances sphere and my allies Serbia, Montenegro and Two Sicilies will not even hesitate in saying no to me if i go to war.
    Location: United Kingdom
    Nationality: British
    Ideology: Labour Party
    Preferred Government type: Constitutional Monarchy
    Religion: Athiest

  7. #7
    you need to annex Tunis early otherwise France will and then they'll share a border with the Ottomans which gives them bonuses to sphere them. If they don't border the ottomans, they usually don't sphere them. As soon as the Ottos are sphered by a big power you have to become a great power yourself to unsphere them.
    Russia may be the best scenario since sometimes they don't have a big army and they won't mobilize against your small army.

  8. #8
    Major Legions of Rome's Avatar
    Arsenal of DemocracyCrusader Kings IIDarkest HourDivine WindFor the Motherland
    Hearts of Iron IIIRome GoldSemper FiVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided
    500k club

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    521
    Quote Originally Posted by Caramel95 View Post
    ok thank you and i dont have AHD so dismantling may be my only option. Ive formed yugoslavia i can form the byzantine empire.
    No that option was added in the last patch before AHD. So you should be good.

  9. #9
    Major Caramel95's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDarkest HourEuropa Universalis: ChroniclesHearts of Iron IIIHearts of Iron III Collection
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    505
    ah ok woo
    Location: United Kingdom
    Nationality: British
    Ideology: Labour Party
    Preferred Government type: Constitutional Monarchy
    Religion: Athiest

  10. #10
    Second Lieutenant Celdur's Avatar
    Hearts of Iron III CollectionHOI3: Their Finest HourVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness
    500k club

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Lima, Peru
    Posts
    117
    Guys, i've done everything the threat says but the option to form the byzantine empire doesn't show in my decisions... the Ottoman Empire still exists though. i have ahd latest patch

  11. #11
    Ill Growl of Talking Polar Mongoose's Avatar
    Hearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCities in MotionCrusader Kings IIDeus VultDivine Wind
    Hearts of Iron IIIHeir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In NomineLost Empire - ImmortalsMagicka
    Majesty 2EU3 Napoleon's AmbitionVictoria: RevolutionsEuropa Universalis: RomeSword of the Stars
    Sword of the Stars IIVictoria 2Victoria II: Heart of DarknessRome: Vae VictisMount & Blade: Warband

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    730
    Do you have the Konya region? It isn't a Megali idea core, but you still need it. If you are going by the check-list in Corelay's post then I think he meant Konya rather than Bursa for stage 5. (Bursa being part of the Megali idea cores anyway).
    ˇViva ArgentinAAR! - My Vicky 2 AAR (1836-1880)

  12. #12
    Captain Corelay's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteDivine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron III
    Heir to the ThroneKing Arthur IISemper FiVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided
    V2 BetaEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chelmsford, Essex, UK
    Posts
    349
    For some reason I do keep saying Bursa for that- apologies. It actually occurred to me I'd made that mistake again a few days back but I forgot to come and correct it.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts