+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: Organization and Supply

  1. #1

    Unhappy Organization and Supply

    You all were so dang helpful last week with a multiplayer question so I hope you don't mind me asking another question.

    I'm afraid that I don't understand how the supply and organization of military units works. I did the tutorials and they said WHAT they were but not much else.

    As I'm getting armies formed and tech researched, I see that most of my armies have between 0-5% supply. I can understand deep in enemy territory why that may be but they're sitting in Core territory, not moving, not at war, on a railroad and it either decreases or stays the same. Even moving my troops to my heavily populated areas with lots of factories and even better rail systems don't get an increase.

    I wondered if it was because I wasn't producing enough ammo/light arms/canned food, etc., but I checked my trade tab and all those items are listed as not in high demand and my stockpile is higher than my demand. What can I do to get my supply up so my units aren't throwing rocks in battle? Also, I find it very odd that my navy sitting in ports on the East Coast receive 0-10% supply they need for the day. They're in a port!

    I have no clue how to make organization better except thru the 4th and 5th column in the Army research tab and as the USA, those take an extra long time to research. I had hoped that after battles, resting in areas with enough supply to not cause attrition and not move anywhere for a while that it would go up but it just sits there. In fact 2 of my armies gained only 1% organization over the course of 2 years! And they had generals with a bonus to organization! What can I do to fix this?

    I should mention that in the two games I noticed this the most, one was in the late 1860s and my current one is maybe 3 years after the start of the game.

    Thanks ahead of time for any assistance!

  2. #2
    General Zorro's Avatar
    A Game of DwarvesArsenal of DemocracyHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IIDiplomacy
    Europa Universalis 3Divine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest Hour
    Heir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In NomineMajesty 2March of the EaglesEU3 Napoleon's Ambition
    Victoria: RevolutionsEuropa Universalis: RomeSemper FiSupreme Ruler 2020 GoldSupreme Ruler: Cold War
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of DarknessRome: Vae VictisMount & Blade: Warband
    Warlock: Master of the ArcaneMount & Blade: With Fire and SwordPride of Nations500k clubEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    2,306
    You need to set your national stockpile slider on your budget screen to 100% to fully supply troops. If its set at 50% your troops will only get 50% of supplies.
    My Inkwell

    "I am the Roman Emperor, and am above grammar."-Emperor Sigismund

  3. #3
    Thank you. Now I just gotta figure out how to afford to increase it w/o going into debt...and pay my soldiers...and keep my tarriffs low so capitalists can invest... Any ideas?

  4. #4
    Bend Me / Break Me Communazi's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDarkest HourHearts of Iron III CollectionHOI3: Their Finest HourSupreme Ruler 2020 Gold
    Supreme Ruler: Cold WarVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    765
    If you go into Trade, you can manually set 'Clippers' and 'Artillery' to zero. They tend to cost the most to the national stockpile, and do the least.

    Just don't take your navy out anywhere!

    The prices tend to stabilize eventually and you can begin trading in them again.

  5. #5
    General Zorro's Avatar
    A Game of DwarvesArsenal of DemocracyHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IIDiplomacy
    Europa Universalis 3Divine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest Hour
    Heir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In NomineMajesty 2March of the EaglesEU3 Napoleon's Ambition
    Victoria: RevolutionsEuropa Universalis: RomeSemper FiSupreme Ruler 2020 GoldSupreme Ruler: Cold War
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of DarknessRome: Vae VictisMount & Blade: Warband
    Warlock: Master of the ArcaneMount & Blade: With Fire and SwordPride of Nations500k clubEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    2,306
    Don't be afraid to go into debt if you have to fight a must win war. I always hike up the tariffs and poor taxes if I need to pay for a war. Just remember to lower them again once the wars over.
    My Inkwell

    "I am the Roman Emperor, and am above grammar."-Emperor Sigismund

  6. #6
    Good ideas. Guess it doesn't really matter if they cant build a railroad in a state for a while if I lose the war. Does it take long if I hike the taxes for the poor strata to go into revolt? I followed your example when during the Mexican-American war so I could pay for my troops and when I got jumped by GB, France, Prussia, and Russia during the middle of the fight, I had to face the threat of not being able to pay/support troops or massive poor revolts from home. =(

  7. #7
    General Zorro's Avatar
    A Game of DwarvesArsenal of DemocracyHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IIDiplomacy
    Europa Universalis 3Divine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest Hour
    Heir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In NomineMajesty 2March of the EaglesEU3 Napoleon's Ambition
    Victoria: RevolutionsEuropa Universalis: RomeSemper FiSupreme Ruler 2020 GoldSupreme Ruler: Cold War
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of DarknessRome: Vae VictisMount & Blade: Warband
    Warlock: Master of the ArcaneMount & Blade: With Fire and SwordPride of Nations500k clubEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    2,306
    Quote Originally Posted by TheLoneTerran View Post
    Good ideas. Guess it doesn't really matter if they cant build a railroad in a state for a while if I lose the war. Does it take long if I hike the taxes for the poor strata to go into revolt? I followed your example when during the Mexican-American war so I could pay for my troops and when I got jumped by GB, France, Prussia, and Russia during the middle of the fight, I had to face the threat of not being able to pay/support troops or massive poor revolts from home. =(
    What? You were playing as the USA and that happened? What year did you attack Mexico in? If your playing as the USA the first thing you should do is influence Mexico. Not because you want to befriend them but because you want to keep other GP from doing it. If a GP if a friend of another nation they are able to enter a defensive war with them. This has happened to me before when I played the USA and the UK jumped on board but I've never seen France, Prussia and Russia join in.

    I've been at war for several years with increased taxes and I've never seen the poor revolt because of it.

    That is horrible luck that they all went to war against you.

    Are you using the manifest destiny decision when going to war with Mexico?
    My Inkwell

    "I am the Roman Emperor, and am above grammar."-Emperor Sigismund

  8. #8
    Yeah, I hit manifest destiny, got relations w/ GB up too 200, france/russia/prussia were at 100 or so, Prussia was a little higher. I went to war in the late 40s I believe, I was working hard on raising how many troops I could field at once.

  9. #9
    General The Arch Mede's Avatar
    Europa Universalis 3Europa Universalis: ChroniclesEU3 CompleteRome GoldVictoria 2
    Victoria II: A House Divided

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    In a Turkish Bath
    Posts
    2,254
    You have to kill their influence with your target, not just get high relations with them. Having high relation with the UK will tend to stop them getting CBs on you directly, but if you attack a nation the UK are friendly with, they can join in.

  10. #10
    Sergeant Xylander's Avatar
    Victoria 2

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Leipzig
    Posts
    67
    Maybe you added too many war goals and got over the BB limit? In this case all the great powers could join the war like you described it. If this is the case, watch your infamy - it should never be higher than 25. If it is, all great powers get a free "cut to size" CB.

  11. #11
    General Zorro's Avatar
    A Game of DwarvesArsenal of DemocracyHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IIDiplomacy
    Europa Universalis 3Divine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest Hour
    Heir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In NomineMajesty 2March of the EaglesEU3 Napoleon's Ambition
    Victoria: RevolutionsEuropa Universalis: RomeSemper FiSupreme Ruler 2020 GoldSupreme Ruler: Cold War
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of DarknessRome: Vae VictisMount & Blade: Warband
    Warlock: Master of the ArcaneMount & Blade: With Fire and SwordPride of Nations500k clubEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    2,306
    Quote Originally Posted by Xylander View Post
    Maybe you added too many war goals and got over the BB limit? In this case all the great powers could join the war like you described it. If this is the case, watch your infamy - it should never be higher than 25. If it is, all great powers get a free "cut to size" CB.
    he used manifest destiny he can claim of historical U.S. territory free of badboy but I can't see any other reason for all those nations to attack at the same time.
    My Inkwell

    "I am the Roman Emperor, and am above grammar."-Emperor Sigismund

  12. #12
    I wondered if it was because I added the wargoals for ALL my territory I would gain from Manifest Destiny every time I could , I think its once a week game time.

  13. #13
    General Zorro's Avatar
    A Game of DwarvesArsenal of DemocracyHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IIDiplomacy
    Europa Universalis 3Divine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest Hour
    Heir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In NomineMajesty 2March of the EaglesEU3 Napoleon's Ambition
    Victoria: RevolutionsEuropa Universalis: RomeSemper FiSupreme Ruler 2020 GoldSupreme Ruler: Cold War
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of DarknessRome: Vae VictisMount & Blade: Warband
    Warlock: Master of the ArcaneMount & Blade: With Fire and SwordPride of Nations500k clubEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    2,306
    Quote Originally Posted by TheLoneTerran View Post
    I wondered if it was because I added the wargoals for ALL my territory I would gain from Manifest Destiny every time I could , I think its once a week game time.
    I don't think so I've done that before with no problems. So you just added cores that Manifest Destiny gave you? Such as Texas, Colorado, California, etc.
    My Inkwell

    "I am the Roman Emperor, and am above grammar."-Emperor Sigismund

  14. #14
    Yeah. Thats all I did. Just added the cores. I know that the Great Powers don't want anyone else really growing in power but it sucks the fun from the game when I can't do ANYTHING without getting slammed from 1/2 or more of the Great Powers.

  15. #15
    Well, did you use the correct wargoal for the states?

  16. #16
    Yes I did. Since my initial wargoal was acquire core, when I would expand upon that, it only offered the states that contained those cores like Nevada-Utah, California, etc. And I double checked to make sure I wasn't gaining infamy by adding those goals.

  17. #17
    General Zorro's Avatar
    A Game of DwarvesArsenal of DemocracyHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IIDiplomacy
    Europa Universalis 3Divine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest Hour
    Heir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In NomineMajesty 2March of the EaglesEU3 Napoleon's Ambition
    Victoria: RevolutionsEuropa Universalis: RomeSemper FiSupreme Ruler 2020 GoldSupreme Ruler: Cold War
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of DarknessRome: Vae VictisMount & Blade: Warband
    Warlock: Master of the ArcaneMount & Blade: With Fire and SwordPride of Nations500k clubEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    2,306
    You must just have really bad luck. I'd restart the game.
    My Inkwell

    "I am the Roman Emperor, and am above grammar."-Emperor Sigismund

  18. #18
    I think you're right. USA is the only nation I'm any good at since I'm isolated. Need someone interesting to conquer besides mexico/SA. What are your fav targets?

  19. #19
    Field Marshal calvinhobbeslik's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis: ChroniclesVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness
    500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-orderEUIV: Call to arms eventEUIV: Wealth of NationsEUIV: Conquest of Paradise
    EUIV: Res Publica

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    6,082
    Quote Originally Posted by TheLoneTerran View Post
    I think you're right. USA is the only nation I'm any good at since I'm isolated. Need someone interesting to conquer besides mexico/SA. What are your fav targets?
    Usually, experienced USA players conquer Canada...

  20. #20
    Yeah true but its very easy. Just fight defensively, wipe them out and occupy. Was thinking, do people conquer Japan or China? Carve states outta Russia? Maybe Sweden or Spain? Curious to see what countries people attempt.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts