+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Can "and pause" mean "and stop" please?

  1. #1
    Kaiser des Universums Brucesim2003's Avatar
    Arsenal of DemocracyHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IIDarkest HourDeus Vult
    Divine WindFor The GloryFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the Throne
    Europa Universalis III: In NomineIron CrossEU3 Napoleon's AmbitionVictoria: RevolutionsEuropa Universalis: Rome
    Semper FiEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    The centre of your universe.
    Posts
    368

    Can "and pause" mean "and stop" please?

    When you have your messages set to "and pause", the game only pauses until you acknowledge the message and then starts again. Can this be changed to a "and stop" please? I.E the game stops until you tell it to resume. It's annoying when you need to react to the message but the game unpauses before you can do said reaction!

    Cheers


    Bruce

  2. #2
    You can use the spacebutton too pause. Or you could just do what you need to and then acknowledge the message.

  3. #3
    Kaiser des Universums Brucesim2003's Avatar
    Arsenal of DemocracyHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IIDarkest HourDeus Vult
    Divine WindFor The GloryFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the Throne
    Europa Universalis III: In NomineIron CrossEU3 Napoleon's AmbitionVictoria: RevolutionsEuropa Universalis: Rome
    Semper FiEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    The centre of your universe.
    Posts
    368
    That doesn't work when 4-5 messages pop up at once, and it resumes after you acknowledge the 1st.

    Cheers


    Bruce

  4. #4
    Like the good doctor said: Use the spacebar to pause (and unpause) the game after a message pops up. That's what I do. In fact, it has become a pavlovian reaction for me: After a message pops up I reflexively press the spacebar. Often without realizing it, without sometimes even wanting to.
    By God, I think the Devil shits Dutchmen (Samuel Pepys, 1667)

  5. #5
    If you press spacebar before closing the window the game stays paused. Some events do stop the game though and this unpauses it. When someone comes of age for example, the game actually does stay stopped and if you press space it will start when you click OK. For everything else that pauses with a window open though if will stay paused after you close the window if you hit space before you close it.

  6. #6
    Sergeant vince0018's Avatar
    A Game of DwarvesCities in MotionCities in Motion 2Crusader Kings IICommander: Conquest of the Americas
    DungeonlandEU3 CompleteDivine WindHearts of Iron IIIHearts of Iron III Collection
    Heir to the ThroneMagickaEU3 Napoleon's AmbitionNaval War: Arctic CirclePenumbra - Black Plague
    Ship Simulator ExtremesSword of the StarsSupreme Ruler: Cold WarMount & Blade: WarbandMount & Blade: With Fire and Sword
    500k club

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    -------- Wherever I go, There I am
    Posts
    82
    I have a question from the opposite point of view.
    On multiplayer the game doesn't seem to pause for anything.
    I thought it might be nice to try singleplayer this way, maybe as a sort of practice for multiplayer.
    However in singleplayer under message settings there's no way to access the messages that pause the game until answered, I've checked them all and none of them have the 'pause' option checked. Yet the game still pauses for some.

  7. #7
    Colonel Diet of Worms's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDeus VultEuropa Universalis 3For the MotherlandHearts of Iron III
    HOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In NomineEU3 Napoleon's AmbitionNaval War: Arctic Circle
    Europa Universalis: RomeSemper FiSengokuVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided
    Rome: Vae VictisPride of NationsCK2: Holy Knight500k clubEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Home of Perfidy
    Posts
    973
    Quote Originally Posted by ErwinJ View Post
    Like the good doctor said: Use the spacebar to pause (and unpause) the game after a message pops up. That's what I do. In fact, it has become a pavlovian reaction for me: After a message pops up I reflexively press the spacebar. Often without realizing it, without sometimes even wanting to.
    It would be nice if you could pause the game properly with the mouse though - like you could in CK1. Took me a while before I realised you could pause properly with the spacebar, and it was somewhat frustrating.

  8. #8
    Sergeant vince0018's Avatar
    A Game of DwarvesCities in MotionCities in Motion 2Crusader Kings IICommander: Conquest of the Americas
    DungeonlandEU3 CompleteDivine WindHearts of Iron IIIHearts of Iron III Collection
    Heir to the ThroneMagickaEU3 Napoleon's AmbitionNaval War: Arctic CirclePenumbra - Black Plague
    Ship Simulator ExtremesSword of the StarsSupreme Ruler: Cold WarMount & Blade: WarbandMount & Blade: With Fire and Sword
    500k club

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    -------- Wherever I go, There I am
    Posts
    82
    Quote Originally Posted by Diet of Worms View Post
    It would be nice if you could pause the game properly with the mouse though - like you could in CK1. Took me a while before I realised you could pause properly with the spacebar, and it was somewhat frustrating.
    I'm not sure if I understand exactly what you mean by 'properly with the mouse.' You do know you can click the date on the top right to pause as well, right?

  9. #9
    Colonel Diet of Worms's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDeus VultEuropa Universalis 3For the MotherlandHearts of Iron III
    HOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In NomineEU3 Napoleon's AmbitionNaval War: Arctic Circle
    Europa Universalis: RomeSemper FiSengokuVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided
    Rome: Vae VictisPride of NationsCK2: Holy Knight500k clubEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Home of Perfidy
    Posts
    973
    Quote Originally Posted by vince0018 View Post
    I'm not sure if I understand exactly what you mean by 'properly with the mouse.' You do know you can click the date on the top right to pause as well, right?
    Unless I'm going nuts (always possible), when you are under a pause given by a pop-up message, clicking the date to pause the game properly doesn't work, but pressing the spacebar does.

    By 'properly' I mean that when you click through the pop-up, the game doesn't restart. I was playing just with the mouse to start with, and when I got a message I wanted to deal with but not leave on the screen, I thought I had to click through it, then as quickly as possible click the date to pause the game without losing too many days. Finding I could just press the spacebar while the pop-up was still there was a mini revelation

  10. #10
    Mercenary Captain spinoza013's Avatar
    Arsenal of DemocracyCrusader Kings IIDarkest HourDeus VultEuropa Universalis: Chronicles
    Divine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the Throne
    Iron CrossMarch of the EaglesRome GoldSemper FiSengoku
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of DarknessPride of NationsRise of Prussia
    CK2: Holy Knight500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-orderEUIV: Wealth of NationsEUIV: Conquest of Paradise
    EUIV: Res Publica

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,531
    I know it's not possible but it would be nice to get event pop-ups with the earliest event on top.
    Only the dead have seen the end of war ~ Plato

    "There is no joy without Clan Donald. There is no strength to be without them!"

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts