• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.
AFAIK they don't cooperate with Firaxis, but the interface looks very similar indeed, I hope they won't get sued for that...
That's more than similar.

As much as I respect Paradox Interactive, I'd be upset if I am a Firaxis developer since this is practically plagiarism.

Warlock:
warlock_10-39-44-20.jpg

Civilization 5:
attachment.php

Edit: I will make a more resembling image using my copy of Civilization 5 tonight.

Edit 2: My friend told me the developer team got the Civ 5 engine license from Firaxis. So I guess there's no plagiarism after all.

Last edited:
It is not the Civ5 engine, the game is based on the engine used for Elven Legacy and Fantasy Wars. A lot in the interface has been changed since it was placeholder graphics up until beta. If you look at Fantasy Wars, you can also see that a lot of the details were in this game as well (released 2007, well before Civ5)

I agree With Fredrik: as Fantasy Wars and Elven Legacy veteran I have to damit that Warlock looks more to that style than to the one of Civ5.
Unfortunately most people only know Civ5 and will compare Warlock with it.....

Warlock looks better actually.

IT HAS HEXES LIKE CIV5!!!

Although round icons may make you think about Civ5, they were in Fantasy Wars (which is exelent game and you have to go and buy it right now). On some other good ideas... If windows would borrowed some good ideas from Macs everybody would benefit. I don't see why good interface ideas shouldn't be used as long as gameplay itself is original.

It's hexagonal, has message icons on the side, has a possible minimap in the bottom right, and has info in the top left. That's really not specific to Civ 5. Really, most RTS games have remarkably similar interfaces, and you don't see people complaining there.

How is it "plagiarism"?